We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”
Review of Craster Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craster Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently stayed in a holiday cottage in Beadnall where previous guests had praised the Craster Arms in the visitors book. On the strength of this we called for a meal, expecting great things. We were disappointed. The hospitality and friendliness of staff and guest were great, the lager and red wine were good but, sadly, the food was no better than ok. I would call again for a drink but not for the food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 382 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed right next door so the Craster Arms was very convenient.
Interior nice, spacious & clean. Staff friendly & helpful.
Portions were large & usually couldn't manage everything. The Craster meat pie was very good. I didn't think the fish was particularly good but my wife loved it & a neighbouring table were also saying how good it was.
Desserts were a little disappointing. Just some generic frozen stuff & expensive.
All in all we enjoyed it, eating there 5 nights out of 7

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kinega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in Beadnell for a week and went to the Craster Arms twice for evening meals.What more do you need in a local pub,dog friendly bar area,real ale (EPA very nice),large portions of good quality food and friendy staff.Would definitely return if in this area again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank briso_the_fortunate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you are looking for accommodation on the coast in Northumberland we cannot recommend The Craster Arms Hotel at Beadnell highly enough. Very friendly staff and owners, extremely comfortable rooms, local food superbly cooked and presented. Large garden with beautiful flowers. The owners are very dog friendly and have reserved an area in the restaurant where they are very welcome. We stayed for two weeks and wished it could have been longer. Thank you to everyone at The Craster Arms once again and hope to see you again.

Room Tip: "All rooms are good".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186258Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've known the Craster Arms since 1974when a pub lunch was sausage in a basket. Things have moved on a bit since then. As we were a large group we booked in advance with no hassle. Some pubs wouldn't let you do this for a bar meal. The selection was excellent and very good value for money. I went for the Roast Beef which melted in the mouth. You order at the bar but food is delivered to table and staff were very attentive. Full marks ! A great Sunday Lunch ,great atmosphere and obliging staff.

Room Tip: Meal only for us, but really tempted to book a weekend away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell196201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Craster Arms for a night before moving on to a family wedding. The room & bathroom were very accommodating with a good decorating standard, with a lounge area, fridge and large wall TV. Could do with larger towels, as within another review. The owner staff were very friendly. Food very good quality too - especially a very tasty and 'mansize' English breakfast. The pub is popular and we found it to have a good atmosphere. The village of Beadnell is quite secluded, despite being quite near the caravan park, and a visit to St Ebba's church is well worth it - very peaceful. The beech is totally unspoilt. Beautiful countryside all around. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wrongly I suppose, I don't normally take the time to leave good reviews, only bad ones when bad service or rude staff etc annoys me enough to leave bad feedback to let others know to avoid but this pub truly deserves to be recognised with a good review for its above average friendliness and service as I thought they went beyond what I would expect on more than one occasion - hence this review. We were staying at a Self Catering Cottage opposite the Craster Arms pub so it was handy for us to make a visit to have a meal but after our initial first experience we ended up eating there another 2 nights and having just a drink on a 4th night over the week. On our first visit we were struck by the warm friendly welcome we got from ALL the staff and nothing seemed to be too much trouble plus the food was excellent and each time we went in we got the same friendly treatment and the same great food. They have Free Wi-Fi AND, as a dog owner who can't understand why pubs turn away much needed business from the estimated 30% of the UK population who are dog owners, they also have an area where you can take your dog AND enjoy one of their great meals. On a couple of mornings, even though I wasn't staying there (the pub is a hotel too), I rather cheekily asked if I could check the weather using my Laptop using their Wi-Fi and was pleasantly surprised not only to be invited in but on more than one morning to be also offered a cup of coffee by the Manager whilst I sat in the bar with the hotel guests eating their breakfasts - maybe it was just northern hospitality but I thought that was such a nice gesture and goes a long way in my mind to making me feel very welcome - again, hence this good review. As mentioned, the pub is also a hotel and whilst I personally can't comment on the hotel side I can only say that the comments I overheard from the guests staying there during breakfast whilst I was using the Wi-Fi were all good. My brother owns a successful pub and I know just how hard they have to work to keep it successful so all I can say is the staff at the Craster Arms deserve their business to do well. Paul Thwaites

Room Tip: We didn't stay there so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floydhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
4.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
6.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#3 of 8 in Beadnell
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Seahouses
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craster Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craster Arms

Address: 2-4 The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range: $88 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craster Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craster Arms has been serving locals and tourists alike since 1818 offering a true Northumbrian welcome to all its guests. Providing free wi-fi in public areas and serving food all day from breakfast to late evening snacks with local produce including seafood landed at nearby Seahouses featuring heavily on the menu. Our rooms are large, two of which feature seperate lounge areas ideal for families. We are a dog friendly establishment with designated dog friendly areas located throught the hotel and public bar. The Craster Arms is great for entertainment, playing host to local bands at weekends throughout the year from traditional folk to contemporary and tribute acts. In July our fantastic beer garden is the venu for our annual beer festival where ales from our many local micro breweries can be sampled along with great produce and entertainment. The Craster Arms is in an ideal location for touring northumberland with Holy Island (lindisfarne) and Bamburgh castles to the north and Dunstunburgh and Walkworth to the south. Inland 15 miles is the market town of Alnwick with its majestic castle (featured as hogwarts in the harry potter films) and the famous Alnwick gardens and treehouse. Three miles off the coast is the world famous nature reserve of the farne islands, nesting site to over 300,000 seabirds including puffins and razorbills and permanant home to a grey seal colony numbering 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Craster Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craster Arms Beadnell, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing