We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Rip Off”
Review of Beadnell Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beadnell Towers
Ranked #3 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
1 review
“New Years Eve Rip Off”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

we paid £40 plus for the new years eve celebration at this hotel. we were led to believe it was to be a gala buffet throughout the night , live music, disco, piper at mid night, party decorations etc etc. what a total rip off, what we got was having to wait for others to get their seconds before we got our 1 plate of buffet food ( good quality - what was left !!) a 10th rate disco and a very bad singer who did about 5 songs ( thankfully ) To cap it all we then get told that a whole bunch of people in the room were locals who didnt pay their £40!! - so all in all what do you get for £40? a slice of beef a slice of ham boiled potatoes and some salmon with sole slaw - oh and a slice of £5 costco carrot cake - the owner of this place should be embarrased.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Size66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickcol, Owner at Beadnell Towers, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
After receiving a negative review of Beadnell Towers we felt we had to answer
the criticisms from this guest.

The main focus of our business has always been providing excellent food, accommodation and service. So we are disappointed, and perplexed, that a guest who felt so strongly about their visit would not even bother to mention their complaints to us personally. They would have been asked about their experience and if they had enjoyed their evening, but we received no adverse remarks from anyone. If they had I would have taken steps to address any issues raised as I always do. This is the only complaint I have had about our New Years Eve event. New Years Eve at Beadnell Towers has such a good reputation that it is generally sold out, with people returning year after year. We have already sold tickets for NYE 2011.


The DJ and singer were both last minute replacements for people we had booked in
good faith, months before, who cancelled at the very last minute, which was a major disappointment. Neither of the replacements were what we would have normally chosen and for this we apologise. The piper, who has played for us for a number of years, pulled out at 4pm on New Year’s Eve with flu. This was an unfortunate event that was beyond our control and there was no way we could get a replacement at such short notice. We had briefed all staff to tell guests and customers that there would be no piper this year and the reason why. Unfortunately Size66s group may have been missed and we apologize for this.

It has been a long standing custom that from 10.30pm, once the food is finished,
to let the local residents of Beadnell into the Bar/lounge to celebrate New Year with us. When the tickets are sold, customers should be told about this practice and obviously this time they weren’t, so we apologise for that. We do live in a small village and try to meet the needs of everyone.

As for the criticisms about the buffet: waiting staff were briefed to take each table in turn to the buffet area to make sure no one missed out. I have spoken to them and they were sure all tables were served that way. However, we were made aware that one table did jump the queue, but that was all. Guests had a check back for satisfaction and no negative responses were reported, otherwise we would have spoken personally to whoever had complained, as we always do. All guests were welcome to return to the buffet table and there was plenty of food left at the end so no-one should have gone short.

As for the criticisms about the food I completely refute these. Again I have had
no complaints about the food, only praise. When initial enquiries are made regarding New Year celebrations, customers are offered advice or actual copies of our menus which include the actual cost of the event and itemise all items we intent to supply which included for the buffet, honey baked hams, turkey crowns, a huge rib of beef, mountain of prawns, decorated whole salmon and a wide variety of salads.

The guests would have been offered this information in order that they could choose which event they wanted to attend. If the guest and their group only had a small amount of food that was their own choice and we repeat, everyone had the opportunity to revisit the buffet table. Again, there was plenty of food.


On December 30 a guest who was coming to the party rang to ask if we could provide a carrot cake for someone in their group as it was their birthday. I knew our chef would not have the time to make it, so I informed the guest that I would try & buy one from a local baker, if not a cash & carry. They said this was perfectly acceptable. Once that party had finished with the cake they suggested that we put it onto the buffet table for other guests to enjoy. No apologies there.

All tables were decorated appropriately for New Year and the hotel was covered
in Christmas decorations too, so everything looked very festive.

Everything wasn’t perfect on the night and I have explained why and apologised. We have nothing to be embarrassed about. Anyone who wants to get a true taste of Beadnell Towers should read the numerous positive reviews we have received and visit us themselves. You would be very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    117
    33
    21
    10
See reviews for
69
188
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We are regular visitors to Beadnell and although we have eaten at the The Towers on many occassions this is only our 2nd stay in the hotel. We visited with my Adult daughter and her partner and we had rooms 1 and 3. Described as Premier rooms, on the first floor they were indeed top notch.Room 1, Luxurious comtempory decor, with a bay window to one side and a large sash window to the other with views of the coastline, letting in lots of light into this spacious airy room, which was invitingly cosy and warm for our arrival. Of course en-suite with bath and shower which again was open and airy and spotlessly clean. Room 3 although slightly smaller had the same feel and of equal standard. On a previous visit we stayed on the top floor in a corner room which was slightly less up market but still very clean, light and airy. The food at the Towers always amazes me, the fish dishes are always cooked to perfection ( a lot of restaurants over cook fish or it dries up whist waiting to be served). With local produce on the menu I have never had anything that wasn't a delight to eat. If you like hearty food try the liver and bacon. The veggies are cooked just to the right point and the mashed suede is the best I have ever had and I've travelled the world and eaten in some very swanky places. Well done and thank you Chef !! All the staff at the Towers are really pleasant, they will stop and chat if you want them to but are also very professional and efficient. Can't wait to go back !

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Celiaknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for our annual golf trip. This was about the tenth time we have used it and it never fails to be an enjoyable experience. The food is superb and the staff are a credit to the hotel, always unfailingly effecient, polite and friendly. Only complaint is the poor showers - no pressure and variable temperature!
Will be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriggoHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Fantastic hotel. Wonderfully friendly staff. We booked a premier room as a treat and were not disappointed. Comfortable bed, slept very well (which is unusual when away). The bar meals and restaurant meals are incredible!! You need to walk on the beach for a few hours to burn off the calories as everything is too tempting!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freebobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

A short break of three nights for my birthday. Great location for all the local attractions and quiet. Clean and warm as central heating had just been put on for the coming autumn. We ate in the restaurant one night and must say was the best meal I had during our stay in Northumberland. The restaurant was busy all nights we were staying so must be good. Compliments go to the chef.

No problems with check in or out. It was good to have written confirmation of our booking. Breakfasts good and kept us going for the day.

The shower was a bit temperamental running slow / hot / cold. But that was not a real big problem for us as we find this an issue in most hotels we stay in. There's always a bath.

I would certainly go back to Beadnell Towers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watford_Wobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Can only reiterate what others have said about the food - excellent! However one of us is coeliac and though this was specified in our online booking it was not prepared for. At each meal the subject had to be discussed with whoever served us and the individual knowlege of such requirements was poor. We stayed for 4 nights and no adjustments were made - e.g. gluten free bread could have been sourced for breakfast toast.
Our room was pleasant and comfortable - shower could have been a lot more powerful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seahorse2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, Herts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We've just come back from a 12-night break at this hotel, having chosen it for its location and its food. We were certainly not disappointed and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The star attraction - apart from the lovely scenery and glorious beaches nearby - was undoubtedly the food. We ate in each night, having booked a dinner, bed and breakfast option (don't usually include dinner as we like to go out and try different places, but we took a chance this time). I'm a journalist and have done umpteen restaurant reviews in the past, so I know a good place when I see one! We were never bored with the special table d'hote menu, which could be supplemented from the specials menu and the main menu at a small extra cost. And the quality of the food was superb. OK, we're not talking haute cuisine, but there was a wide range of dishes and each one was beautifully cooked and presented, and tasted wonderful. Just about everything was home-made and they source local ingredients whenever possible. There's also a good wine list, although we stayed with the house wine, which was great. Word has obviously got out about the quality of the food (and the generous size of the portions) because the place was packed most nights, sometimes with a queue in the foyer, so we're really glad we were booked in. The staff were always cheery and helpful, and the service was amazingly efficient. Our room wasn't huge but it was spotless. What more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Royston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
4.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,250 reviews
6.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
211 reviews
10.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,040 reviews
19.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beadnell Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beadnell Towers

Property: Beadnell Towers
Address: The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beadnell Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beadnell Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beadnell Towers Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing