We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beadnell Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beadnell Towers
Ranked #2 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was ridiculously small for the £95 we paid on booking.com (price list in hotel was a lot less for double room). Hotel décor was a bit tired and dated. On the plus side the staff were friendly and the food was good. Overall not worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickcol, Owner at Beadnell Towers, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We always welcome constructive and fair criticism of our business and we always thank our guests for their honest, objective opinions.
However, when the guest books via a booking engine ie booking.com the room size etc is listed.
We have other rooms that are larger than the room booked & we do not hide or conceal any information. The decision to book the room is then down to the guest.
The comment about the room pricing is incorrect. The price quoted in house is £90 per room per night including breakfast - £5 less than booking.com so its always a good idea to call us directly to book.
Thank you for your comments regarding the food & the service.
We will refurbish in the winter to attend to the wear & tear from a busy summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    113
    31
    20
    10
See reviews for
64
181
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having almost changed our plans at the last minute following some negative reviews on TA, let me put your mind at ease. We have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend based at Beadnell Towers. Our evening started in the bar where we mixed and enjoyed the company of locals, our evening meal, in the restaurant, was first class, as was the service. Our room (room 1), ideal. Breakfast also was spot on. I have no idea why anybody would take issue with this establishment, as I would love to eat & stay here every weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroBoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a fantastic find, we had a wonderful 2 night stay. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was fantastic and our every wish was attended to. We had wonderful views of the sea from our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Coast
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Let me begin by saying that we are 'regulars' so we know the staff and they know us - so maybe that colours things a bit. But we are very aware of how other gusts are treated. In season, this is a very busy place, and on summer weekends it is literally packed with people. How the kitchen produces food of such quality to so many people never ceases to amaze. But they do. The food on summer weekends is exactly the same as on winter evenings when we sit by a log fire and say how nice it is that the visitors have gone. And it is good, too. This is not fine dining with hovering waiters, but good honest food prepared to a very high standard and plenty of it. A main course is usually as much as I can eat! Food at the Beadnell Towers is not cheap, but I think good value for money. On my most recent visit I enjoyed Thai scallops which were generously portioned and perfectly cooked with a really authentic flavour - what's not to like? Rice if you ask for it but I rather like them with chips. OK it was around £16 but no complaints from me!
The staff are all local and invariably charming - and not just to us, either.
The owner of the hotel is very 'hands on' and I cannot imagine that any problem would go unattended.
Be aware that if you stay there are no ground floor rooms and no lift - something I am always watchful for because my wife does not do stairs.
Also be aware that although Beadnell is a charming little seaside village with a nice beach, the beach is not close to the hotel and has no parking! For car owners this is not a problem - other nearby beaches are very accessible, clean and safe.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, be aware that there are no ground floor rooms - if in doubt discuss your needs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristoJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent four nights at the hotel, and we were allocated a room on arrival, the room was double aspect overlooking the car park to the front and the road on the other side. We were not disturbed by any noise from ether. The room was large enough with two comfortable chairs a large bed and plenty of storage space for hanging clothes, A large bath room with overhead shower was clean and the towels changed each morning if required, The hot water tap had to be run for a short while for hot water, but overall the room was of a good standard.
The meals in both the restaurant and bar were okay but on a busy Saturday night I think the staff were overstretched and service was slow. However all the staff including cleaners were friendly and polite.
This is a good place for visiting all the sights of the coast in both directions, Beadnell itself has a great beach which is a short stroll from the hotel.
Just one final point why hotels put glass shelves above bathroom wash basins is beyond me, the times that I have banged my head.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himandher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Found the owner very welcoming and helpful whilst the staff were excellent. We opted for a premium room which was very spacious and well decorated with good furniture. The food was good and further commenting on the staff, I heard a waitress running through a list of other alternative options / variations from the menu to give the couple next to us who required both the vegetarian and gluten free food that they desired. So often staff are not so knowledgeable or the restaurant accommodating. The breakfast is a little basic with regard to cereals but the cooked food is good which includes salmon and kippers. We found our stay good value for money. I do second another contributors point however that the doors between the restaurant and bar should be closed to prevent television noise from the bar for diners. If we were to stay in Beadnell again then we would be more than happy to stay at Beadnell Towers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogsnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good location. Slightly idiosyncratic décor on the stairs (numerous ornaments in a variety of places) and with fringed dark lampshades in the bedroom (had to remove the shade to be able to read in bed) but a very adequate room, good bathroom and comfy bed. Breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
4.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craster Arms
Craster Arms
#1 of 8 in Beadnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farne Lodge
Farne Lodge
#2 of 4 in Beadnell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beadnell Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beadnell Towers

Property: Beadnell Towers
Address: The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beadnell Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beadnell Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beadnell Towers Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing