We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage !”

Review of Tickle Cottage

Tickle Cottage 18th Century Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tickle Cottage 18th Century Cottage
Lounge/ Dining room with real log Stove Large master bathroom with roll top bath/ Digital TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Tickle Cottage 18th Century Cottage
Lounge/ Dining room with real log Stove
Large master bathroom with roll top bath/ Digital TV
Bathroom with shower/WC/Basin
Lovely lounge with dinning area seats 6
Downstairs bedroom Twin or 6ft superking sized bed
Very pretty cottage! WIFI and telephone
Lovely 5ft Kingsize bed
Lounge with Log Burner Stove Cosy!!!
South facing Sunny Courtyard
Beadnell Beach
Kitchen, separate Utility Rm with washer,dryer, freezer, extra fridge and sink
Bamburgh castle on your doorstep!
Boat trips to Farne islands
View from Cottage over Church Green, St Ebbs Church
Seahouses Smokery- fantastic kippers!
Holy Island visit Lindisfarne
Beadnell beach at Sunset
Real Ales at Ship Inn Seahouses a must!
Mizen Head Rest. Bamburgh fresh local lobster/ seafood
Farne Islands
Farne Islands
Boat Trips from Seahouses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jcotravel...
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage !”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at tickle cottage with a recommendation from a friend, we weren't disappointed !
The cottage was spotless with everything and more you would possibly need !
It's in a perfect location close to the beach for lovely walks and places close by for visiting by car. Tracy the owner certainly knows how to present a holiday home with plenty of suggestions for walks and visits. The cottage it's self is perfect, the upstairs bedroom with a bath & TV is heaven ! Its nice and warm with and a wood burner to add to it, Tracy was kind enough to light the fire before we arrived which was appreciated as it was the middle of January !! There is 2 pubs in the village but I only went in the craster arms, it was a lovely pub but the food looked a bit pricey. The added bonus for us being we could take our dog, she loved it as much as us ! We'd love to return in summer but the weather was kind for us anyways ! Great place well worth a visit, thank you. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was spotless
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallis
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed here for three nights during a windy cold spell of weather and we really enjoyed ourselves. It was a surprise present to us from our family and was perfect. The cottage was spotless, and just right for our needs, peaceful, cosy and easy to run. We were out all day on the coast but returned in late afternoons, relaxed, then walked into the village for a meal. The stove was a good extra back up to the central heating, and everything was provided in terms of crockery, cutlery and kitchen equipment. The upstairs bedroom with the bath in it was spacious and airy. It was good having a morning bath whilst watching the sunrise!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful position and everything necessary was provided, and in good condition.
Liked least: No toilet upstairs but we managed!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oat-cakes...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a superb stay at Tickle cottage the first four nights in September. When we arrived the cottage exceeded our expectations. It was extremely welcoming and clean and smelt very fresh. The master bedroom is stunning and the roll top bath is great for relaxing after a day of walking/sight seeing. The cottage has everything you need with a well equipped utility room across the private courtyard. The courtyard is great for a bbq and enjoying drinks in the sunshine. Although we were lucky enough to have warm sunny weather we couldn't resist using the log burning stove for a cosy night in also. The location is brilliant as it is less than a minute walk to two pubs/restraunts, 5 minute walk to beadnell beach and just a short drive from Bamburgh, Seahouses, Alnwick etc. We would highly recommend this lovely cottage and intend to stay again sometime soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minty56
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely & Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a really lovely week in this cosy little cottage, it has everything you need to spend a relaxing holiday. Had meal at Craster Arms and also in the Towers Hotel, the latter was our favorite a delicious meal of scallops cooked to perfection & trout for my partner, I would highly recommend it. Tracy emailed us very useful info on things to do in the area which we found most helpful.
The only niggle we had was the neighbor in Number 19 who would put out parking cones or plastic crates on the road outside to prevent visitors from parking which is a bit over the top,we never did park in front of his house but found it a bit off to say the least.
That aside we would certainly return to this lovely cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed staying at Tickle Cottage we do our very best to ensure the cottage is kept nice for all our guests and the location is great being so near to walk to everything.
Regarding not parking outside our elderly neighbours house, I like to think that our guests are understanding, our elderly neighbours opposite are a lovely couple and will do anthing to help our guests- holding spare keys if you get locked out, watering our window baskets, always there if emergency occured etc We inform our guests not to park outside their house in the confirmation letter as the view is important to them- yes I know they do not own the road but we have to be understanding. Sometimes cars- people carriers can be very large, they are in their eighties so just a little understanding is all we ask. There is plenty of spaces to park just passed their house, directly outside our cottage or even round the back. Good old fashioned neighbours are hard to find these days so our guests understanding is appreciated. They like to look over the village green especially now spending more time indoors and some cars can be very big these days.
Kindest regards Tracy Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A great stay from start to finish,
Fantastic cosy clean cottage
All anyone would need & more for any length of stay...lots of cutlery,pans etc,washer,dryer,dishwasher,picnic bag,flask,windbreaker,micro,BBQ,lots of candles holders inside & out to make it homely
Lovely downstairs bedroom & bathroom
Lovely local pub a few doors away serving great food with fab service
A short walk to beach & seahouses 5mins drive away with food supply shops & great fish & chips
Lots to see & do all around this location
But best of all was the big bedroom in the cottage with the roll top bath ......this was a real luxury.
Looking forward to our return in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2014
Hi Ann, I am really please that you enjoyed our little cottage as much as we do- I wanted to tell you that you where super guests leaving the cottage as nice a when you had arrived and even washed some of my laundry so a big thank you! I hope you come back soon! Best wishes Mrs Tickle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayma...
West Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint little cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in July. The cottage is lovely, two bedrooms, one on the ground floor which we were able to use as a "dressing room". The main bathroom was lovely with a roll top bath and TV it was perfect to relax in after a day walking. It was easy to walk to Seahouses or just as easy to drive to some other attractions such as Alnwick. The village is a lot quieter than seahouses which suited us down to the ground. The cottage provides everything you could need, plenty of plates, cups and glasses etc. The outside utility had a big fridge freezer and even had a cool bag to take to the beach. There really isn't much the owner hasn't thought of and because of that we were able to slip into to relax mode straight away. It was also spotless. Its an easy walk to the beach and a pretty perfect location. I would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom
Liked least: parking in the garage was a bit tricky
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor
Liked least: garage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing