We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hemmel B&B
Nearby Hotels
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$123
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$174
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
14
11
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
11
7
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 37 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of July. The location of the B and B is good and the hosts very welcoming and pleasant. The room was clean but it needed some TLC. We had a small double room with a shower in the corner of the bedroom that we never found out how to turn the heat down. The toilet handle on the inside of the door needed screwing back into the door. It wasn't a huge problem as the door clicked shut and so you could push it open if the handle came off but on the other hand its not ideal. There were no bedside tables or lights only a chair The room was comfortable but I found the bed a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast was well cooked and the price for our stay was £100.00 for two nights. Biscuits renewed every day which was a good point as we have stayed in more expensive places that only give you biscuits on the first day you are there. It wasn't luxurious but was considerably cheaper than other surrounding b+b's we looked at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fileydate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights (3 nights for the price of 2) as I had been very ill and we wanted a break. We told the owners this and they catered for our every need (even going out and buying me non-saturated fat margerine).
We stayed in room 3 and could not have been happier and more comfortable.
It was perfect.
The owners were fantastic.
We will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3, double bed, en-suite bathroom and gorgeous view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had booked this B & B for a weekend away as a present for my mum in laws 80th birthday. We booked 2 rooms. Communication before was good and we were really looking forward to the stay. Let's start with the positives - the hosts were very welcoming and friendly, you were given keys to your room and the front door and left to your own devices and the B & B was in a lovely small village close to the coast. The negatives - on arrival we were asked what time we wanted breakfast the following day which was fine but were TOLD we had to have breakfast on the Sunday at 8 am as the hosts were going to a christening and had to leave early!!! Surely, they would have known this when we originally booked and if not should have told us as soon as they knew before our arrival to give us the option of either changing our dates or choosing somewhere else. We were not impressed!! The rooms themselves were just average as was the breakfast. Our bed creaked everytime we moved, the bedroom door had to be lifted up before we could close it, the bathroom floor dipped down but was covered by the bath mat so could not be seen but was noticeable when you stood on that mat! To be honest overall it lacked some TLC, I could continue but I would be going on for quite a while - very disappointed, sorry.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilldawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Hemmel

is in a pleasant quiet location, about15 minutes walk to the beach (and about 3 mins from the Beadnall Towers Hotel where you can get a very good evening meal). The rooms are quite spacious, but poorly funished (the bases of the bottom drawers of the chest and the dressing table were missing. The ensuites are tiny, and though the shower tray was a good size, the controls required a muscleman to operate them and the basin was very small. I agree with another reviewer who said the owners were friendly but the establishment was not very clean and unfortuntely there was a smell of drains while we were there.

We are not big eaters but the breakfast was barely adequate. Choice of cereals was limited and the cooked meal was only just warm and served on cold plates with tinned tomatoes even though it was the height of the tomato season. Cheap white sliced bread toast completed a poor meal. All in all defintely not as advertised, namely, a “quality B&B.”

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Very friendly and accomodating place, Alan and Linda could not be any friendlier, thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nel-Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews