We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”
Review of The Potted Lobster

The Potted Lobster
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $72
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having experienced small live spider in my Potted Lobster starter and pointed it out to waitress her comments were far from apologetic, almost sarcastic and did not result with any action from the restaurant management.
The rest of the meal was quite nice but did not justify the previous comment seen about restaurant. Prices were on the high side but this would not be a problem if the food or service was professional.
Full price was charged for my starter and I wish I had reported it to trading standards immediately.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this little gem on our Wedding Anniversary, as we had received a recommendation from our hosts. The food was nothing short of outstanding and lived up to our expectations. There was a brilliant choice of seafood, as you might expect, but there were other options too. We will certainly return when visiting Northumberland again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank jackip222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us had a meal and it was a very mixed experience. Squid with mango salsa and chilli (for which read a spoonful of proprietary spicy mango chutney) was excellent but it should have been for £14! Potted shrimp with lobster was brilliant. Two pieces of breaded sardine for £9 was a complete rip off.
For mains, my cod with parsley mash and buttered clams was tasty but tiny. The monkfish with chorizo, olives and tomato had no tomato and the fish was over cooked. Chalkstream trout turned out to be sea trout and thus a great disappointment for which a £5 reduction off the bill was made. It was apparently caused by crossed wires between kitchen and front of house. This plus her minuscule sardine starter meant one of our party had a pretty poor deal.
The dessert menu was small, boring and passed over.
Our server was delightful and we really hope she enjoys her upcoming course at Birmingham Uni!
Including drinks and a tip our bill was £113.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank jodagriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The better half and I ate here whilst touring Northumberland. The place was homely, with a friendly vibe. My only disappointment was that the draft ales were off. The food was lovely - fresh, tasty and cooked to perfection. The waiting staff were very pleasant and service was good. Enjoyed every mouthful!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JoyG390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner at this lovely laid back fish restaurant and the food was fabulous.

It's not posh, but has a lovely feel, with friendly staff. Very New England in its look and feel.

Menu is not extensive, but what it has, it does well, and all the food looked amazing.

We both had the chowder to start - small cup was enough and was delicious.

We then had the fish and chips and the fish coujons - both meals were fresh and delicious.

We shared the pimms jelly knickerbocker glory, which was heavenly!

All in all a lovely evening and can thoroughly recommend if you like fish (although it does do a small selection of meat dishes).

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 97PC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potted Lobster also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
Chatton, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to The Potted Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing