We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

The Apple Core at Lucker
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Apple Core is a family-owned, countryside retreat, serving only the finest quality food. We provide a menu unique to this area that we hope will leave you satisfied. Inspired by cuisine from continental Europe our traditional french crépes & galettes and freshly cooked pizzas are all home-made from scratch, making use of local ingredients wherever we can.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic meal at The Apple Core tonight. The service was good (David was our waiter) and it was very clear that the chef cares very much about the quality of food that comes out of his kitchen.
The food can’t be faulted. The children’s menu represents good value at £10 for three courses and a drink. The quality is good. From the adult menu we particularly enjoyed the pigeon, ribs, chicken tikka galette, cheese board and banoffee crepe. The Apple Core is definitely worth a visit. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank SusanP518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ189223, Owner at The Apple Core at Lucker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review and comments in relation to faultless food and service. Taking the time to review your recent visit is very much appreciated. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited the restaurant a few times now and have always been totally satisfied with the meals and service. Highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 8469Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ189223, Owner at The Apple Core at Lucker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review and comments in relation to faultless food and service. Taking the time to review your recent visit is very much appreciated. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nicely done out restaurant, but service was average at best, as was the food. We were served pasta with a knife and fork, and a spoon wasn’t forthcoming. Our request for our disabled son’s pizza to be cooled before coming to the table was missed, which resulted in him being very frustrated as he had to wait for it to cool, as he didn’t understand.
The rest of the food was ok, but not worth the price.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank M1kej0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ189223, Owner at The Apple Core at Lucker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

In response to your review, I can only apologise for the negative experience you had. As you will see from other reviews, issues like this are very rare and would encourage you to make contact so that we may discuss a possible re-visit and a better experience. If you would like to discuss the issues you have raised please contact me on j.johnson@stablewoodleisure.com. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited the apple core as a result of scouring the reviews on here and we enjoyed our visit. The decor is well done and classy and the food (we both had pizzas) was delicious and good value (£32 for a starter sharer, 2 meals and drinks). Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank thomassN2641UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ189223, Owner at The Apple Core at Lucker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review and comments in relation to faultless food and service. Taking the time to review your recent visit is very much appreciated. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited here last week with a couple of girlfriends, we were thrilled to find out they had Thai food on the specials menu! I had vegetable Spring rolls & Thai egg fried rice with king prawns, one of the girls had chicken satays & massaman curry which looked divine! Being one of those to check trip advisor before visiting anywhere, I had came across a couple of bad reviews from this month.. I can say it’s hard to believe it’s the same place! The staff are friendly and attentive and can’t do enough for you, you always understand if there’s a wait in places situated in north Northumberland especially in summer holidays, (I would recommend the Malbec if this is the case) We will absolutely be returning!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank T310893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ189223, Owner at The Apple Core at Lucker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very pleased to hear such praise for our food, including our new Thai specials which are being received very well indeed. Our fantastic friendly staff will be pleased to hear such positive comments. Thanks again for your amazing review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apple Core at Lucker also viewed

Belford, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
Chatton, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Apple Core at Lucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing