We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage for a relaxing holiday in...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Millstone Cottage

Stunning Spring sunrise over Bamurgh Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Spring sunrise over Bamurgh Castle
Lovely garden with decked area and lawn Lovely garden with decked area and lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Stunning Spring sunrise over Bamurgh Castle
Lovely garden with decked area and lawn
Lovely garden with decked area and lawn
Beautiful conservatory overlooking river and leading to decked area.
Beautiful conservatory overlooking river and leading to decked area
Master bedroom with kingsize bed.
Master bedroom with kingsize bed.
Master bedroom with Egyptian Cotton bedlinen
Bedroom 2 with twin beds
Bedroom 2 with twin beds
Large livingroom leading to conservatory
Large livingroom leading to conservatory
Kitchen/Diner with fridge/freezer, fullsize oven, electric hob, dishwasher and microwave oven.
Kitchen/Diner with fridge/freezer, fullsize oven, electric hob, dishwasher and microwave oven.
BBQ and outside dining area
BBQ and outside dining area
River running by conservatory and garden
Garden area with sunloungers
Front of cottage with parking.
Guests comments
Family fun on Bamburgh Beach
Beautiful Bamburgh Beach and Castle
Lazy Sunday afternoons at Bamburgh
Climbing and walking at nearby Bowden Doors
Climbing and walking at nearby Bowden Doors
Climbing and walking at nearby Bowden Doors
Sea kiting at Beadnell Beach
Lifeboat at Seahouses harbour
Seahouses Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Footprint...
1 review
“Lovely cottage for a relaxing holiday in Northumberland”
Reviewed July 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is near Bamburgh with its famous castle and fantastic beach, Seahouses only a short drive with shops and more good restaurants, great for visiting Holy Island and other Northumberland attractions. The cottage is a beautifully furnished home from home, in a quiet location backing on to a small brook and woodland, with everything we needed for a comfortable, relaxing break. Very helpful information provided by the owner Gill, thank you for a very good holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted you had such a great break in wonderful Northumberland and at our comfortable wee cottage. We'd love to welcome you back in the future if you'd like to explore the area further, there's just so much to see and do in this truly beautiful part of the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordWinds...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our second time staying in wonderful Milestone Cottage. This really is a home from home, and owner Gill has thought of everything you might need for your stay. Immaculate, comfortable and an idyllic location from which to explore beautiful Northumberland. Ideal for those with a young family as the garden is completely enclosed and safe. Toys and DVDs are a welcome added bonus if the weather doesn't behave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed your second stay at our lovely Millstone Cottage. Look forward to welcoming your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathrynMa...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Well equipped beautiful cottage in a stunning area of Northumberland. We spent 4 nights here with our 1 year old son and had everything we needed. He loved feeding the ducks on the river from the back garden. It was warm and cosy too (even though there is no gas). Thanks for letting us stay. We'd definitely stay again and recommend to our friends. Gill was really quick to respond to any questions too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinky_ka...
Edinburgh, Indiana
1 review
“Perfect cottage. Wonderful location.highly recommended.”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Enjoyed a lovely week in this well appointed and comfortable cottage. A real home from home.would highly recommend if you are visiting this beautiful area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Just delighted you enjoyed your break in our fabulous cottage in wonderful Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennywood...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What can I say!! From start to finish, this whole trip has been a dream. Millstone Cottage, was so much more than we could have hoped for. I would like to say "home from home" but it was better. Gill and her family have definitely filled this cottage with fun,laughter and love-and it shows. She has thought of everything, and not once did we have to think of going out to buy anything extra, it was all there.
This was our first visit to Northumberland and thought it would be a great way to celebrate my husbands 60th. We were not disappointed, so much to see and do. We have barely scratched the surface, just Budle Bay (where the cottage is situated) is a goldmine of natural treasures. We did an epic coastal walk from Budle, Bamburgh, Seahouses (fantastic fresh fish and chips) and back (approx13miles) taking in views of the beautiful Farne Islands, endless beaches, wild life, friendly people and much more. This was just on our first day!! Our other days were just as fantastic visiting Alnwick Castle, Holy Island, and a boat trip around the Farne Islands. For us the was a very short trip cramming in as much as we could. So we have made a promise to come back and spend even longer, and hopefully stay at Milestone Cottage, if Gill will have us!!! Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you so much Jenny for your wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will be absolutely delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefbowma...
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the country. Set in a nice relaxing riverside location, make sure to look out for kingfisher that visits the tree next to the garden. The cottage has everything that you will need for your holiday, plenty of places to visit and plenty of good places to eat nearby. We would definitley recommend stopping here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely having you to stay at our beautiful cottage and just delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Week at Millstone Cottage”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here, liked the conservatory for watching the birds,after filling the bird feeder.Cottage very comfortable.We enjoyed visits to Bamburgh, Alnwick castle and gardens.Billy Shiels Boatrip was interesting,he got us in really close to the birds and seals Wear a hat! Thankyou Gill J.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, certainly sounds like you fitted a lot into your weeks stay! So pleased you had such a good break at our beautiful cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing