We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous well-appointed cottage in great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Breakers Bamburgh

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Side view
Rear view
Twin/Double bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen dining area
Lounge dining room
Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hampshire...
Odiham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous well-appointed cottage in great location”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Comfortable, very clean and stylish with everything provided to get our holiday off to an excellent start; thoughtful touches such as a copious supply of dishwasher tablets and other miscellaneous sundries that one really doesn't want to have to bring along were readily provided at Breakers, including welcome wine and choccies. We found the beds very comfortable and things like the bed linen and towels all good quality. The open plan living/kitchen/dining area was light and spacious. The driveway was also spacious with plenty of room to shut the gate and turn our car around. The grounds were immaculate and everything including neighbouring properties had the air of being well maintained and in good order. We found the location quiet and the views breakthtaking, whether looking east across to Bamburgh Castle whilst eating breakfast or looking west across to the Cheviots whilst sitting on the balcony. Ideally situated about one mile out of Bamburgh (which has lots of good eating places), with easy access to both coast and inland and a network of country lanes to drive or walk along. Being interested in history and archaeology there was no shortage of sites to visit and we also popped into Borders Gliding Club at Milfield and managed to fly in gliders over Wooler and the Cheviots. We would be very happy to stay at Breakers again, - it is probably one of the best if not the best cottage in the area and and thank the owners for making our holiday perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the property - very well equipped, clean and excellent location.
Liked least: Having to come home at the end of the holiday !!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Dear Guests, thank you so much for all your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve c
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely First Class Cottage !”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is modern, clean, spacious and has everything you will need for a fantastic break. While we were there it was great to be be able to have breakfast and on several occasions dinner on the balcony. It is a superb base to explore Bamburgh on foot, bike or in the car. We walked on beach from Bamburgh to Seahouses. I have to say I don't think I have ever seen such a clean unspoiled beach anywhere else in UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredibly homely.
Liked least: Nothing to report.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C
Strensall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Breakers at Bamburgh”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were delighted to have found Breakers for our very last minute few days in Northumberland. Our visit to this area and our stay at Breakers did not disappoint.
Breakers provides 5 Star and well appointed accommodation in a fabulous location with wonderful views from the first floor (open plan lounge leading to balcony, dining and kitchen area..) to the front Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands and from the rear balcony, far reaching hills and fields. The 2 bedrooms, a double and twin, bathroom with shower and luxurious bath and utility room are located on the ground floor. Breakers was spotlessly clean and extremely well presented.
There were lots of unexpected extras provided such as Elemis bath products, a welcome selection of holiday treats (thank you Lisa and Peter) and a good selection of films and TV Series on a 'hard drive'. It was a pleasure to return to Breakers to relax after great days out. We didn't manage to find a better route to walk into Bamburgh other than the main road so will definitely need to return for further investigations!! Excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and high quality facilities with additional and unexpected extras
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June B
Newborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakers and Bamburgh - Fantastic combination.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Breakers certainly has the 'WOW' factor, a beautiful place to stay; so clean and so much attention to detail.
Wonderful views over Bamburgh Castle and the Cheviots.
Breakers was a lovely place to stay in the Summer but, it would also
be a very good place to stay in the Winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the furnishings and the views.
Liked least: Wish we had booked for longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faytothej
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Massive 'wow-factor' as soon as we walked in, especially when we walked upstairs and saw the views and decor.

Lovely extra touches, such as the Buck's Fizz, chocolates, hard drive full of TV programmes and films, magazines, and children's toys including a train set.

We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and hope to return ourselves one day soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at Breakers in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmallar...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful luxury holiday house in a great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Breakers last summer and have booked to return later this year.
Fabulous property, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Utility room with sink and washing machine a bonus. Very quiet location with lovely balcony for eating outside at night. The excellent kitchen made cooking easy but the owners recommended lots of places to eat nearby. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from. We wanted somewhere close to the coast for visits to Lindisfarne, Farne Islands and other bird watching areas. Access to the A1 is easy and there are some great beaches within very easy reach. Loads to do in the area. Breakers was everything we were looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrat2
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL ACCOMODATION”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Have just returned from a delightful week of peace and tranquillity at Breakers. The accommodation is as good, if not better, than the pictures depict. Everything is finished to a very high standard and all the furniture is lovely. Everything has been thought of and all the silly things which can often be missed in self catering properties are provided. Maps of the local area, spare bin liners, dishwasher tablets, sharp knives!! decent kettle and toaster. A truly splendid place to stay which I cannot fault.

The accommodation is about 1 mile outside Bamburgh and is part of a renovated farm with 12 or so houses most of which are rental properties. It is an 'upside down' house with bedrooms downstairs and the lounge/kitchen etc. upstairs making the most of the views. It has a view of Bamburgh Castle to one side however the balcony does face the opposite direction but has equally nice views towards the Cheviot Hills. We had particularly sunny weather for our stay and were treated to several stunning sunsets over the hills during our stay.There is a small storage hut which can be used to store up to 4 bicycles. There is a static caravan site nearby but it is shielded by trees and is in no way intrusive.

The local area has some stunning coastal walks and is relatively flat with a maze of small lanes all of which are excellent for cycling. Holy Island and Alnwick Castle are short drives away. Lots of places to eat nearby from the upmarket Mizen Head in Bamburgh to the delicious Elan pizza shop in Seahouses.

Overall a lovely property which we will be returning to and can thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony and excellent quality of property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Colin, many thanks for your kind words. We've been meaning to get this sorted for ages and couldn't have asked for a better review. Your feedback is invaluable and hopefully we will have come up with more added touches in time for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Peter and Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing