We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Northumberland Treasure”
Review of Bamburgh Hall Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamburgh Hall Farm
Ranked #6 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Northumberland Treasure”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I cannot imagine more kind and thoughtful hosts than Charles and Barbara, and the house itself is a one-of-a-kind treasure. Delicious and generous breakfasts, log fires, a vase of fresh cut flowers in the bedroom, the bleating of sheep drifting on the breeze through the open window from the field just behind the farm, the North Sea in the distance... if you are looking for warm hospitality in peaceful surroundings this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    29
    1
    5
    11
See reviews for
25
56
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My thunder has been taken by the three previous complimentary reviews I have just seen on this page and with which I heartily concur. We two, who regard ourselves as the epitome of athletic manhood and the Corinthian spirit if a little past our sell-by dates and a tad corpulent, had arrived on bicycles having been held back by strong north easterly winds. Perhaps we looked a little worse for wear but were skillfully revived by the administration by Barbara and Charles of a medicinal tot in front of a log fire. Later we found a slice of home cooked flapjack in the comfortable bedroom. It was also a treat to find a good size shower in the bathroom.
The whole experience was just a joy and all thanks to our hosts.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank davidgoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are looking for a modern, corporate, soul-less stop over then don't stay here! If, however, you are seeking an escape from this mad modern world then Bamburgh Hall could just be the oasis you require. Barbara and Charles are the most welcoming and caring hosts you could wish for and their home provides a glimpse into an almost forgotten time of log fires in the parlour, fresh eggs from the hens outside the back door and creaky floorboards. We felt like family guests, invited for a stay in the country. You won't find a TV in your room, or Wifi, but you may find homemade flapjack and fresh flowers from the garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobbybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The most wonderful overnight stay. Charles and Barbara made me feel so comfortable - with great breakfast before my long distance run and a packed lunch for afterwards. Incredibly quiet. Simple and clean rooms with delightful atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I enjoyed a snowy weekend stay at Bamburgh Hall Farm in later January 2013. Although I was the only guest I was treated to the warmest of warm welcomes: log fire burning in the guests' sitting room, tray of tea, toast & cake to welcome me. It's a charming, very comfortable place to stay. Barbara and Charles treated me like a personal guest rather than as someone coming to a BnB. And the most amazing value for money. I can't wait to go back and take some friends with me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

One of the best BBs I've stayed in. Barbara and Charles make you feel like you are one of the family, and are exceptionally generous hosts. My friend and I were given separate rooms, each with en-suite, even though there were twin beds in each. Sweet treats and fruit were left in our rooms every day, a table overladen with complimentary drinks to which we could help ourselves stood in the corner of the wonderful guest lounge which was heated with a log fire in the evenings. Breakfasts were sumptuous - grapefruit, poached pears, cereals, full English, local jams and wildflower honey comb - served in the fabulous dining room, where we sat at the end of a long table. Nothing was too much trouble for Barbara and Charles, and one morning, Barbara made us a wonderful smoked salmon kedgeree as I am not a fan of the full English - delicious! We felt completely spoilt. The house itself oozes character and atmosphere and we felt like we were characters in a fairy tale - especially as the fabulous Christmas lights were still on, strung up among the trees of the village green opposite the house.

Would definitely stay again if we are in lovely Bambrugh again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We loved our stay in this atmospheric old house! We are touring the UK, and were looking to get away from somewhat soulless hotel accommodation that we had previously encountered.

The welcome was friendly, and we were offered tea, shown into a beautiful room with a real log fire. The massive old walls of the historic house and the beautiful old-fashioned decor, together with the unfailing hospitality and cheerfulness of the owners, felt very refreshing to us. Put altogether with the extraordinary setting of Bamburgh castle and beach, we were treated to a stay in Northumberland which was definitely the highlight of our two month UK tour.

It was perfectly obvious after barely two minutes in the house that the way of life of the owners goes contrary to the current of slightly unnatural perfectionism that we encountered in hotels and Bed & Breakfasts elsewhere on our travels. It was not an immaculate house, but it was clearly cleaned on a daily basis. The carpets were definitely not new and fashionable, nor were the beds - but all was comfortable and well cared-for, and we slept wonderfully, appreciating the quiet surroundings. The cooked breakfasts I chose were not low-fat, calory counting affairs, but substantial farmhouse food - I do not think that the tasty sausages and bacon that I was served could be easily obtained in a supermarket. My wife sometimes preferred a light breakfast, and there was always a good selection of cereals and toast with plenty of local jams and honey.

We were shown the second floor rooms, but chose a first floor bedroom because the adjoining bathroom had a shower, which we prefer to baths.

We are keen birdwatchers, and found that our host Charles was also an enthusiastic birdwatcher and local conservationist, with valuable local knowledge.

We do therefore warmly recommend this farmhouse as a great place to experience the wonders of Northumberland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#3 of 8 in Bamburgh
128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburgh Hall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburgh Hall Farm

Property: Bamburgh Hall Farm
Address: Bamburgh Hall Bamburgh, Bamburgh NE69 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bamburgh Hall Farm Hotel Bamburgh
Bamburgh Hall Farm Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing