We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sunningdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there for one night in October with 2 dogs and really enjoyed our stay. We decided to have our evening meal there and found it to be superb; plenty of choice, local and a good wine selection, would highly recommend. We had a family room and it was comfortable, not luxurious but good value for money. Our room was at the back and had a wonderful view of the castle and the sea. My husband enjoyed the breakfast but for me as a vegetarian this was the only let down as I know many B&B's now offer a veggie breakfast, which would have made this review a 5 instead of a 4. There was plenty of parking and it was only a short walk down to the castle and the beach. The Victoria pub down the road also allows dogs and has a great log fire in the evening, well worth it for a pint! We will be definitely be returning asap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hi Laura H,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We have worked hard as a team to build the hotel to the standard that we are now. We have some very good reviews for our food and I'm so very pleased you enjoyed it. I'm somewhat disappointed that you weren't offered a vegetarian breakfast as we stock a selection of vegetarian sausages. We also serve beans, tomatoes and eggs cooked to order. please come back and visit us again.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 368 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights midweek. The hotel is clean and our room was large with a huge double bed. The breakfast is self service and plentiful. There is plenty of parking available on their own car park or on the street. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gerarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hello Gerarbara,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. All our feedback is welcomed by the staff. Ill pass on your kind comments.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked the Sunningdale for our cycling group of 20+ people for a long weekend. The manager was really helpful it taking the individual bookings and organising a meal for us all in the restaurant including some who werent staying at the hotel. All the staff were welcoming and effecient. The food was excellent and our dinner bed and breakfast rate was really good value. The rooms were clean and comfortable some with views of the Castle. The Sunningdale is well situated in the centre of Bamburgh. All the group were complimentary about the hotel and particularly the food and the service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Helen,

Firstly, let me thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have your group come and stay with us. The comments we received upon your group checking out were very positive, I understand that you've been running this trip now for over 20 years, most of your guests commented on how successful this trips been and how wonderfully accommodating the hotel was. Its a pleasure to myself and all the staff to know that we are doing things right. Please keep us in mind for any further trips. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

cheap and cheerful. great food , comfy beds, and hot showers The staff were very helpful and very friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this place for a relaxing stay. If you want to eat out The Wyndings on the main street of Bamburgh is fantastic.

Room Tip: slept so well It was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worrywortLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hello WWL,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We monitor and review tripadvisor to ensure we are pleasing our customers. One thing that used to crop up from review sites and our own in house customer satisfaction forms was our beds could have been better. Beds are a personal choice so therefore you won't please everyone. However we trialled a new bed company 2 years ago and as a result of such positive feedback we've rolled out a complete renew of all our beds. So for me to get feedback on the beds is wonderful.

Many thanks again

please visit us again in the future

Paul Mather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A lovely short break in Bamburgh with added bonus of fantastic sunny weather and beautiful scenery and heritage. The hotel is great with fantastic food - my husband is coeliac and the chef adapted dishes so that he could eat them. The Bed Breakfast and Evening Meal package was excellent value for money and the food was really top quality with plenty of choice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Catherine, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay. All too often internet review sites are used for guests to vent their frustrations after an awful stay. Its rewarding to know that when we do something as simple as dealing with your husbands intolerance to wheat we get praised for it. I would like to thank you for being a wonderful guest and please come back and visit us again.

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for the night in this beautiful b&b with my best friend. We are both young and was a last minute escape but were recommended to visit the sunningdale by a family member. On arrival, location is amazing. A 2 minute walk from bamburgh castle. A restaurant inside the b&b itself but many others and cafes surrounding it so really easy access to various different things. Room was stunning! Exceptionally clean, bright, airy, spacious and fitted with a very modern en suite bathroom. Views from the window were stunning and if looking to the right out of the window directly standing was the castle! Took some effort getting out of the bed as so comfy but headed down for breakfast which was help yourself. Cereal, toast, croissants, full English (eggs and beans on demand-have to ask) which really makes them fresh! Juices, teas and coffees. Overall, a great value for money experience! Extremely friendly staff
Can't complain! Highly recommended.
Thanks Sunningdale!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Olivia,

Firstly, let me thank you for taking the time to prepare and write such a lovely review. Its a real delight for the team at the hotel to know that we are giving our customers such a wonderful experience. I also personally taken on board your other comments regarding our menu. I've recently employed an advertising company to write our new menu that is released this weekend. I'd be very pleased if you and your partner would return to try it out.

many thanks again for your kind words

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This B&B provides modern quality with value. A better prospect altogether than locally much more expensive hotels. The rooms, with are nicely decorated with modern bathroom. Good breakfast buffet arrangement including bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms; plus eggs to order. This is some off road car parking but also plenty on the street.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of Bamburgh Castle. Not essential as the castle is on the doorstep but nice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Observer-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
1.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
221 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,288 reviews
4.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
18.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
494 reviews
18.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunningdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunningdale Hotel

Address: 21-23 Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range: $101 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunningdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sunningdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunningdale Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland
Sunningdale Hotel Bamburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing