We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money for this recently refurbed hotel in a fantastic location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money for this recently refurbed hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We have just stayed at the Lord Crewe for an annual re-union of 5 couples, all ex-Bank Managers and wives! We have stayed at places all round the country and rate this hotel as probably the best value for money.

I organised it and found that this hotel like most others in the area had mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. However, I worked on the basis that the hotel was in a fantastic location, overlooking Bamburgh Castle, had been recently re-furbished and the room rates seemed relatively cheap.

I'm happy to say that all members of the group found it an excellent choice, it was all the things mentioned above and service was superb too. If we had any quibbles, it was that the bar is closed from 3 pm till 6 pm but there are other pubs/cafes in the village. The food was generally very good, apart from the odd pasta dish.

I'm happy to recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly given the very reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    116
    54
    25
    22
See reviews for
63
243
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed in a local cottage and were looking for bar meals in the area. We saw a sign outside of the Lord Crewe for Forsters Bar. It looked ok but as soon as we arrived we were ignored by the waitress so we weren't sure what to do or where to go to order etc as there were no signs and the bar wasn't obvious! Eventually she said 'sit anywhere' but there was only one table left so we took that (we thought with it being so busy it was a good sign!). Watched a few more couples/families come in and stand at the door wondering what to do and they were eventually told to go into the 'restaurant area' which was in darkness so they walked straight out of the door again. We ordered burgers and chips, and that is what we got. But the burgers tasted like Tesco value and the chips weren't much better. We had our meal delivered by the same miserable waitress who didn't ask us if we wanted any sauces to go with our (very dry!) meal and nor did she come back to check everything was ok (perhaps good that she didn't!!).
Overpriced and pretty awful food and ambience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank On_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki17
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My husband took me to Bamburgh for a night as part of my 30th birthday present and we arrived at the Lord Crewe, which is sat practically in the shadow of the castle, without a booking. We parked in the free parking spaces at the front of the hotel but there is also a car park at the back belonging to the hotel. The lady on reception was really friendly and allocated us a superior double but as we brought our bags in, she offered to swap our room for the suite for no extra cost. Upgrade, marvellous! The room was a great size with a view over the main street. The suite had obviously been refurbished recently because everything looked quite new. The bathroom was great with a modern double sink unit and a power shower that practically massaged your shoulders as you washed your hair. The bed was really comfortable, the pillows lovely and soft and we both had a really good nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was great, with a selection of cereals and juice followed by a cooked breakfast and tea. The staff on reception as left were very friendly and wished us a good journey. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the north east or looking for somewhere to stay in Bamburgh.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I recently stopped the night at The Lord Crewe Hotel on my way to Edinburgh.Great comfy room with King Size bed,had a bite to eat in The Olive Tree Restaurant, Good meal,and a few large wines on the patio.Fantastic!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We had stayed here before, and liked it, but never again.

The reception space had been refurbished and so our hopes were high, but we were keenly disappointed. 90 quid for a room that was a cross between a 1970's Laura Ashley nightmare and a ropey ski lodge.
The bed was like lumpy custard and it was impossible to open the beautiful sash windows to either enjoy the magnificent view of the castle, or to get some fresh air into the pokey room.
The layout of the bar and restaurant leaves everything to be desired; we ate there one evening, the food was average, the prices high and the ambiance all that of a layby by the M1.
A real shame as they owners have a beautiful building in a sensational setting and have spoilt it by insensitive refurbishment, bad design and a total lack of respect either for the age of the building or the needs and wants of their customers.
If you're going to Bamburgh, stay at the Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed for two nights in the Crewe Suite - lovely room with a great view of the castle. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammersmith, London
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

During this current climate, me and the girlfriend decided to opt out of a excotic holiday and head for somewhere closer to home, which were so glad we did. We looked at the rural town of bamburgh in northumberland, one of england forgotten treasure's. and we came accross the lord crewe arms. so we rang up and spoke to a what seemed like a young receptionist (called sharon i think) and we made our booking, she was very proffesional and helpful with everything. so all booked and now just waiting to go.

The day had come for us to check into the lord crewe, upon arrival it was about 4:30 when we arrived we were greeted by a village that looked like it had been mobed everyone had the same idea as us. so we started regretting coming to bamburgh. but once we had walked through the front door of the crewe are reservations about bamburgh went out the window. first impressions are the best ones and this place was right up there. so we walked upto the front desk and rang the bell. the receptionist came out ov the back room and asked if she could help. full of smiles and seemed like she was born to help people. we told her we had a reservation and so she checked us in. we then went up the stairs and along to our room the crewe suite, upon operning the door, we were amazed that such a small hotel from the outside could accomadate such beautiful, spacious rooms, so we dropped our bags of and headed back downstairs, as were were leaving out the front door andrea (the receptionish mentioned before) asked us if we wud like to book into the olive tree resturant for our everning meal as it gets quite busy. and without a booking not garenteed a table. so we said yes and made it for 8:30. so we then left and headed out into bamburgh and made it back intime to get changed and head downstairs for our everning meal. we were directed through into the resturant which as we were told quite busy. so we were led to our table by a very pleasant lady, she sat us down and passed us some menu and asked if we wud like a drink. i orded a peroni (seen as we were in an italian resturant (i forgot to mention that)) and the girlfriend had a glass of wine. we checked out the menu and i opted for a pizza, i know boring as it sounds. and the girlfriend had the salmon pasta. we waitied about 10 - 15 minuites for our meals to come out which were deffinatly worth the drive up to bamburgh just to try. My pizza was a tuna and olive pizza, which i swear they must have had a world class - chef preparing them, because i even questioned are they made on the premisise and i was told yes every thing is freshly made before it is served. which was fantastic. i wont go into to much detail about the food but all i can say is "you have to try it to belive how fantastic it is" after the meal we retired to our room. into a comfortable very soft bed. and fell asleep knowing we had enjoyed our first night at the lord crewe "with another 3 nights to go. its going to be a suberb holiday"

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Redford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,247 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
382 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,037 reviews
15.8 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing