We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2009

During this current climate, me and the girlfriend decided to opt out of a excotic holiday and head for somewhere closer to home, which were so glad we did. We looked at the rural town of bamburgh in northumberland, one of england forgotten treasure's. and we came accross the lord crewe arms. so we rang up and spoke to a what seemed like a young receptionist (called sharon i think) and we made our booking, she was very proffesional and helpful with everything. so all booked and now just waiting to go.

The day had come for us to check into the lord crewe, upon arrival it was about 4:30 when we arrived we were greeted by a village that looked like it had been mobed everyone had the same idea as us. so we started regretting coming to bamburgh. but once we had walked through the front door of the crewe are reservations about bamburgh went out the window. first impressions are the best ones and this place was right up there. so we walked upto the front desk and rang the bell. the receptionist came out ov the back room and asked if she could help. full of smiles and seemed like she was born to help people. we told her we had a reservation and so she checked us in. we then went up the stairs and along to our room the crewe suite, upon operning the door, we were amazed that such a small hotel from the outside could accomadate such beautiful, spacious rooms, so we dropped our bags of and headed back downstairs, as were were leaving out the front door andrea (the receptionish mentioned before) asked us if we wud like to book into the olive tree resturant for our everning meal as it gets quite busy. and without a booking not garenteed a table. so we said yes and made it for 8:30. so we then left and headed out into bamburgh and made it back intime to get changed and head downstairs for our everning meal. we were directed through into the resturant which as we were told quite busy. so we were led to our table by a very pleasant lady, she sat us down and passed us some menu and asked if we wud like a drink. i orded a peroni (seen as we were in an italian resturant (i forgot to mention that)) and the girlfriend had a glass of wine. we checked out the menu and i opted for a pizza, i know boring as it sounds. and the girlfriend had the salmon pasta. we waitied about 10 - 15 minuites for our meals to come out which were deffinatly worth the drive up to bamburgh just to try. My pizza was a tuna and olive pizza, which i swear they must have had a world class - chef preparing them, because i even questioned are they made on the premisise and i was told yes every thing is freshly made before it is served. which was fantastic. i wont go into to much detail about the food but all i can say is "you have to try it to belive how fantastic it is" after the meal we retired to our room. into a comfortable very soft bed. and fell asleep knowing we had enjoyed our first night at the lord crewe "with another 3 nights to go. its going to be a suberb holiday"

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Redford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 415 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2009

Just returned from a short break, luckily only booked one night at the Lord Crewe. Booked a Superior Double room which was tiny, newly decorated and very clean. Because of the size we thought we had been given a 'Standard' room so we queried this with the very disinterested receptionist, she assured us that it was a 'Superior' room because it had just been refurbished. Clearly we were paying for the revamp and for nothing else, feel rather ripped off.

The bar was very unwelcoming, no atomosphere at all so drank and eat up the road.

Breakfast okay nothing special.

Staff not at all bothered about your comfort.

Hospitality tray in bedroom very mean just 2 t-bags had to ask for more.

Ov

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hague22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Small room, miserable bar staff, overpriced. no parking. Bar food expensive and clearly poor quality. Won't be back, wondered if Dick Turpin ran the place

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenthereNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We went on a two night stay expecting a delightful pub/dining experience with or without contemporary touches.The reception gives the luxury feel of up to-date.From there on it was down hill all the way.The Forster Suite was run down,dingy,bathroom from the ark.The bar was just that,charm bypass.The restaurant was amateur and barely good,a meal in the pub was plain food and expensive.The cost all in all was twice what it should have been.It was typical of all that can be wrong with British hospitality.No attention to the details we all expect to be there,high hopes not fulfilled

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneboyhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I recently spent a great weekend at the Lord Crewe Arms.We stayed in a superior room wich seeemed to have been recently refurbished.Dinner in there Italian the Olive tree was great and the service from the staff was good.We look forward to returning next year .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NewcastleMarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Costumer Care .... very serious issues at this place reading the reviews i must have to agree with the rudest ginger man behind the bar! but on our arrival the receptionist hardly spoke to us , the way out she was reading a book at the reception, no interest or soever at the costumers, Meals very expensive for what you can get. Been to some pubs in the area for the second night i can only say how upset we felt :( but we try to book at other places but Unfortunately the other hotels were fully booked. Terrible holiday! My friends believe me this is the last place you want to be! SEARCH SEARCH .... :)
Rude Staff
Lack of interest
Food expensive
Bar man ( should not be working on hospitality)
Room too small, bathroom cobwebs :(
Entrance the only nice area :)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DorchesterWiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We spent a night at the Lord Crewe in October when travelling south. Our room the Forster Suite, which had recently been refurbished was spacious, clean and comfortable. We sampled the hospitality in the bar and dined in the Olive Tree restaurant, both most enjoyable.

Before deciding to stay there we checked out other hotels in the area but found their rates extremely good for the high standard of accommodation offered.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekychar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2.1 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
18.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing