We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wynding Inn Wynding Down”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was recomended by a friend and it didnt let us down although it has changed since her visit.

Quite shocked at first as it has a very modern decor, uber trendy lit bar area but still retains enough of the old part of the inn with Stone walls and wooden floors.

Great food at a decent price and a location to die for; wonderfull!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 407 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

As a friend was having their birthday in the pavilion of the cricket ground we booked for one night at the Lord Crew. The hotel is clean and comfortable although the room (we stayed in room 4) was not overly large, it was adequate. I found that wi-fi was available but no one had informed us of this, and had not offered the password at reception which is always annoying. Breakfast was great and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful and friendly. A walk up to the castle and along the beach is an absolute must - there cannot be a finer stretch of sand in the UK!

At £98 for two people it was ok and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly place to stay. Good size clean rooms , amazing power shower .

Restaurant food was very good, specials board changed regularly, local seafood .

Breakfast was also of a high standard, good choice, freshly cooked full English lovely.

The hotel has an attached newish bar and beer garden, good local ale.

.Highly recommended, look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traceyandstuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the setting is excellent; between the village green and Bamburgh Castle. The stunning beach is 5 minutes walk from the front door. The Hotel is ancient but internally is contemporary, comfortable and welcoming. With 2 very discerning and well travelled Aussie visitors we stayed 2 nights and ate in on both - the food is excellent, beautifuly presented with a very reasonable wine selection and good beers from the bar.The staff are lovely in a friendly and informative way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staindrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped over for a one night break for some R & R. Hotel was a lot quieter than on previous visits but standards had not slipped our allocated room (No 14) was small but clean and well presented.
The restaurant was fully occupied which is usually a good indication and the meals did not disappoint.Breakfast is freshly cooked for the warm items, bacon eggs etc with a buffet available for cereal of fruit all served by excellent staff. This hotel never disappoints, will be back.

Room Tip: If you like a room with plenty of space its worth spending a bit more
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

During a visit to the area, we went to the bar of this hotel for an evening meal. The ambience was excellent - blazing fire, stone walls and pleasant staff. The menu was extensive, and I had excellent fish chowder, followed by cod in a light batter. Also enjoyed a pint of very good local ale.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited a few weekends ago and had a fantastic time. We were treating my partners parents for their christmas present and after the most horrendous journey on the M62 we arrived slightly late for our dinner (we had paid for dinner bed and breakfast) and were quite tired, but the staff were very accommodating and sorted out fish and chips for us - just what was needed. That set the tone for the weekend....the staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly and we felt that nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent - breakfast and evening meals. The rooms were immaculate and very spacious. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2.1 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
215 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,061 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing