We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just as good”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“just as good”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped over for a one night break for some R & R. Hotel was a lot quieter than on previous visits but standards had not slipped our allocated room (No 14) was small but clean and well presented.
The restaurant was fully occupied which is usually a good indication and the meals did not disappoint.Breakfast is freshly cooked for the warm items, bacon eggs etc with a buffet available for cereal of fruit all served by excellent staff. This hotel never disappoints, will be back.

Room Tip: If you like a room with plenty of space its worth spending a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    115
    54
    25
    22
See reviews for
63
241
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

During a visit to the area, we went to the bar of this hotel for an evening meal. The ambience was excellent - blazing fire, stone walls and pleasant staff. The menu was extensive, and I had excellent fish chowder, followed by cod in a light batter. Also enjoyed a pint of very good local ale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited a few weekends ago and had a fantastic time. We were treating my partners parents for their christmas present and after the most horrendous journey on the M62 we arrived slightly late for our dinner (we had paid for dinner bed and breakfast) and were quite tired, but the staff were very accommodating and sorted out fish and chips for us - just what was needed. That set the tone for the weekend....the staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly and we felt that nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent - breakfast and evening meals. The rooms were immaculate and very spacious. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend enjoyed an absolutely superb three course meal at The Wynding restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant was beautifully decorated. The food was amazing, it was definitely one of the best meals I have ever had. I would highly recommend to anyone passing through Bamburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarac911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Called in here after visiting the castle, the eating area has been revamped and looks fresh and clean, bar staff very friendly and jolly, we had great meals which we all enjoyed, really recommend this place, a great revamp and nice menu

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights (22-24 feb 2013) Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Food good, cozy bar. Will def return. Highly recommend! Room was fairly small but clean with nice comfy bed. Shower room fairly compact but well appointed and clean.

Room Tip: Room was ideal, small shower room, but well appointed and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzydoll_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my wife recently returned from a short break at The Lord Crewe hotel in Bamburgh. We booked in for dinner bed and breakfast in a standard double room with en-suite. The room was nice and tidy with a view of the castle from our window. The breakfast was a good choice of both hot and cold ... would recommend trying the kippers ... excellent. The evening meal was to be chosen from a set menu with various choices for starter , main and sweet. The food was good and well presented. Sitting in the bar area was nice and relaxing in the evening.This hotel is in a fantastic location just two minutes walk to the castle. Walk around the castle to find miles of a good clean sandy beach.
Cant say a bad word about The Lord Crewe ... The staff were polite , the food and service was good and the room was clean ..... 5 star.

Kevin & Kathryn Callaghan .....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
208 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing