We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful meal”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend enjoyed an absolutely superb three course meal at The Wynding restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant was beautifully decorated. The food was amazing, it was definitely one of the best meals I have ever had. I would highly recommend to anyone passing through Bamburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarac911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    114
    54
    25
    21
See reviews for
62
235
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Called in here after visiting the castle, the eating area has been revamped and looks fresh and clean, bar staff very friendly and jolly, we had great meals which we all enjoyed, really recommend this place, a great revamp and nice menu

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights (22-24 feb 2013) Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Food good, cozy bar. Will def return. Highly recommend! Room was fairly small but clean with nice comfy bed. Shower room fairly compact but well appointed and clean.

Room Tip: Room was ideal, small shower room, but well appointed and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzydoll_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my wife recently returned from a short break at The Lord Crewe hotel in Bamburgh. We booked in for dinner bed and breakfast in a standard double room with en-suite. The room was nice and tidy with a view of the castle from our window. The breakfast was a good choice of both hot and cold ... would recommend trying the kippers ... excellent. The evening meal was to be chosen from a set menu with various choices for starter , main and sweet. The food was good and well presented. Sitting in the bar area was nice and relaxing in the evening.This hotel is in a fantastic location just two minutes walk to the castle. Walk around the castle to find miles of a good clean sandy beach.
Cant say a bad word about The Lord Crewe ... The staff were polite , the food and service was good and the room was clean ..... 5 star.

Kevin & Kathryn Callaghan .....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent food, generous portions. An excellent find on a cold and windy winters evening. The bar area is very cosy with a fire burning and staff who was very friendly and chatty. We chose to eat in the restaurant which was efficient and well organised.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely meal in the the Wynding bar by the wood burning stove. Warm welcome, good food with well sized portions and friendly bar staff.
Great location within Bamburgh right near the Castle.
Didn't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for one night,what a great place to stay the staff were all very helpful and friendly the rooms very clean and well decorated.The meal in the evening was excellent as was the cooked breakfast in the morning.All in all Lord crewe is a lovely place to stay cannot fault it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
4.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing