We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in the Wynding Bar in the Lord Crewe Hotel, Bamburgh”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in the Wynding Bar in the Lord Crewe Hotel, Bamburgh”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely meal in the the Wynding bar by the wood burning stove. Warm welcome, good food with well sized portions and friendly bar staff.
Great location within Bamburgh right near the Castle.
Didn't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    114
    54
    25
    22
See reviews for
62
238
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for one night,what a great place to stay the staff were all very helpful and friendly the rooms very clean and well decorated.The meal in the evening was excellent as was the cooked breakfast in the morning.All in all Lord crewe is a lovely place to stay cannot fault it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked in for the weekend when the weather broke, blizzards etc in the north east. The hotel phoned to ask if I would still be coming and when we arrived we were the only people there..apart from the fantastic staff who went on to make our weekend fantastically special. They even put the log fire on early so that it was toasty warm. Great place but it was the staff who made it very special and made us feel really welcome..

Room Tip: View of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely people, lovely room (the Wynding) and lovely food. We planned to stay one night and ended up staying three. Great location next to the castle and a good base...easy drive to Seahouses and Holy Island, and a very nice walk to Budle Bay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KateYLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We lunched here on new Year's Day - a test for any bar/restaurant. They passed with flying colours, offering a wide selection of delicious food. As one might expect in the location, seafood was perfectly cooked in unusual ways. The staff were delightful and did not display any signs of being harassed by non stop clientele as the beautiful weather brought people out in droves.

The overall ambience was pleasant with decor reflecting the environment. Children were managed with ease, even on such a busy day. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and new year for a short break. The location is very impressive (even on a grim December day!) right at the foot of Bamburgh Castle. We had to wait a few minutes for someone to come to reception as it seemed there was no one about however once we found someone the staff were friendly and helpful - we could not fault the service.

We had a small double at the front (room 2) with an ensuite shower room. The room was small but clean, tidy and nice and warm and the shower was hot and excellent.

We ate the first night in the Wynding bar/restaurant attached to the hotel. Very good value and fantastic food. It got very busy on the Friday night so i'd advise booking.

All in all i'd have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Friendly bar/hotel, very tastefully refurbished. Good beer, excellent food, & probably one of the best locations of any pub in England, right at the foot of Bamburgh Castle within an easy walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slide_Show_Bobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,007 reviews
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing