We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and friendly. Parking in front.”
Review of Hillcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillcrest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Quiet and friendly. Parking in front.”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

A pleasant and enjoyable accommodation in Bamburgh. A good home cooked English breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
55
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

It would be hard––not to say impossible––to top Hillcrest House. The rooms are spotless, bright and comfortable. The Hillcrest's owners Malcolm and Linda are absolutely lovely and the breakfasts are superb. There was a snowstorm during our stay, and so that we wouldn't miss our train Malcolm and Linda drove us all the way to Newcastle (50 miles!). First-rate in every respect. Highly recommended.

Greg & Ludovica

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grevica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

The perfect place to stay in Bamburgh. Malcom and Linda are wonderful hosts. Judith had come in to help with breakfasts, because Linda was not too well when we stayed, and she too was fantastic. The house is immaculate and Linda and Malcolm provide a very warm and friendly welcome. We had taken our family with us promising them a lovely guest house to stay in. They were not disappointed. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I stumbled across the Hillcrest without a reservation and was warmly welcomed by Malcolm and his wife. The room was clean, beautiful and relaxing, with a view over the hills to the ocean. The bathtub had bubble bath, and the English breakfast was delicious. The hosts were so helpful, kind, and sweet- I would recommend this to anyone traveling in the area. Bamburgh- and the Hillcrest- are both hidden gems.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carriebritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

The couple who run this house were fantastic hosts. They were so helpful and kind, and extremely welcoming. Our room, and in fact the whole house, was spotless, and extremely well-kept. We were staying there for a wedding, and the couple even kindly offered (which we gratefully accepted) to drive us to the reception. How many guest house owners would do that for their guests? Not many, me thinks! If you're staying in Bamburgh for any reason, then there's no need to look any further then Hillcrest House.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NatandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Couldn't have been better - my husband & I were on a walking tour of Northumberland & Shirley & David couldn't have been better hosts. A real gem - and although they don't do dinner, there are plenty of places in Bamburgh that do. Nothing was too much trouble - and they were a mine of helpful information.

I've paid 5 times as much for a worse time - do yourself a favour and go.

Helpful?
7 Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House

Property: Hillcrest House
Address: 29 Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillcrest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hillcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing