We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Expected”
Review of Hillcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest House
Ranked #4 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Upon arriving in Bamburgh we were directed to Malcolm having been told he would be more than happy to help me and my work colleagues out with food and a place to stay at short notice and and an awkward time. From start to finsih we were looked after better than could of been expected, Served great food throughout our stay with the standards never dropping and constantly being upheld. The Room we stayed in (Loft Conversion) was perfectly presented, Clean, Well prepared with tea and coffee facilities provided for you at your own disposal. The beds were again.. Well presented. Clean and comfortable. No matter what our needs Malcolm and his partner (Cant remember her name :L ) would always be happy to try and help us out.
In conclusion.. Having experienced other hotels in the area i would have to say if you can choose Hillcrest House. Best option in Bamburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Read the positive reviews on trip advisor before booking and wasn't disappointed, huge bedroom with plenty of room for Ethan aged 1 and a large bathroom with great shower. Fabulous breakfast too and the hosts couldn't have been more helpful for our whole stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank ChadHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived in Bamburgh late afternoon without having booked anywhere to stay. We found Hillcrest House by walking around and seeing the vacancy sign. As others have said, it is a lovely welcoming guest house with everything you need for a most enjoyable stay. We were given the large room on the top floor, with fantastic castle and sea views, which had a big comfortable bed and lots of seating.
A lovely house and owner Malcolm ( unfortunately we didn't get to meet Linda ) to which we will return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A lovely well kept house suitable for all. Highly recommended for a visit to this wonderful hotel.
Malcolm will make you feel very welcome and will always ensure that you are happy and are comfortable.
Our room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom spacious.
Would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Large, clean, well equipped bedrooms. What sets this place aside is the friendly nature of the couple running the place. They are very welcoming and accommodating. Didn't try their restaurant down the road. I would recommend checking out this independently via tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spotty909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Yes the place is clean, but shouldn't you expect that from a guest house. After all you're staying in someone else's house. After reading the reviews I was expected to be blew away, but we weren't. The place was old fashioned. We also ate in what is the family restaurant and that was terrible. The food was bland and very expensive. All in all it's not a bad place but its certainly not worth the money. We checked around and there was cheaper places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ironman2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I'm not normally given to writing reviews, but feel I must congratulate Linda, Malcolm and their son Mark on tremendously efficient, warm and helpful service, both in terms of booking and our actual recent stay. Bamburgh is a very special place, and Hillcrest House is a perfect accompaniment to its stunning scenery and friendly atmosphere. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, light and airy, and extremely comfortably furnished. Breakfast was excellent with fresh strawberries and blueberries along with the usual cereals, toast, cooked options etc. We will definitely stay again if in the area - perhaps next time trying the beautifully appointed upstairs double/single and bathroom suite. Thank you to Linda, Malcolm and Mark, and many congratulations on an exceptional B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olneyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
1.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
1,010 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
373 reviews
0 mi away
Mizen Head Hotel
Mizen Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bamburgh
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House

Address: 29 Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range: $131 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hillcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing