We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very homely, yet grand B&B!”
Review of Budle Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Budle Hall
Ranked #3 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were going to a wedding at nearby Bamburgh Castle, and needed a B&B, and this fitted the bill perfectly! It's a very grand 'family' house, with lovely grounds and loads of parking. The owners are very friendly and accommodating, and it's very clean. The breakfast was lovely, with various locally sourced foods. We had the large bedroom on the website, which was large and well appointed (some have said dated, but this is the style of the house) - the only comment is the small TV (although that's not why we were there!!).

It's situated about 1-1.5 miles from Bamburgh. We had a lovely (and very easy) walk along the beach to Bamburgh, which took about 40 mins. However, the walk back was along the road (we didnt have torches to brave the beech!), which although very quiet, has no pavement. So we would certainly recommend PRE-BOOKING a taxi - it was suggested that there may be taxis hanging around in Bamburgh - there certainly were not at the end of the night.

All in all, a great (not-so-little) B&B a stones throw away from Bamburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow, what a fantastic home Budle Hall is! Jo and David are the delightful owners who ensure you are happy with everything whilst staying in their home. The breakfasts are cooked to order and are more than enough to get you through the day. The porridge was fabulous Jo, thank you, and my friend demolished the full English with relish! The comments regarding Budle needing a touch-up are a little unfair I think. The shabby-chic feel of the place only adds to the charm in my opinion, god forbid it becomes a travel lodge. Anyway, I highly recommend Budle Hall for many many reasons including the location and the peace and the kestrels. I will return hopefully.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I got married in nearby Bamburgh Castle and we stayed at Budle Hall for the weekend along with some of our guests.

The owners couldn't have done more to make us feel at home, each breakfast was cooked to order, great selection of fruit, cereals and lots of freshly made tea! The surroundings to the Hall are exactly what you would expect in this part of the country, although to explore much further afield you would really need some kind of transport.

Some of the reviews mention the need for refurbishment, which may be true however I think it would take away some of the charm if the inside resembled a Holiday Inn.

All in all a great weekend and a great place to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The landhouse makes you feel like you're in the 19th century! I could almost see the carriage with the mail arriving from the rolling hills when I looked out of my bedroom window.
It is absolutely gorgeous.

However: the place really needs a big touch-up!
And also some interior styling. It just looked like a big mix up of different styles of furniture.
There were holes in the walls and some much needed painting is to be done! We had a nice Victorian style (well sort of) room above the entrance, but we saw another room that was just a mix of bright yellow and red and made no sense at all.

The garden is lovely though. And it is a short ride from Bamburgh with its old castle. Only 5 minutes I think. The area is beautiful with plenty of spots for walking and enjoying the beach and coastline.
The owners are very nice and kind as well and there were some really nice fresh flowers in the room. Breakfast was good also!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank americagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a delightful, characterful, country mansion is Budle Hall. It is an opportunity to experience an aristocratic elegance and charm not often encountered nowadays! There was the warmest of welcomes and a friendliness which made for a really lovely four nights' stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable; there were fresh flowers and a generous hospitality tray with a selection of teas, coffee and a tin of biscuits which was replenished each day. Because of late booking we had to change rooms halfway through our stay but this was no trouble and only added to an experience of the grandeur of years ago! Breakfasts were taken in a magnificent dining room with the table elegantly laid with traditional china, and a choice of excellent full English fare, or wonderful Craster kippers! Crusty, wholesome loaves of bread were left for guests to cut and toast for themselves - this was very good but a sharper, serrated bread knife is needed, or a chain saw, as my husband joked! One of the cats, a friendly tabby called Imelda, added to our visit and I confess we admitted her to our room for a secret saucer of milk on a couple of evenings. The grounds of Budle Hall were beautiful and we were only sorry that the weather wasn't really suitable for sitting outside - the tables and chairs on the front lawn would be ideal for long summer evenings with a glass or two of wine. Perhaps next summer will be better - we shall look forward to a return to Budle hall!

Room Tip: Budle Hall is not like a modern hotel chain - so expect some slightly old fashioned plumbing and fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Budle Hall is a fantastically authentic Georgian country house a short drive from Bamburgh. We were impressed from the moment we drove up the winding wooded drive to arrive at the pillared entrance. The hall is surrounded by English countryside and the sheep grazing in the adjacent fields dotted with oak trees and the fact that the beach is a 5-10 min walk away just adds to the appeal of this B+B . There is masses of external space including a walled rose garden, a seating/ dining area where we enjoyed an al fresco dinner and even a huge trampoline in the lower vegetable garden. The exterior space continues inside the house with all of the public rooms- dining room, drawing room, hallway and feature staircase being large enough to generate an echo! Throughout the house the decor is charming with a myriad of huge oil paintings and oddities from exotic locations. The bedroom was similarly impressive in size with a huge comfortable bed, a feature fireplace and an en-suite bathroom big enough to easily accommodate our sons portacot. In fact you could have put another double bed in there easily! Our hosts Jo and David were very welcoming and relaxed and there were fresh flowers in our room. They were more than happy that we had our 2 year old son with us and we felt secure when he was off exploring around the house and gardens as two-yr olds do! Breakfast was extensive and amazing every day with fresh fruit from the garden on offer. We stayed for 3 nights and this is just what we needed as a family of 3 to relax and enjoy the delights of rural Northumberland. Thanks to Jo and David for providing a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billiusbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Budle Hall in May and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. David and Jo were very welcoming and even drove us to a local restaurant one evening. We were in the big bedroom which features on the website and found the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious each morning, including the kippers from Craster, bread from a local artisan baker and sausages from Bamburgh. We love cats and enjoyed seeing Imelda around the house. The location is fantastic, especially if you like the idea of walking along the beautiful coastline to Bamburgh. We'd like to return for another visit one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.8 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#4 of 8 in Bamburgh
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budle Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budle Hall

Address: Budle Hall Bamburgh, Bamburgh NE69 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range: $41 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy this gracious and beautiful home. Budle Hall is a family run B&B and is said to be one of Northumberland's loveliest small country houses. It is five minutes walk to beautiful sandy beaches which stretch for miles with views across to Holy Island. It is only one mile from Bamburgh with its historic castle and a good selection of places to eat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Budle Hall Hotel Bamburgh
Budle Hall Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing