We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As good as it gets.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Rear of Rose Cottage
Bamburgh Castle - Surrounding area
Kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_eandpeva...
Clavering, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as it gets.”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just had a wonderful weeks break. Rose cottage was perfect, so peaceful, very comfortable,clean and short of nothing for our stay. The location for visiting various places was great, nowhere was any distance. The local Apple Inn for dining is really good, don't go there if your not really hungry. With all the places to visit Chillingham Castle is a MUST we've never been anywhere so quirky only £8.50 each. One mishap,as we left the tea room the 200+hundred year old door fell off.
Back to Rose cottage, on our arrival there was milk in the fridge and shortbread for our delight. Just after we arrived Gabrielle who manages the cottages turned up to welcome us and to tell us that ifs there's anything we need contact her. Thank you for a wonderful stay & we will be back. P.s. We did have trouble coming to in the mornings so relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm very pleased that enjoyed Rose Cottage and i hope to see you back at Breaks For 2 again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimFyson
Cambridge UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A first site great but...”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

On arrival this seemed like an excellent cottage but then details began to let it down. Do the owners/managers of these properties ever actually stay in them? The bathroom was dirty - mold on the shower screen seal, a lot of hair in the plug hole but, more importantly, the shower at first had poor flow and was either cold or dangerously hot (a definite health and safety issue) but then after a couple of uses ceased to work at all. The blind in the bathroom was broken.

The kitchen was poorly equipped - there were not even two proper sized and matching wine glasses and the plates were infant school sized. The mattress on the bed needs replacing - it sagged at the sides and you tend to roll off it.

This could have been a five-star cottage but poor maintenance and small details have let it down badly.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
I’m sorry that your stay in Rose Cottage was not up to standard. As stated in my email to you yesterday, accompanied by a picture of the work carried out, unfortunately you were not in each time I knocked the door to ask if everything was ok, but I would’ve expected a phone call from you had there been issues that you would have liked addressed. I only found out about the shower not working this morning when I got your note left in the cottage. You will see from the reviews that Rose Cottage has already received, as recently as the beginning of this month, that what you encountered is not the normal experience of guests in that cottage. Again, my apologies for this.
A new shower was fitted immediately today, after you bringing our attention to the problem. This prompt action would have been what I would have suggested throughout your weeks stay had you let me know of the problem.
The other points that you raised will be given attention and rectified.

I can only express my sincere apologies once again, that you found the cottage not to a comfortable standard and wish you had given me the chance to rectify your findings before posting a negative review about the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Rose Cottage is a short car journey away from Bamburgh to the east and the A1 to the west, and therefore very convenient for touring the area. The cottage is spacious and comfortable, with everything needed for a quiet, restful holiday. It was lovely to come back to after a busy day out. Within walking distance is a bird hide alongside a wood and pond where we saw woodpeckers among many other birds. The cottage is convenient for taking a boat to the Farne Islands from Seahouses, to visit Holy Island, Alnwick and the beautiful beaches at the coast. We would definitely return to this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thanks for your review David. Such glowing reviews are brilliant to receive. I very much hope we'll see you again at Bradford Farm in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarAway55...
1 review
“A cosy & comfortable cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A well equipped, spotlessly clean & tastefully furnished cottage in an ideal location. Situated between the coast & the A1 it is well situated for visiting the many attractions in the area. The manager is helpful & friendly, making herself available if problems should arise. I would certainly recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Rose Cottage at Bradford Farm. I'm pleased you've enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal64
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful Holiday in Northumberland”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We are just coming to the end of our week at Rose Cottage. We arrived to a lovely warm cottage with milk and biscuits waiting for us. The living room and bedroom are good sized and the living room has a lovely wood burner in an enormous fireplace, and two very comfortable sofas. The kitchen has everything needed to cook a meal if eating in, the bathroom has a good shower over the bath. Central heating keeps the cottage very cosy. The bed is super comfy with a very good duvet.

The location is lovely and very quiet, I think we saw at most a dozen cars go by in the week we were here. It was nice to look out and see the many birds coming and going, as well as the stoat we saw every day going to and from the field across the road.

It's about the same distance from the cottage to Alnwick or Berwick both of which has everything you would need, and Belford is only a couple of miles away which has a Co-Op and a chip shop and a nice café. The farm shop at Belford is nice too, being early December they had some lovely Christmas gifts.

Bamburgh is only a couple of miles away with the castle overlooking the beach which goes on for miles, the beaches up here have to be the best (and quietest) in the country.

The weather while we were here was not good but we got out and about every day, we would have been quite happy to stay in though, it's a lovely comfortable cottage. We will definitely return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, and the lovely bed!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2015
Thank you Sally for a lovely review. I'm very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Rose Cottage. Sorry I was unable to catch you to say hello. I look forward to welcoming you back to Breaks For 2 again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxine-po...
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful time staying at Rose cottage, which was warm, cosy & well equipped and in a peaceful location. It was our first time in North Northumberland and it won't be our last. Beautiful countryside & wonderful beaches .Bamburgh, Holy Island, Berwick upon Tweed & Alnwick are worth a visit. Can recommend Neptune in Seahouses for fish & chips and The Ship Inn at Low Newton by Sea does a lovely crab sandwich.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your break in Rose Cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back to our farm in Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on trent
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing