We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque New Year”
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mizen Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Lincs
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque New Year”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My wife and I have visited the Mizen Head a number of times in the last couple of years. This time we chose to go for New Year. We were fortunate to book in sufficient time to get a room and a place for the Gala Dinner. The 5 Course Meal was fabulous in total 40 people sat down to enjoy the meal which we had all selected from the menus offered in advance. The atmosphere was just what we wanted for New Year, hotel guests and local people getting on like a house on fire. 2010 was seen in with sparkling wine and a small firework display. The celebrations went on well into the night, but not to the extent that it disturbed us. As the first of January dawned we had about 3 inches of snow which painted Bamburgh in a completly new look. Yoe shouldn't wish your life away but roll on 2011.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    65
    15
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
195
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

This hotel is superb in every way. A warm and friendly welcome is guaranteed. The bedroom was clean, spacious and very, very comfortable. The hotel serves a sensibly thought-out menu and we really enjoyed everything that we ate. It is the perfect place to stay for enjoying Bambugh and its surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pele9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Stayed at The Mizen Head hotel for 2 nights in Nov for £80 pp on B&B basis, as we wanted to see the small yet lovely village of Bamburgh and its castle and stunning beach area. The hotel has been furnished very tastefully and with modern tastes. The bedroom we had was clean, tidy and warm. Ken and Chris who own and run it live separately next door, so they keep a close eye on making sure that things run smoothly and they made us feel very welcome. The bar and dining area is cosy and the food is good. The hotel's location is situated close to the heart of the village and is only about 5 minutes walk from the castle itself. Ken and Chris got married there and highly recommend it too ! You can walk along the whole beach to the next town of Seahouses (about 6 miles there and back). Unfortunately the castle had closed for the winter so we couldn't view inside it, but the castle's scenery itself is still stunning.
A lovely short stay break. Worth a visit and stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaffafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having seen the previous review, I feel I must tell you that our experience at the Mizen Head Hotel was wonderful. Has AKP31 reviewed the wrong hotel, perhaps?

From the moment we walked in to the Mizen Head, we were treated like family by the friendly staff. Our room was modern and airy and the food was gorgeous - Fiona's fish and chips are second to none and absolutely huge!

It's a great place to stay for walkers - we had a great night's sleep and were given a hearty breakfast in the morning to set us on our way.

Bamburgh itself is a lovely little place - very quaint and unspoilt. The castle is tremendous and a visit to the village butcher for his Bamburgh Bangers is a must!

Having stayed in many hotels around the UK and the world, I would definitely rate the Mizen Head as one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahtaylor1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This hotel has obviously had money spent on it recently but unfortunately the result is quite bizarre. What a strange place!

First impressions are not helped by an upstairs window displaying cardboard boxes and other rubbish.

Our bedroom was quite nice apart from the fact that all the furniture was stacked in front of the bedroom window . The ensuite was reasonable apart from the rime on the shower unit.

Breakfast was served in the 'house room' from a strange collection of display units one of which sounded like an industrial machine and made conversation impossible while it was running. Seat covers on the chairs were badly stained.

In the evening we had to eat in the bar as we were told the diniing room (the house room) was closed. The bar area was untidy with a guitar and various other electrical equipment lying around..The pleasant young lady serving our food had a hacking cough which did nothing to improve our appetites.

In summary this is a strange place and could do with the attention of an interior designer and the staff to be trained in hospitality.

Fiona's fish suppers were excellent

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at the Mizen head Hotel, August Bank Holiday and have to say that the hotel is fantastic. Very friendly staff, Ken and Cris make you feel very welcome. The rooms are lovely and clean. We ate in the hotel both nights we stayed there and they were delicious. Would definately recommend having the braised lamb, it just melts in your mouth!! Breakfast is very filling and sets you up for the day. Bamburgh itself is lovely, we walked on the beach from Bamburgh to Seahouses, 3 miles which is a lovely walk. We were lucky with the weather, lovely and sunny. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I had read the reviews on Trip Advsior, mostly good a few negative ones. But really pleased that we booked as spent 2 lovely nights there. The room was excellent alot of care had gone into the furnishings, large shower room etc. The hall was very impressive with the staircase and stained glass window and feature stone walls. We ate in one night, and if there was one complaint....the portions were too generous, food excellent. Breakfast set us up for the day, sausages were locally made and you could tell the quality.
We would recommend it to anyone and would retrun again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avalonderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
4.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#3 of 8 in Bamburgh
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Property: Mizen Head Hotel
Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing