We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and clean hotel in Bamburgh”
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizen Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Stayed at The Mizen Head hotel for 2 nights in Nov for £80 pp on B&B basis, as we wanted to see the small yet lovely village of Bamburgh and its castle and stunning beach area. The hotel has been furnished very tastefully and with modern tastes. The bedroom we had was clean, tidy and warm. Ken and Chris who own and run it live separately next door, so they keep a close eye on making sure that things run smoothly and they made us feel very welcome. The bar and dining area is cosy and the food is good. The hotel's location is situated close to the heart of the village and is only about 5 minutes walk from the castle itself. Ken and Chris got married there and highly recommend it too ! You can walk along the whole beach to the next town of Seahouses (about 6 miles there and back). Unfortunately the castle had closed for the winter so we couldn't view inside it, but the castle's scenery itself is still stunning.
A lovely short stay break. Worth a visit and stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaffafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having seen the previous review, I feel I must tell you that our experience at the Mizen Head Hotel was wonderful. Has AKP31 reviewed the wrong hotel, perhaps?

From the moment we walked in to the Mizen Head, we were treated like family by the friendly staff. Our room was modern and airy and the food was gorgeous - Fiona's fish and chips are second to none and absolutely huge!

It's a great place to stay for walkers - we had a great night's sleep and were given a hearty breakfast in the morning to set us on our way.

Bamburgh itself is a lovely little place - very quaint and unspoilt. The castle is tremendous and a visit to the village butcher for his Bamburgh Bangers is a must!

Having stayed in many hotels around the UK and the world, I would definitely rate the Mizen Head as one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahtaylor1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This hotel has obviously had money spent on it recently but unfortunately the result is quite bizarre. What a strange place!

First impressions are not helped by an upstairs window displaying cardboard boxes and other rubbish.

Our bedroom was quite nice apart from the fact that all the furniture was stacked in front of the bedroom window . The ensuite was reasonable apart from the rime on the shower unit.

Breakfast was served in the 'house room' from a strange collection of display units one of which sounded like an industrial machine and made conversation impossible while it was running. Seat covers on the chairs were badly stained.

In the evening we had to eat in the bar as we were told the diniing room (the house room) was closed. The bar area was untidy with a guitar and various other electrical equipment lying around..The pleasant young lady serving our food had a hacking cough which did nothing to improve our appetites.

In summary this is a strange place and could do with the attention of an interior designer and the staff to be trained in hospitality.

Fiona's fish suppers were excellent

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at the Mizen head Hotel, August Bank Holiday and have to say that the hotel is fantastic. Very friendly staff, Ken and Cris make you feel very welcome. The rooms are lovely and clean. We ate in the hotel both nights we stayed there and they were delicious. Would definately recommend having the braised lamb, it just melts in your mouth!! Breakfast is very filling and sets you up for the day. Bamburgh itself is lovely, we walked on the beach from Bamburgh to Seahouses, 3 miles which is a lovely walk. We were lucky with the weather, lovely and sunny. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I had read the reviews on Trip Advsior, mostly good a few negative ones. But really pleased that we booked as spent 2 lovely nights there. The room was excellent alot of care had gone into the furnishings, large shower room etc. The hall was very impressive with the staircase and stained glass window and feature stone walls. We ate in one night, and if there was one complaint....the portions were too generous, food excellent. Breakfast set us up for the day, sausages were locally made and you could tell the quality.
We would recommend it to anyone and would retrun again

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avalonderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Having stayed at The Mizen Head before we knew it was just the place to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday & we weren't wrong. Cris & Ken could not do enough for us to make the weekend special, they are very 'hands on' owners and this makes all the difference. All our friends were delighted with their rooms & the service & they all loved the pizzas ! Arranging for us to eat in the separate dining room really added to the party atmosphere, as did the cake, which Cris kindly arranged. The food was great, especailly the fish & chips. Ken & friends music night entertainment in the bar finished the evening off perfectly. This is a great hotel in a wonderful place & we will no doubt return time & again. The hotel is one of the cleanest I've ever stayed in, the rooms are to a very high standard & the staff are friendly & helpful, what more could you want ? Also must mention the fact that this is a really dog friendly hotel which is an extra benefit for those of us who prefer to holiday with our four legged as well as two legged friends. Another big plus is the car park as parking in Bamburgh at busy times is not easy ! Shame about the weather but you can't have everything !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I went to stay at the Mizen Head in Bamburgh earlier this month for a weekend visit.

We found the Mizen Head to be the perfect base for a stay in Northumberland - 30 minutes from Alnwick, an hour from Newcastle and a stone's throw from the stunning Bamburgh Castle and coastline.

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by the hotel manager who we found to be very friendly without being intrusive. We arrived late on the Saturday afternoon having driven up from Leeds so decided to have a quick nap before dinner. The room was lovely - modern yet comfortable - and the bed was divine!

We decided to eat in the hotel bar. I had a gorgeous pizza with local cheese and smoked salmon and my husband had the fish and chips, which were huge!

A little later in the evening, the manager and his friend had a kind of open mic night - really relaxed guitar-playing and singing - which provided a great atmosphere in the bar.

The manager's wife told me the hotel had been recently renovated. Like the rooms, the bar and reception areas are modern yet full of all the character you would expect in such a historic little part of the world.

Breakfast in the morning was just what we expected - a selection of hot and cold food. My husband had a cooked breakfast whereas I opted for cereal and coffee. The breakfast room was light and airy and the serving staff were cheery.

All in all, I couldn't fault this hotel and we will definitely be returning, hopefully before the year is out for a winter break.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
1.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
14.4 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mizen Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing