We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
233
72
19
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
72
19
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodscallopsrestaurant with roomslemon solecomfortable surroundingsexcellent menuwine listcooked to perfectiondressing tablefantastic foodmain coursecomfortable bedlovely hotelsmall hotelgreat weekendshower roomwaiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 351 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ace, food totally amazing, Alex the manager very helpful and knowledgeable. Loved it. Stayed wed left n drove down south then came back n stayed Friday. Will defo b back. Location n beach beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We dropped by on speck as stayed here a few years ago. As we read the menu outside, we relished that something had changed. Indeed, the hotel changed hands a couple of years ago. We were early and were shown into the small cocktail bar to have a drink while we ordered our food.
They offer an extensive seafood menu, all locally caught or sourced. The half lobster starter was lovely as was the crab and apple cocktail. i expected it to be mainly apple, used to bulk out the crab, but that wasnt the case. A minor issue though, the seasoning could have been better. The lobster main course was a delight as was the halibut. The fish is the star of the show but is tastefully accompanied by a beautifully presented selection of freshly cooked potatoes and vegetables. We found the staff to be casually attentive. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank timeoutgalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enjoyed just one night at the Mizen Head Hotel in Bamburgh; from entry to departure, friendly staff and excellent welcome. Dinner was outstanding and the rooms are lovely, will be back.
I especially enjoyed the extra touches in the room, little love hearts on the wardrobe in the same material as the curtains, cushions. Lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LadyWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three nights. It is a superb fish restaurant with six hotel rooms. There is also a small bar where breakfast is served. Breakfast was very tasty and service was of a high standard. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. We were in room 5, which is a superior room. It is lovely but the shower room and toilet are in separate rooms (not very hygienic!). The WC is so small that it could cause difficulty to some. The shower room is just adequate but again could be a problem to some. We did slightly feel that the restaurant was the main concern and the rooms came a close second. Our stay was very enjoyable though and we can certainly recommend this Restaurant/Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smithee2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Out for a lovely Romantic meal everything from walking in to the Mizen and being greeted by the lovely staff who could not do enough to make our time there enjoyable. I was very impressed with everything the food was lovely until we discovered a "FREE BIG BLACK FLY IN OUR LOBSTER" obviously we didn't order this. Ronnie who apparently is the owner came over and was arrogantly rude to my partner at first saying it had fell in as the windows were open. Then he accused him of putting the fly in his dinner stipulating he had waited till he had nearly eaten most of it and this man even cleared my plate away and I had not finished. He didn't even apologise and his attitude was arrogant and petty. Staff were very apologetic to us but the Manager and Son used threating behaviour towards my partner as we were leaving which terrified me and he had paid the bill obviously minus the Lobster and Fly. So if you like Free flies in your food and an arrogant rude unapologetic owner please feel free to go eat here as I'm sure you would enjoy it "NOT"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 9Becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews