We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Bailey's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 14 Restaurants in Bamburgh
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bailey’s Bar & Restaurant was launched in February 2012 by Chris Bowron (General Manager) and Harry Bailie (Executive Head Chef). After the amazing success of their first restaurant in County Durham that opened in April 2010, owners STR Enterprises decided to embark on launching the same ethos in their Flagship hotel the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh. Bailey’s Bar & Restaurant talented kitchen brigade use only the finest locally sourced produce that Northumberland has to offer. Our seasonal menu offering amazing value for money with relaxed yet professional service that is second to none. We have an extensive selection of wines that have been carefully chosen to complement every dish on our menu. After 2 months of opening in April 2012 we were Awarded an AA Rosette from the. Quote from the AA ‘’These restaurants achieve standards that stand out in their local area. They serve food prepared with care, understanding and skill, using good quality ingredients. The same expectations apply to hotel restaurants, where guests can eat in with confidence and a sense of anticipation’’.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Victoria Hotel eating in Bailey's Bar & Restaurant on the evening and for breakfast. The food is of an extremely high quality and great value for money. For the starter I had a walnut pear and goats cheese salad. Full of flavour and beatifully presented. For the main course I had the dressed crab. Again absolutely delicious. There was a great choice of food on the menu to please everyone in fact it took me ages to decide which choice to go for. The setting is lovely and the staff were extremely helpful. Cant wait to go back. (And if you do stay one of the best English breakfasts Ive had!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All bread and chips!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The menu looks and sounds great, but you get lots of bread and chips to fill up on, loads of lettuce and very little else

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent fish and salad,terrible chips.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pleasant surroundings and staff,excellent fish,but the chips for both of us were (almost literally),black,a greasy mush which should never have been served to anyone.When asked if everything satisfactory,we commented on the chips,only to be told it was a bad batch of potatoes!Incidentally,we were charged full price for our meal.Next day we ate elsewhere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank doreen patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good food in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

the food was good and the restaurant able to cope with special dietary requests. pleasant eating area and bar area accomodating all age range comfortablly

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KandRDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday in Bamburgh.
One of the highlights of our visits is usually the fantastic food at the Victoria. Knowing that this year we were going in the peak season summer holidays I booked a table in advance, by phone, for our final night. How disappointing! First when we arrived we were completely ignored, in fairness it was dead on 6pm so the restuarant had only just opened but even so we were left standing around for at least 5 minutes whilst members of staff walked past oblivious to our presence! Then having got the attention of a waitress they had no trace of our booking, but found us a table, so no harm done. The menu seems to have been completely revamped, and looked promising, but the meals when they came were quite small and not worth the high end prices charged (my bass, came in a sea of onions, despite promising summer vegatables - those I failed to spot! The childrens menus was even worse - standard fare of chicken nuggets etc. for hugely inflated prices. Would we visit again? Maybe, but our expectations would be much lower and I think we'd prefer to eat at the new restuarant at The Castle Hotel, just down the road, the food there was superb!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAL0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Bailey's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing