We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Castle, outstanding location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamburgh Castle

Bamburgh Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.85*
and up
Bamburgh Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The King of Castles, a fortification has dominated this site since Anglo-Saxon times when it was the capital of the kingdom of Northumbria. The current structure with Keep, curtain walls, towers and ramparts dates from the 1500's to the Victorian restructuring of Lord Armstrong. There are fourteen rooms open to the public including the spectacular Kings Hall, with over 3000 items of artwork, furniture, china and porcelain. The separate Armstrong and Aviation Artifacts museum gives visitors a glimpse into the creativity and industrial genius of Lord Armstrong. With a look at the aviation legacy created by his company after his death.Cafeteria with great, fresh food and wander around the battlements complete a great day ou.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent Castle, outstanding location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The location of the castle is absolutely magnificent, with views over the dunes and out to The Farnes. The restoration if the castle by Lord Armstrong is amazing, a shame he did not have long to enjoy it. Lots of marvellous buildings to view with interesting artifacts. Plus a museum of aircraft and engineering bits. This included an engine from a German WW2 plane shot down 2 miles from home - that we never knew about.

Well worth a visit - we spent 3 hours there. Excellent, friendly and informative guides.

Helpful?
Thank 1hugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburgh_Castle, Manager at Bamburgh Castle, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review pleased you enjoyed your visit and discovered the 'wrecked' plane. I will pass on your compliments to the staff.

Cheers

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    672
    171
    56
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our December Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Recently had our wedding here and it could not have been better. We couldnt have thought of a better place to get married. Would like to thank Chris for all his help in the build up to the wedding and on the big day itself.
If you are thinking of getting married in Northumberland, give the castle a visit. It is a very special place and very reasonably priced.
Once again thankyou very much Tom Cara, Heath and Jackson Hirst

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburgh_Castle, Manager at Bamburgh Castle, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
And what a brilliant day it was, thanks for the very kind words, we enjoyed it too.

Cheers

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and lovely village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Bamburgh is a gorgeous spot with lots to do - go to the beach which is stunning, visit the Castle - ditto, or have something to eat or drink and sit in the sun with an ice cream. Despite being very popular the beach is huge and you can get away from it all.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GKMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburgh_Castle, Manager at Bamburgh Castle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review for the village, we agree loads to do with lots of it for free and what you pay for is superb!

Cheers

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well-maintained and v interesting audio tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit to the castle. We wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if we hadnt purchased the audio tour - a bargain at £1- which helped us note items of interest and told us a lot about the history of the buildings and its benefactors. I'm not normally a big fan of castles that are so well kept- I like mine a little bit more rustic and run down - but this place was really good and its brilliant that you have access to so much of it considering its still lived in. It's also nice that not everything is behind glass and out of reach, although some things say please don't touch there is plenty that doesn't and they are happy for you to take photos. Lawns and pathways are immaculate and wellkept. Well worth a visit for the amazing views and rich history. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and obviously genuinely love what they do. Shop had an extensive range of local goods, souvenirs and books at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank lmcontrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburgh_Castle, Manager at Bamburgh Castle, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
What a fantastic review to end the year on thank you. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you found the audio so interesting. We do try to me more 'home like' and less museum like with lots of don't touch notices it's a fine balance though. I will pass on your comments to the staff, thanks you for them.

Cheers

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We followed the coastal route and ended at Bamburgh. As it was Boxing Day very little was open but we enjoyed the walk through the dunes to the beach and the great views both of the castle and the Farne Islands

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamburgh_Castle, Manager at Bamburgh Castle, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Sorry we were closed but it's definitely worth coming back in the summer, have a paddle over to the Farnes, will join you if I'm off.

Cheers

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamburgh Castle also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Holy Island, Northumberland
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Bamburgh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing