We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room in a poor hotel”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed for two nights B&B with one evening meal £350. What a mistake we made not reading trip advisor before going! Room 42 was out of this world-no heating on first night and weak water pressure being its only faults. The rest of the hotel needs a good clean and kick up the b*** Staff are disinterested and the grumpiest people especially the breakfast staff. We had the cheek to ask for a glass of water this morning! The breakfast is of the 'service station' variety and very unimaginative. We were told by the assistant manager there was an alternative menu but were never offered this or indeed saw anyone else having this option. Dinner at night was overpriced and very poor for vegetarians and we thought we'd gone back in time-all we needed was a sign pointing us out going by the staffs reactions to us'You're the vegetarians!' We were told the Manager was on holiday-hope he wasn't staying in The Victoria as he'd be having an awful time! We'd recommend the room in a heart beat but the rest NO WAY!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 974 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

Well, that's it really, isn't it. This formerly fine hotel has gone down lots since we last stayed about 9 years ago. The bar's great, mind; the young woman on reception was nice and friendly; um, er, the room was clean; don't ask about the "Brasserie", just take a picnic or eat somewhere else. Oh, and it's overpriced.

It's a real shame, as Bamburgh has everything going for it. I can't tick "Great food/wine" - shame there's not a "Crap food" or "Irrationally Stroppy and Impolite Hotel Manager" option.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rudyrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Victoria over the August bank holiday weekend. On booking in, the 'welcome' was muted to say the least. Our room had a problem with the sink taps; the strange man on Reception denied there was any problem and did nothing about it. The room was ok, apart from this, but it does seem that they think a bit of designer wallpaper and a few cushions will be enough to justify their £140 a night charge for bed and breakfast.
Dinner was disappointing - little locally sourced food on the menu, and the most disgusting sherry trifle I have ever had the misfortune to order - tinned custard and squirty cream.
Breakfast was an equal let down - brown and white sliced bread and a toaster is not what you expect for £140 a night for two. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is poor value for money, the food is disappointing and the service unhelpful. We stayed at the Lord Crewe along the village green after our night at the Victoria. It is much better value, the breakfast was better, and it costs £50 a night less!

Why do the management of the Victoria Hotel not read these reviews and do something to improve the quality of their offering?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishladyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were given Room 10 on arrival, which we were told was a superior room. It would have cost £140 per night, but we were offered it for £120 over the phone. We were extremely disappointed as it hadn't been refurbished. The wallpaper was patched, the skirting boards were chipped, the digital alarm clock looked as though it had been in a smoker's room for the last twenty years, it was dark, and although it had lots of floor space, it had an oppressive atmosphere. I asked to be moved to another room, and if one hadn't have been available we would have left. We were moved to room 41 (in the new extension, right at the top of the building) and it couldn't have been more different. It was contemporary and stylish. I've stayed in less luxurious 5* boutique hotels! The view was fantastic too. The full English breakfast which was included in the price was a bonus. We had a wonderful time and would most certainly stay there again - not room 10 though!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahkay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I traveled here with my Mum to get away for a few days. Parking was great. You could park in the hotel car park a few yards from the hotel or park at the front of the hotel (spaces permitting).

We were welcomed and given our key to room 6 (this was a twin room and a bit of a small and dark room with the noise from some sort of cooling system right outside the window. It had n view and we did not want to stay in this for 4 nights.)

We went to the reception and asked to be changed. They only had a double so we took it! When we walked in we were amazed. It was room 41 and it was massive with 2 plush suede chairs, a leather chair, a big dresser, walk in wardrobe, plenty of draws and a big warm bathroom with huge shower! The bed was 4 poster and soooo comfy. The pillows were lush and the view was great. We could see the sea and all the little cottages.

The staff were friendly, the hotel food was out of this world and the village was gorgeous! it is perfect for visiting all the other local attractions such as Holy Island, Seahouses etc...

The beach is stunning and clean. get there early and you might just be the first person the beach! The castle is magnificent. Well worth a visit to the hotel and the village!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Recommend the family room (room 27) which is on the top floor of the hotel with views of village green. Two excellent big cumfy sofa beds for our boys. Clean and well equipped.

Bar meal was very good in the evening. Breakfast was adequate.

Location is excellent. Bamburgh really is a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autobiography88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I was apprehensive when I read the negative reviews about The Victoria Hotel but decided to give it a go anyway. I am very glad I did. We arrived to find the hotel at the very centre of the village, in an excellent situation and with plenty of parking, either on the road or in the hotel carpark.

Bamburgh is lovely, small but charming with quite a bit to see, for its size. The superb beach is an easy stroll from the hotel. The Grace Darling Museum, Memorial and grave are just down the road and there are some decent small shops too.

The hotel Brasserie is super, with many tasty dishes on offer. The bar menu was also good and there are plenty of eating options in Bamburgh and surrounding area. The Treehouse restaurant at Alnwick was an interesting setting with very tasty food.....and the castle and gardens were worth a visit.

We found the staff at the Victoria very pleasant and helpful, with some very friendly, chatty and warm folk amongst them. We stayed for 8 nights and were very happy with the service and attitude of those in charge. Our request for non-obvious breakfast choices was accommodated in a very friendly manner.

Our room was clean and smart with a very decent wall-mounted flat-screen telly, big bathtowels, plenty of hot water and a nice brand of toiletries. The bars can be boistrous when the footie is going well but there are plenty of rooms away from the hubbub.

If I was staying again, I'd ask for a castle-view room as I'd have loved to see the super sunrises over Bamburgh Castle.

This is not a corporate, ultra posh, high tech hotel but, if you need a cosy, family hotel with great food, a nice atmosphere and some really lovely, chatty people, this will do you nicely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
215 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
23.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
386 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: $53 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing