We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$168
$140
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick upon Tweed)
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick upon Tweed)(Great Value!)
$77
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveler rating
353
375
170
91
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
375
170
91
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle view roomsuperior roomfour poster bedjacuzzi bathbar areadog friendly hotellovely hotelevening mealsalmonsunday lunchresidents loungeone night staycomfy bedboth nightspublic areasfull englishkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
990 - 995 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I was apprehensive when I read the negative reviews about The Victoria Hotel but decided to give it a go anyway. I am very glad I did. We arrived to find the hotel at the very centre of the village, in an excellent situation and with plenty of parking, either on the road or in the hotel carpark.

Bamburgh is lovely, small but charming with quite a bit to see, for its size. The superb beach is an easy stroll from the hotel. The Grace Darling Museum, Memorial and grave are just down the road and there are some decent small shops too.

The hotel Brasserie is super, with many tasty dishes on offer. The bar menu was also good and there are plenty of eating options in Bamburgh and surrounding area. The Treehouse restaurant at Alnwick was an interesting setting with very tasty food.....and the castle and gardens were worth a visit.

We found the staff at the Victoria very pleasant and helpful, with some very friendly, chatty and warm folk amongst them. We stayed for 8 nights and were very happy with the service and attitude of those in charge. Our request for non-obvious breakfast choices was accommodated in a very friendly manner.

Our room was clean and smart with a very decent wall-mounted flat-screen telly, big bathtowels, plenty of hot water and a nice brand of toiletries. The bars can be boistrous when the footie is going well but there are plenty of rooms away from the hubbub.

If I was staying again, I'd ask for a castle-view room as I'd have loved to see the super sunrises over Bamburgh Castle.

This is not a corporate, ultra posh, high tech hotel but, if you need a cosy, family hotel with great food, a nice atmosphere and some really lovely, chatty people, this will do you nicely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed at the Victoria Hotel for 12 nights and was very happy with the experience. The bed was comfortable, the en-suite bath was large with wonderful oversized towels. The wi-fi and ATM were additional conveniences. THe staff were helpful and friendly. I stayed at another local hotel for 2 nights prior to the Victoria Hotel, and the Victoria was definitely the better value and most comfortable setting for a single female traveller. I will stay there again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkolehmainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

the service was great food good staff good.
room 14 & 16 I would highly recomend
room 24 twin bit small but very clean
location perfect for quiet weeked
the public bar loud needs closing 12pm to genral public

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigoak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were prepared to be disappointed with the Victoria, having moved on from a truly superb hotel further south, but we weren't. Our three-night stay was thoroughly enjoyable.
Having selected the Victoria for it's dog-friendliness, we found our huge room was very clean and comfortable on arrival, and it was kept clean during our stay, too.
On 2 of our 3 nights we ate in the restaurant and had no complaints about the food, certainly not about its value having enjoyed the '2 x (good) steaks + 1 bottle of wine' deal on our last night. The tuna steak I had on the first night was seared to perfection - not often the case. The only minor complain we'd have about any of the food was that the hot food at the buffet breakfast tended to dry out a bit if you weren't there at the start of the serving.
We spent some enjoyable time in the bar where the selection of wines was perfectly adequate and also good value. It was slightly disappointing that the local ale wasn't fit during our stay, but, hey! what would you expect after a week of sultry, north-eastern weather. A good mixture of locals, residents and passing trade made for some interesting conversation and when that ran out, there was always Wimbledon on the telly. The staff were both friendly and efficient at all times.
All in all, an experience to be repeated - we'll be back (if you'll put up with the sandy black labrador again - sorry!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The important point to note is that room 16 is over the bar,which has an entrance below the windows.This results in extended annoyance from the talk and fumes of the smokers who gather there.The closing time of the bar is indefinite-I was told "about 11.45" ,and there appears to be no policy to remove the users if they are thought to be hotel residents.I was kept awake until 0100.
The room itself is of fair standard,but looks better in the brochure than it proves in practical use.The four poster bed is rather soft,and its sheets are not quite large enough for the mattress. On one side it is crowded by a cheap looking single bed which also spoils the coordinated decorations.The interior designer likes basketwork,but the armchairs are especially uncomfortable.There is a good desk chair,but the desk is unusable owing to the dim lighting.The two large windows have jammed upper sashes,and the lower ones need the usual wedges of paper to stop them rattling in the wind.
The bathroom is good ,with a long enamelled steel bath which has a choice of proper individual taps and a separate shower mixer.The designer has left his mark here in the form of matt dark brown paint on the woodwork,which is chipping to let the white show through.
We had a bar lunch,with a good choice and quick service.For dinner,the restaurant has a Mediterraneam type tiled floor with metal framed bare wood topped tables,under a large skylight which leaks a little in heavy rain.An extension has a rather low ceiling,tartan carpet floor and conventional tables-this was used for a coach party.The standard of service is very good.There are about 7 choices of main course and starter,of which 4 will be fish or vegetarian.It is NOT nouvelle cuisine,and vegetables can be requested.
The breakfast is a DIY buffet,but the plate warmer provides really hot plates,the toasters work well,and the bacon/sausage/mushrooms etc. are all good quality.
The reception staff were helpful and appeared to have good local knowledge.

This is a bar/restaurant with accommodation,not a country hotel,as some other reviewers seem to imply. It is on a busy road corner where coaches struggle to turn between the parked cars,and occasionaly nudge one and set its alarm off.If you are not looking for a tranquil setting,and avoid the room over the bar,it is of a reasonable standard,and the staff certainly seem to try hard.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews