We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and excellent location!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights, one prior to our wedding and the night if the wedding. We booked approximately 30 rooms here for our guests and ourselves. From the outset the staff were helpful and attentive to our needs.

On the evening prior to the wedding the hotel arranged a set menu dinner for all of us which was great as it meant that our guests could pick their options prior to arrival. Chris the restaurant manager was a lovely guy and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Also, Lindsay on reception was very helful and was always willing to help even providing us with two chairs as our wedding venue was short.


The rooms themselves were spacious and the castle view room was beautiful! I think I can speak for myself and all my wedding guests and can say that we throughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dananddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 998 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

At £55 for B&B in the middle of August, this hotel was great value for money. Clean room (decor a bit dated) and a good selection at breakfast with friendly staff. Would not hesitate in returning if in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Could not fault the hotel once we managed to book in. We arrived @ 14:30 & parked the car in the car park 100 yards away. After struggling to the hotel over a gravel drive, with the cases we arrived at the Reception. There was no one on duty & despite ringing the bell several times no one appeared. I eventually asked a very busy barmaid to help & she eventually found someone. To say he was less than helpful was an understatement. He curtly advised us that check in was not until 3pm & did not bother to investigate if our room was ready. We asked if we could leave our cases in the office but he refused saying we could leave them by the front door but he couldn't guarantee their safety. We had a drink & eventually booked in. All other staff were helpful & friendly. If you have the standard room be aware that there is non Wi-Fi in your room. Food at evening meal & breakfast were excellent & well served.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel not in the courtyard where service vehicles pass by your room all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed in room 17 noise from kitchen ventilator came on 7.15 in morning dingy dark room only one small opening window which we had to shut for the noise terrible outlook on to roof.
Dark corridors stained carpets.
Breakfast we had to return cold kippers not cooked properly and next day poached eggs cold.
To many staff walking around not doing much.
Only saving grace the evening meal in the bar was o.k.
We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Not room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank peter186330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Victoria for several years with our dog.
Always experience a warm welcome and a warm and cosy bedroom.
Although areas need a bit of a facelift we enjoyed its charm and character yet again after our stay in August although
We noticed several changes on our recent visit.
We only recognised two members of previous staff, a few days before our stay we called in for lunch with several members of our family who haven't been to Bamburgh before and I must admit was surprised by the emptiness of the lounge area and non existent staff.. Such a change from all our recent visits.
I really hope this hotel picks up because it holds so many happy memories for us.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 580422Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Will not be staying again even tho I have been coming here for more than 10 years.
Standards have been erratic in the past couple of years and have recently taken a nosedive.
I don't know why this has happened but I suspect the management has been under a lot of stress which has been communicated to the staff with the result that everyone is either over stressed or has given up caring.

I recently had reason to complain and was spoken to very rudely and was made to feel very uncomfortable.

There are many issues with the decor, the facilities and the food. These are rectifiable but with energy, effort and a real desire to serve the guests really well.
That unfortunately doesn't seem likely to happen with the current management in place.

If you have to stay in Bamburgh try The Lord Crewe, the Mizen Head or the other little place round the corner.
There are great places in Seahouses and Embleton.

The Victoria has been a great hotel, always rather expensive, but now no longer worth the price.

I sincerely hope there is a change of heart (or personnel if necessary) in the management.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank quaatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

First impressions are good with a pleasant lobby and bar. However, venturing up to the room things quickly deteriorate. A murky corridor and stained carpet lead the way to our rather poky and dated room. The furnishings and bathroom fittings are in dire need of an update. The plumbing in our room also left a little to be desired - my morning shower was interspersed with spouts of steaming hot water. Luckily, the shower was big enough to allow for a rapid escape when necessary. There was also no WiFi available in the room, and although it was available in the lobby, it was painfully slow. The staff were friendly but rather absent. We decided not to eat in the restaurant for dinner, having seen other reviews. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiriestPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
23 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: $99 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing