We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by recent negative reviews.”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Victoria back in February but haven't got round to write about our experience until now.
We stayed in a superior room at the front with a good open aspect, views across to the church and beyond.
The room was clean and airy, the dark painted bathroom may not be to everyone's taste, but we quite liked it.
Nice towels and selection of toiletries provided.
The menu was a little limited but was seasonal and well prepared, the bar was well stocked and comfortable.
Our recollection was that the staff were helpful, friendly attentive to our needs.
The prices reflect the availability of accommodation in this beautiful seaside village and we felt them to be reasonable.
It may not be our first choice of hotels in the village, but it certainly wasn't a disappointment to stay there.

Room Tip: Superior or Castle View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbit64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our room was nothing like pictures on web site - for £95 night expected better.Old shabby & worn room with very noisy smelly extractor fan outside our window. Left the window open to come back to room stinking of greasy cooking.The shower should be condemned and chair at dressing table a health & safety issue. Reported these things on leaving to be told we could have been changed to another room with better shower - so why are they using room 4 then????. Many stairs & landings a problem if you've got walking disabilities (no lifts).Good thing my asthma at a good level - it can be triggered by pets of which there were many dogs in the hotel.
Used the restaurant both evenings, which we found food to be excellent & breakfasts good & staff in there very friendly & helpful
But the hotel for £95 per room is a BIG NO NO NO NO

Room Tip: DONT BE PUT IN room 4 or ones even around that number. Kitchen extractor a big big problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Not impressed with the Victoria at all unfortunately. The whole place needs a face lift and the staff are extremely rude and will do their best to ignore you in the bar to finish their conversations. The hotel is very expensive also and not worth the money you pay. Could also do with a better outdoor area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AmyBryMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have just returned from a weekend at The Victoria in Bamburgh. The room was lovely but the staff could have made a bit more effort. I phoned from room for an ice bucket and was told it would cost £5! The breakfasts were disappointing and when we checked out we werent asked if we had enjoyed our stay. I know its really only niggly things but just a little effort and it would be lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkrx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed overnight visiting area to go to wedding, nice family atmosphere welcoming staff and good rooms. We stayed Bed & Breakfast and enjoyed the whole experience. Well done.
p.s.not pool or fitness centre so disregard those ratings

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Three night break on DBB terms with a superior room . Room huge and a little tired with cranky wardrobe door but acceptably clean. Bathroom fine with shower over bath and brightest mirror lights I have ever seen.Shower screen seal where meets bath did need cleaning or replacing. Bed had frame of 4 poster but no drapes or canopy. But it was comfortable.
Breakfasts were good served by friendly and helpful staff.Evening meals OK from the shortish menu with the steaks recommended,again served by attentive staff with a pleasant degree of informality.
Dogs seem to be particularly welcome,in bedrooms and the dining area of the bar not sure how this merits star accolades.
stay again? Possibly. the deal was more than satisfactory but like so many places you ultimately get what you pay for.
Tip,if you park at the front of the hotel don't park under the trees,the birds are particularly messy..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgeman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in bamburgh over the last weekend in March. The two evenings we stayed we made our way to the Victoria for our evening meals, the main pull being that it is dog friendly with dogs being allowed in the bar area. On each night the food was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome with our dog who is a large dalmatian. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hopey2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,312 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
394 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
18.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing