We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be so good with a bit more attention to detail”
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booking the Victoria was a problem as the hotel had closed for a short time for refurbishment. When I finally managed to make contact I was assured that all building work had been completed. Not so, as on arrival the windows of the public rooms were being painted and as a result were left open to allow the paint to dry. The one lovely open fire was also causing problems setting the fire alarms off, it was subsequently extinguished. However the free upgrade to the lovely room 14 was a bonus. The bed was a deliciously comfortable modern and ugly four poster and for me, who drew the short straw, it meant an obstructed view of the TV, as one of the wretched posts blocked my view. Breakfasts were good but the evening meal menu was pretentious and overpriced. Both main meals were poor with one under seasoned and the other very salty. The evening meals at the next door Castle Hotel were much better fare, hearty meat pies and cheerful service. Staff were both plentiful in number and happy although we felt we had intruded on their social life as they played darts, pool and gathered in large groups to chat together; it was as if we had interrupted their social life and that guests were, perhaps, the least of their concerns and of little relevance to them. The Victoria could be a lovely place to stay but management need to give more attention to detail; customer care, staff discipline and training.

Room Tip: Room 14 is lovely but the view of the TV is blocked by an ugley four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilReed186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 980 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently had our wedding in Bamburgh. After a great ceremony in the castle we had our reception in the Victoria Hotel. Myself and my wife would both like to say a massive thank you to Laura and all the staff at the Victoria for making the day and days leading up to it so special. All the food was excellent and every member of staff couldn’t have been more helpful. All our family, friends and dog enjoyed there stay. With a lot saying they'll come again soon.

Once again a massive thank you and we hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Firstly, I would like to say thank you to you for taking the time to write such lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We were delighted that you chose The Victoria Hotel as your venue for your special day. It was a pleasure to meet you both and great to work so closely with you in terms of the planning in the months leading up to your special day. The day itself, the speeches, the band and evening reception have been talked about amongst the staff as a day they won't forget as it all went so smoothly. I really hope to see you all again really soon and once again a huge thank you for choosing The Victoria Hotel as your wedding venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Took a last minute weekend break with our dog. The Victoria's location on the Northumbria coast, the great reception for our dog, the tasty food and drink makes the Victoria a perfect base for exploring the area. One day we walked along the beach to Seahouses, had a couple of drinks in the Schooner Inn and returned to Bamburgh on the bus.

We stayed on a Winter Break and found it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_O_N_Y__M61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay at The Vicoria Hotel. We always aim to deliver value for money and I am delighted that you found this to be the case. We are very popular with dog owners, both residents and non residents, and are always very welcoming with dogs providing they have well behaved owners!!
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Whilst staying at Seahouses , we made the walk to Bamburgh and had lunch and the Victoria Hotel a couple of times and we were happy to see they allowed dogs in some area's the food was fantastic , espcially the burger and the steak sandwich. I would reccomed the food to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel, I am please to hear ou enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope to see you soon and tell all your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

9 of us took a visit to Bamburgh on a wet and windy Sunday. We decided to go to the Victoria first and then on to the other pubs in the village. As we had a dog with us unfortunately no other pubs allowed us in so we stopped in the Victoria for longer than planned! The bar staff were very friendly, good local beer, the food menu looked great and good value. There was plenty of space and everything was very clean. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel, it's a pleaure to hear your comments , We hope to welsome you all back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh was the first port of call on a week long trip touring NE England and Scotland - unfortunately this gave us many establishments to compare the Victoria with...

Stayed here for two nights Sat/Sun on "special" rate (£178 including one dinner)

On viewing the room on arrival - I asked if any other rooms were available I was told that the hotel was fully booked.
It does therefore pose the question - were all the other rooms on the "special" rate to the same standard? (Noisy - nil view - small)

Looking at the photo gallery on the hotel website - one would be forgiven for thinking that we stayed in a completely different hotel!

Many guests appeared to leave on the Sunday morning and the hotel was much quieter on Sunday - had they stayed for only one night?


GOOD POINTS
Food was quite tasty
Warm enough in hotel
Plenty of sitting room in the hotel on Sunday
Near to Lord Crewe and Castle Hotel


BAD POINTS
No staff in reception on arrival - had to go searching!
Bed,breakfast and Dinner doesn't mean you can eat anything - we were told that £45 would be allocated towards the dinner cost - severely limits the choice!
Dust in bedroom - headboard filthy!
Bed far too big for the room - impossible to walk around with TV table in corner
No correct duvet cover - flat sheet below and above allowed duvet to come in contact with your skin - yuk!
Glasses and water jug(!) dirty in restaurant
Mirrors dirty in restaurant - very obvious!
Food smells in the upstairs corridors
Fan in the bathroom unbelievably noisy
Mirror in bathroom only half cleaned
Bedroom walls appear to have no sound insulation
Bedroom floor actually moved when anyone walked on the corridor - really!
Floors creak loudly when anyone walked on the corridor outside the bedroom
Drinks more expensive than Lord Crewe and Castle
No real ale available during our stay - no gas(?)

Questionable points
Dogs allowed in bar/dining areas - does add a distinctive aroma (Wet Dog)
Poor value for money - true value (in my opinion) would be £110

Room Tip: Do NOT choose/accept room - 2 Take ear-plugs Keep the curtains closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I am sorry that your bad points out numbered your good points, I have discussed the points with the relevant departments within the hotel and hopefully are rectified.

We feel that our offer of 2 nights for 2 people including 1 nights dinner for only £178.00 represent good value for money, there are lots of choice 2 people could chose for dinner to come in under the £45.00 allowance. It works out at just £66.50 per night for 2 people bed and breakfast. We do have rooms with castle views which may have been available at the time of booking for a supplement. I can only apologise if you feel this is poor value for your money but the terms of the deal are stated clearly on our advertising postcards.

We think we offer a unique selling point by allowing dogs into the bar area as you can see from other reviews other guests feel the same. The beach in Bamburgh is very popular with dog walkers and they too would like be able to have a bite to eat and drink in the village.

As with most hotels Saturday nights are usually our busiest night of the week, therefore generally Sunday morning are also our busiest check-out .

We hope this has not deterred you from returning to the hotel sometime in the future, please contact the hotel directly and we will try and upgrade you one of our superior rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It has been years since I stayed at The Victoria. My partner and I travelled down and met up with two other photographer friends for a long weekend.
Were we disappointed? Far from it. The Victoria is a welcoming and cosy hotel. Designed for us photographers with messy boots. Close enough for our locations to shoot and return for a superb breakfast (Bamburgh sausages are the best!!). Then a shower or bath in a superb bathroom with great towels. And out to face Northumberland in the autumn. Returning you can have a drink in the bar with a great roaring fire. And friendly dogs. Then a shower followed by a great dinner. Food is not over-priced. the new menu is fantastic. I was spoilt for choice. The Steak & Ale pie I had on second night must be the best ever. Good quality products evident from the taste. A chef to keep. And what can you say about Chris the restaurant manager? I don't think he sleeps and is always cheery and welcoming. Make sure you never lose him.
It's so good to see a hoteal which welcomes walkers, photographers and dogs and still keeps such a clean ship. I can't wait to our next visit down. It will always be The Victoria for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review on our hotel, Chris has been with us for years and I will be sure to pass on your compliments. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
23.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: $53 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing