We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel”
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed 1 night on business. from the outside it looks very oldy old and victorian, hence the name. once inside though the decor is modern and airy, old fashioned couldnt be further from the truth.

the room was lovely, bright and spacious, making travel lodge etc look like a prison cell!

the breakfast in the morning was excellent, local produce and as much as you want!

will definitely stay again and hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredbear_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much you are looking forward to returning. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 980 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

During this summer I decided to visit a Bumburg and I chose the Victor Hotel.
The Victoria hotel is a quaint, small and intimate hotel.
This hotel isn't particularly refined. The room was simple but comfortable.
The hotel has a restaurant, which looks more like a point bar.
Overall hotel basic but warm and cozy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we are pleased you found our rooms comfortable and we hope to welcome you back to The Victoria sometime in the fture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Victoria Hotel has restored our faith in three star hotels after a disappointing experience on the south coast earlier in the year. We have just returned from three wonderful days in Bamburgh. The hotel is full of character and the staff were friendly and attentive.

The brasserie with its glass roof is a modern restaurant which bears comparison with many city eateries. We ate in on our first night as it was steak night, with two sirloin steak dinners and a bottle of wine for £25. It was a good choice and we finished the evening off in the bar. In contrast to the brasserie the bar retains its Victorian atmosphere, with an open fire and leather furniture. It feels wonderfully cosy after a day out in the chilly Northumberland November weather. The bar serves interesting real ales, such as Black Sheep bitter and though prices were higher than in my local pub they are lower than in some hotel bars I have visited recently so, on the whole, not unreasonable.

The corridors upstairs are quite narrow, reflecting the age of the building and could do with some re-decorating as some of the paintwork is chipped and the carpet was stained. However, this was not the case in our room, which was in good decorative order, not big but well furnished with two armchairs, a comfortable bed, hair dryer, flat screen television, generous tea and coffee provision and a view of the castle. The bathroom was clean, well equipped with soap, shower gel, a large bath and a powerful shower. The towels were particularly thick and luxurious feeling.

We enjoyed our breakfasts and though the usual full English was tasty it is similar to that in many other hotels. What we recommend are the locally sourced Craster kippers, which were delicious. The only disappointment was that we ordered soya milk for our cereal when we booked but it was not available on the first morning. This was rectified the next day. If I had to sum up the Victoria in one sentence I would say the hotel has twenty first century standards of service and accommodation without losing its Victorian character. Would we stay there again? Yes. And we will recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in a hotel in one of England’s most beautiful coastal areas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We only just upgrade the quality of the towels and the fact that you noticed them makes this desicion worthwhile. Apologies for not having soya milk on the first morning of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed wednesday to saturday really enjoyed.Stayed in room 32 lovely room very clean and comfortable nice bathroom with bath and seperate shower plenty of room. Had evening meal on the 3 nights food excellent, breakfast very good as well plenty of choice. We found all the staff were really friendly and looked after us well, would recommed this hotel we will look forward to staying again. The hotel was very handy for going walking along the beach and picking up the coastal path.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28christine_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel, it is always a pleasure to hear from guest who have enjoyed ther experience with us. I will pass on your comments to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is an excellent wedding venue for a small informal ceremony. The setting was lovely, the registrars were both very friendly.Laura and her team were very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble, my elderly mother particularly liked the fact that they knew what she liked to drink. All of our guests commented on how good the food was. It was delicious, hot and on time. The complementary castle view room was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are delighted that you chose The victora for your special day, it is also a pleasure to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the day and that our staff look after you all so well. All of you comments have been passed onto our team. Hope to see you soon, dont be strangers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here with 2 other coup[les who both have dogs, being allergic to too much close contact with dogs I wasn't looking forward to the prospect of dog hairs all over and that characteristic smell of dog :( What we got was a pleasant surprise! Yes, there were dogs in the bar but our room showed no sign of a dog ever being in there and the food in the restaurant was fabulous.Not cheap food but an imaginative menu and well presented food - I asked for, and was given, the recipe for the Chicken Terrine so I left happy.
We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mushies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Mant thanks for taking the time to post such kind comments. Although we do allow dogs in the hotel we endeavor to keep our rooms free of any dog hairs. We have passed on your lovely comments regarding our food to our kitchen team. Hope to see you again sometime in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Victoria Hotel Bamburgh.
My husband and I stayed here for one night on Saturday 3 November. It’s the first time we have visited Bamburgh and a Group On offer for a half price visit to Bamburgh Castle sealed the deal. We paid extra to have a castle view room and it was worth every penny. We were simply stunned at how pretty the view was (Room 33) and could not fault the size and décor of the room, everything from the lovely bathroom with Jacuzzi bath (be careful how much of the complimentary toiletries you put in before switching on!), to the modern 4 poster type bed. It was a freezing cold day when we arrived but the room was lovely and warm and welcoming. We thorough enjoyed it and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Definately pay extra for the Castle View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbamburgh, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for leaving such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay, we believe that the views from our "castle view rooms" are some of the best in the counrty, especially on a clear day! We hope to welcome you back The Victoria someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
23.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: $53 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing