We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disappointed!”

Copper Kettle Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped for tea and soup at lunchtime in this lovely village. Staff were busy talking to what must have been friends sat at one of the tables and didn't seem particularly interested in customers coming in. Lots of chatter and not much table clearing, a smile wouldn't have gone a miss! Lentil soup and a def not 'homemade' roll, although the soup was tasty and very hot. The menu's back page has a little back ground on the tea rooms, basically telling us about it first being turned into a tea room in 1956 etc. As a customer you can't help wondering the spinsters who set the tea rooms up may be turning in their grave! The crockery could do with replacing, although the tea rooms are beautiful inside with the lovely wood panelling etc. It wouldn't go a miss for their to be a lock on the ladies door!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    263
    92
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't EVER eat here-disgusting!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Cracked teapots, dirty cups, microwaved cheap and tasteless scones, squirty cream and cheap tasting jam, cold water in the outside loo, no lock on the toilet door, and wet toilet seats, and to end our wonderful visit....not, a very surly miss behind the counter who did not take kindly to us advising her that her scones were below substandard! Will never ever visit again...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst scones ever eaten”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Extremely pretty tea room from the outside, such a shame that its gets away with constant tourists and therefore feel the need to give substandard standards. No lock on the toilet door!! The scones were definitely not home made. For one of the simplest of things to bake in 10 mins this is such a shame. The tea pots were cracked. Would never come back. The butchers however s little further on amazing. Can highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotton colliery
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very cold”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I know it was a cold day but it was bitterly cold inside had to wear my coat couldnt wait to leave. Waited a while to be served too,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience, disappointing scones.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

On first glance, the Copper Kettle seems like a lovely wee tea room, in the middle of Bamburgh, a gorgeous little Northumbrian village. The tea room is in a great location, nicely decorated with lovely carved wooden panelling on the walls.

On reading the menu, it informed us that the tea room was widely regarded as one of the best in the country, regularly appearing in many top 20 lists. I'm not sure when this was, it certainly couldn't have been recently.

My scone was terrible - not homemade by any stretch, and defrosted in microwave. It was served with scooshy cream. My husband did say his sandwich was ok, but again, it was made on boring, bland non-homemade baguette. The staff weren't the friendliest, completely out of line with all of our other experiences in the friendly county of Northumberland.

Very very disappointed with this place, we won't return next time we are in Bamburgh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drgillybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Kettle Tearoom also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Copper Kettle Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing