We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break from Pub grub”
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

Mizen Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A new extension to an old hotel.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A welcome break from Pub grub”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

So after having lots of pub meals around Northumberland (some good some not so good), we were really excited about trying out the locally sourced fish that this place offered. You need to book a table here as it gets busy. You go in and you wait in the bar first with menus and chose you food before you are sat at the table. This works fine but the staff were clearly very busy and we did have to go and ask for a drink. I tried out a few gins from the extensive collection and found the staff to be very knowledgeable about the different types. When we sat down to eat the food was brought straight away, I had scallops to start and my boyfriend had lobster thermidor, both were delicious!! Our mains were excellent as well but unfortunately I can't remember exactly what we had but I remember them being very tasty. The service was excellent, it was pricey but worth it I think.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    150
    36
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shotley Bridge, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Our favourite restaurant on the Northumberland Coast”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have had many excellent meals here, and would recommend it to all. From the relaxed, friendly and efficient staff, to the consistently and beautifully cooked food, it can't be faulted. We particularly like the extensive menu, which is regularly reviewed. I love fish so am more than catered for, but my husband doesn't, yet he still is spoilt for choice! For me the clincher is their huge choice of mussels, available as either a starter or main, my favourite being the curry flavoured ones.
One suggestion - they should have a website!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PollWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bamburgh”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had lunch and dinner at The Mizen Head as well as a few meals in other Bamburgh hotels. This was by far the best for dinner, lunch and service. The seafood was superb ( tho disappointed there was no lobster for Friday dinner) but scallops, mussels and special fish of the day was excellent. Wine list was interesting, staff were knowledgeable and pleasant. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank QuincyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel en le Frith, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant is a very friendly establishment with knowledgable staff and great food. We had oysters and lobster - yes I know - a bit decadent but so fabulous they were not to be missed! Whilst waiting for our table we had gin and tonic -after having the various gin styles explained to us by the bar manager ( I never knew gin came in different styles - juniper, citrus, floral, herbal and that the were best accompanied by different things - I do now!) All in all it was a lovely evening and one I hope to repeat when next in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and surroundings”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked a table at this hotel which had visited a couple of years earlier. Felt slightly more upmarket than I recall last time. Staff were very pleasant and welcoming, drinks served immediately unlike some places that leave you sat while looking at a menu. Ordered in the bar and then went through to the lovely light restaurant. Delicious starter of smoked salmon and kipper pates, very tasty piece of turbot and veg for main course and finally a twist on Eton Mess. Nothing was ever a problem and we will visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMT911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mizen Head Hotel also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing