We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chintzy and quirky but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waren House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waren House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chintzy and quirky but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Having read reviews on Trip Advisor we were slightly nervous on what to expect when we arrived. Being critical, the decor isn't to our tastes, it being "chintzy" and slightly tired in our room and yes there are dolls a plenty. Another slight downside was the lack of a shower in our room - for £185 per night I would have expected at least something over the bath. However we enjoyed our stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We also found the location good for exploring the area, Bamburgh castle 2 minutes away and Holy Island just up the road etc
On reflection, not the cheapest but worth giving a go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peds17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    56
    14
    14
    2
See reviews for
17
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Home Counties
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed at the Waren House for three nights over the long bank holiday weekend. Waren Mill is a small hamlet ideally situated for exploring the northeast coastal area and this hotel makes a comfortable base of operation for several days' touring. We particularly liked the hotel for its delicious meals (and its willingness to serve breakfast earlier than usual) and for its friendly and helpful staff. We had a large quiet room overlooking the garden, and we were happy with the overall standard of the facilities e.g. beds and linens, bathroom, etc. Having said all this, the hotel decor needs a makeover: it is sort of "art deco meets chintz" with garish colours in the lounge, a prominently displayed doll collection, and some really unattractive lamps and figurines in our bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpaca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

The highlight has to be the restaurant. The food is quite simply amazing, wine selection great. The produce is local, menu is simple, and food fantastic. Its worth heading here just for the restaurant.
The only thing that detracts from the atmosphere is the noise coming from the kitchen.
We stayed in the Gray suite, huge room, four poster bed, and a bathroom to match. Staff were very good. The price was a little over the top, but is worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c01d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We took our dog with us. Cannot rate the hotel, staff, rooms, food and grounds highly enough - it was first class. Expensive but if you are like us and want something first class, then it is worth the extra.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloojy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

During Nov. '08 we discovered a little gem of an hotel to which we look forward to returning. The warmth of the reception by the attentive staff was matched by the warming of the log fire in front of which we enjoyed canapes and drinks. Following this timeless welcome we took our place in the dining room to be served a first-class meal, both in terms of quality and value. We followed our dinner with a night-cap in the library where we chatted to other guests. By this time we were ready for bed, sleeping soundly waking for a brisk morning walk along the Northumbrian coast. Our hearty full English break-fast set us up for the long journey back down the M1 feeling refreshed and relaxed. Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

This is the perfect hotel if you are looking for luxury combined with peace and tranquility with stunning views of Holy Island and Budle Bay. Each suite has a theme which is reflected in the furnishings and decor. Staff seem to be from the local villages and have all the natural charm associated with the North East of England. Service is excellent and the restaurant offers local produce superbly cooked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consultant60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

In many respects this could be a very good hotel. Location is great just across from Lindisfarne and with many other places of historical interest close by. Food and staff are lovely and the chef and his team obviously try hard and succeed. The building and gardens are in good order and housekeping to a good standard.

We had two nights at Waren House. It was the last of three hotels on a 5 day New Year break for my wife and I with our little dog. The other two were brilliant; Hunters Quay and Culloden House.

Waren House should have been as well but for what I will generously call the eccenticity of the place. The heavy and opressive decor, the furnishings in the public areas and all those weird dolls and pictures of people and family who quite frankly are in our opinion of no interest whatever and almost border on offensive, certainly self indulgent. We even had two of them staring at us in bed from huge pictures on the wall of the Gray Suite. They would certainly distract even the most ardent of honeymooners. We thought them quite funny.

For us there was a "She (or he or they?) who must be obeyed" feeling dominating the whole ambience. Notices telling you to "Park at right angles to the grass" and "Dogs not allowed on beds" Not unreasonable in themseves but does it really have to be said? We also found all the CCTV cameras intrusive and strange. We understand the owners keep watch on things from their nearby house. No doubt checking on our table manners and making sure nobody steals any of the "objet d'arts"

Sorry to be blunt but thats how we saw it. The upside is that there is lots to talk and laugh about over the excellent dinner and good value wine list. There is no bar and no bottled beer, just cans. Overall value was not good. They are certainly pushing the pricing.

We had read the reviews before going so we only have ourselves to blame. It was not all bad, the staff we dealt with were friendly and cared. Read the earlier reviews. They are pretty well spot on.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the food.
  • Disliked — The interior decor, the cctv spy cameras, the pictures, the dolls. Strange place.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HarryIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waren House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waren House Hotel

Property: Waren House Hotel
Address: Bamburgh NE70 7EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waren House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waren House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waren House Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing