We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, hotel and staff”
Review of Waren House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waren House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The quality of the hotel and the beauty of the location were both a major surprise.

We were given a very spacious room with a 4-poster bed and a fantastic shower. The breakfast was lovely and the service extremely friendly and efficient without being over the top and excessively formal. We had dinner in the hotel on the first evening and the food was of a very high standard. When we asked if we could have our after-dinner coffee in our room, the staff were very happy to bring it up for us.

All in all, it was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleSeeLS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our fourth stay, the food was outstanding as always. The staff were mainly the same as in previous visits and all were polite, helpful, friendly and happy to help.
The tv was dated and was fitted with Freeview which was faulty, and was removed on the Saturday morning but never returned and no explanation given. The heating does not work automatically, I presume there is a master switch in the main House, therefore if it goes cold, as it did this weekend, the Suite was very cold and the heating didnt come on with the thermostat; we had to go and ask numerous times for the heating to be turned on. The bed linen is changed if the leaflet about this is left on the bed; the leaflet was duly left on the bed, but the linen was not changed, the bed was remade and the leaflet was left on the dressing table! All small details but the lack of attention to detail spoils a lovely hotel and a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sloojy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A Wonderful experience. We stayed 2 nights. Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
A charming country hotel, set in beautiful peaceful and private grounds, just as described on web site.
We had a very spacious second floor bedroom, tastfully decorated, very comfortable and very clean.
For someone that travels al lot and staying in hotels, the food was beyond expectaions. Superb. Along with a fantastic wine selection
The staff were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Book early! All rooms looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The food, locally sourced including some grown in the hotel`s own garden, was outstanding. The staff were friendly, courteous and efficient and the hotel was very comfortable indeed . The bedroom was furnished and equipped to a high standard.
Our first time to the north east, primarily to walk and tick off some of the Cheviot hills and we will return; next time without the 20 mile walk! The location is an excellent base for all the area has to offer.
We have no negative points.
Thank you for an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is a real find.
Staff are friendly, room was comfortable. Beautiful garden and quiet setting.
At first we were unsure of the set price meal and not sure we would be able to manage all the courses but decided to give it a go. It did not disappoint and made the stay very special. The food was wonderful and the chef's attention to detail excellent. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious.From the pre starter soup and home made bread right through to the chocoalates and pot of coffee.
Would definately return


,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john7939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Northumberland is a place of unspoilt beauty and should be on a list of places to visit for everyone who appreciates what our countryside has to offer. If you are looking to be spoilt yourself they look no further than Waren House Hotel. All rooms and suites have their own character but each guest is cared for by a team of friendly and caring staff. The meals are delicious and are cooked using local produce by a chef who obviously takes pride in his profession.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrasmereFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The last time I was at Waren House was back in 1988 when it was for sale, so I was interested to see how things had changed since then.
Visited with my husband and a group of friends - the location is perfect and we enjoyed great weather which contributed to a most enjoyable long weekend.
Staff were helpful and efficient at all times, and the evening meals were excellent.- the breakfast less so.
Our group occupied five rooms and I managed a look in all of them - varying quite a lot in size and style. My husband & I had The Grey Suite, which is huge, but very dated with exception of the most wonderful bathroom and power shower.
The public rooms are as I remember them back in 1988 - very old fashioned with lots of badly hung pictures and tasteless ornaments and oh - the lighting! It really is dire, particularly in the dining room, which is such a shame as it detracts from the atmosphere. -
Worth mentioning as a matter of interest is 'The Puffin' which is a heated summerhouse in the garden with comfortable chairs for those who want to smoke. Two of the guys in our party thoroughly enjoyed their evening cigars, feeling totally pampered and not like 2nd class citizens puffin' outside the front door!! (Sorry about the pun!)
Having said that, we all had a wonderful time and perhaps I'm just nit-picking about the lighting.

Room Tip: Grey Suite enormous, with wonderful power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,288 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
17.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
396 reviews
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waren House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waren House Hotel

Address: Bamburgh NE70 7EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: $117 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waren House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waren House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waren House Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing