We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood platter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blacketts of Bamburgh - CLOSED

Blacketts of Bamburgh
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A very special little restaurant in the heart of bamburgh with a wide selection of dishes to choose from
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My friend and i visited blacketts last week and we weren't disappointed!we shared the seafood platter which i must say was absolutely beautiful,it also included their homemade fish cakes,would definitely recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Carolinec07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    49
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Steak !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

A cold, wet, February, Monday in Bamburgh was transformed by a warm welcome and a lovely meal at Blacketts. Try the steak - locally sourced and well prepared and the local (Myland ?) ale. Simple food, prepared with care and served with genuine hospitality by the staff. Hearty, wholesome and just the job after a long walk on the beach earlier in the day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCampbell700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something Quirkey!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A spot of retail therapy and it was difficult not to thrash the credit card, Although I did try and am going back with a couple of stocking fillers!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I for the last few years have spent time in Beadnell and have dined in most places around Beadnell and Seahouses we decided to try Bamburgh. We found Blacketts and it looked inviting and not pub food so a nice change.

The staff were friendly and great with the kids too. My daughter had the tomato and red pepper soup, all freshly made and very tasty. I had the butternut squash risotto again fresh and nice portion and well presented. My husband had the lasagne and garlic bread which he enjoyed. We all indulged in dessert! They scooped ice cream into tubs and let the children choose their sauces and sprinkles, I had chocolate tort and my husband a cheese cake all of which were home made and very naughty!

All in all we had a lovely filling meal in nice surroundings. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and make sure you are hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cantfindone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Bland Bamburgh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's rare for me to give a poor review - mainly because we're normally very lucky with the places we eat out in. This was the worst meal we've experienced in 5 years of holidaying in the UK. I was curious to see the mixture of good and poor reviews and was hoping the former would win out but we were really disappointed. We won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Combatgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacketts of Bamburgh also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing