We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong time of the year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was concerned after reading the reviews and my wife booking this through The Sun hols promotion. It was the frist weekend of November so yes it was cold. We did have to use the fire and four hobs on the oven to warm up the caravan but the caravan (Sea View 55) was in good clean condition apart from one stained carpet. It also has its own verandah with chairs and table which would have been great in the summer. The entertainment by the Park Resort staff was rubbish with not a great deal of effort from most of them. This was the last week of the season and they looked ready for home. The prizes for the kids was a certificate!! There were two very good acts brought in though. Joe Lawson, a young singer was brilliant and a Comedy Magician Ashley George was really funny and great with the kids. The club staff were really helpful although getting a drink on the last night was a mission as the one bar staff seemed to be getting everything cleaned up and ready to go home. The kids clubs are very poor, mainly as the entertainment teams have no energy or not interested. It is only a very small holiday park so a long weekend is too much here. I would not return here Haggerston Castle is 100% better and was where we wanted to go but never mind it was an experience.

Room Tip: Sea view caravan number 55
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AYoung65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s as a result of customer feedback that we can improve. I’m pleased to hear that your holiday home was up to standard you should expect. We have a new entertainment team for 2013 and I can assure you that they are a lively bunch! They are all looking forward to a fun packed busy season here at Sandy Bay and have loads of new shows rehearsed. We are also bringing in a whole host of new cabarets for our guests to enjoy. I hope you can stay with us again this season so that you can enjoy what is going to be a fantastic year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Three families with 7 children between us stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of October half term.

Upon arrival around 7:30pm I had to go hunting for the security guard in the bar area to check us in - no sign left on the door. I had requested that the families be close/ next to each other when I booked; they couldn't have put us further apart if they tried!

The caravan was very chintzy although clean. The heaters were all on upon arrival but it was absolutely freezing, we resorted to putting all four gas hobs on to warm through. The heater in the main bedroom didn't work but we had been left a plug in electric heater. The mattresses were appalling with my 4 year old even complaining about the springs in her back.

Trying to cook breakfast on the first morning was horrendous as neither the grill nor the toaster worked and the oven was rubbish. Then the electricity went off. To be fair, the maintenance man arrived quickly and sorted the electricity but we didn't get a replacement toaster or the grill fixed for the duration of our stay.

The bar food was appalling, we ordered fish & chips one lunchtime & left the majority of it.

The 9:30am rhyme time for little ones was very lack lustre and when we attended on the Sunday morning, the floor space hadn't been cleaned properly from the Saturday night so my 17mth old kept picking up coins, decorations etc. The girl leading it had no enthusiasm to work with the children & didn't engage with them at all.

The pool wasn't working on the Sunday so none of our party got to use it & no refund of the entertainment passes was offered.

The other caravans our party stayed in were of a higher standard and well maintained - it seems hit & miss as to what you get upon arrival.

The area was great for getting out & about; would recommend going to Cragside about 40mins away. The beach at Sandy Bay isn't very accessible for pushchairs - you have to clamber over rocks which the older kids enjoyed but not great for babies.

I doubt very much we would go back to this site.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldwellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review and I must apologise that your holiday did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate that holiday time is important and so will always attempt to meet peoples requests however we cannot always guarantee. I am pleased to hear that you found your caravan to be clean. For this season we are employing someone dedicated to replenish missing or broken inventory so that our guests are always fully equipped for their holiday home. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy the food in the restaurant as we strive to send out great meals at all times. For the new season we have a fantastic new menu to choose from with some great offers like 2 meals for £10. I am confident that our guests will enjoy what we have to offer in 2013. Our new entertainment team for 2013 is undergoing training as I type and having met them I am sure they will provide the highest level of entertainment for our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and my apologies for your experience on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I must say i was worried on reading previous reviews of this site but was prepared for it. Yes the caravans were vastly spread out from the car parks and also we had to wear our wellies to and from the caravan due to the wetness of the grass. The staff were all friendly. We only use the swimming pool on site and non of the entertainment. The prices in the shop are overpriced as normal but there is a 24 hour asda 4 miles from the site. Checkin was normal park resort arrive at your check in time and not before then you'll get your keys.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks for your comments Danielle. As you have mentioned, it is a good idea to bring along your wellies even if it doesn’t rain you can enjoy the local beach and its rock pools. Our Park Mart is handy to pick up any essentials you have forgotten to bring and the team at Reception are happy to provide post codes for all of the local supermarkets too. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we booked our week through the sun holidays and after being on a caravan holiday 17 years ago we had our reservations. The caravan was clean well equipped but try and get an upgrade to one with heating as it certaintely helps. the staff were really friendly and the clubhouse was fun on the nighttime we would definatley go back. Also it would really help if you had a car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and thank you for the kind comments, Aileen. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that your holiday home was well equipped. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been here before and it was adequate, however on this visit it was simply awful! I booked through the Sun Holiday Promotion so the caravan was standard grade, it was dirty, smelly, had ripped carpet, the shower completely fell off wall, crockery was all chipped and the electric tripped! The entertainment was a shambles, there is no need to shout and scream down a mic, this is why you have a mic! The pool was "out of order" just as well as it was totally disgusting. The staff "couldnt be bothered" they just strolled about with no get up an go! almost £5 for a pint of cider......... terrible, unbelievable!!!!! £1.90 for a pint of lager in the Cresswell Arms in the village and a fab sunday lunch for a fiver, cant go wrong, and gets you off site for a while! disappointing stay, wont be back and Park Resorts should feel ashamed of their selves, quite simply ROBBERS!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for your review. It’s only with the feedback of our guests can we hope to improve. We are recruiting our park cleaning team at the minute and going through in-depth interviews and training so that this year we get things right for our guests. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in the past and I would like to assure you that this is a thing of the past. Our Entertainment team is all new for 2013 and I can guarantee they will be a hit, with fantastic training and years of experience this year’s team will be the best ever! Our retail team have been behind the scenes all winter organising new drinks offers and I am pleased to say as well as new high street brands we will have price reductions as well. Once again I am sorry for the issues you had on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is awful ! We normally go away with Haven but thought we would give this a chance but what a huge mistake. The park was awful. In short the bedding was clean but the springs were coming though the bed, the caravan was dirty, crockery was not clean. We were told we couldn't put the car near the caravan. The bar was terrible and the staff very rude we did order some food after eventually finding out that there was hardly anything actually off the menu that was available. This was awful and not cheap....... Do not even consider going here unless they are going to pay you !!!

Room Tip: Don't choose here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, we always listen to our guests and take any comments on board so that we can improve our services and facilities for our guests. Firstly, I would like to apologise for your experience on this occasion. As well as investing in carpets and upholstery we have also invested in new mattresses for the coming season. We do this regularly throughout the season so that our guests can have a good night sleep. We do however sometimes miss these, but as soon as we are informed we attempt to change them as soon as possible. Our new retail team are going through an intensive training schedule so that they are providing the highest possible level of service to our guests. As a company we have also been looking at our food offer and our brand new menu looks fantastic with some special deals for all the family to enjoy, such as 2 meals for £10. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review I hope you may decide to stay with us again in the future and experience what will be excellent service and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
newcastle o tyne
11
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we booked our weekend through the sun holidays and after reading some of the comments on the website we had reservations. well let me tell you we had not one complaint the caravan was clean well equipped and we had no complaints . the staff were really friendly and the clubhouse was fun on the nighttime we would definatley go back. pay no attentio to some of the comments you will read go for yourself and make you own judgement

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Firstly thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. We always try to create amazing memories for all of our guests so I am pleased you enjoyed yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
559 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,064 reviews
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
#41 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
108 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Seaton Burn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: North Seaton, Ashington NE63 9YD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ashington
Price Range: $14 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first thing that strikes you about Sandy Bay Holiday Park in the North East, is the cliff top views and stunning sandy beach. Set in landscaped grounds around a Koi Carp Lake, the Park combines attractive surroundings with lively entertainment. Take a swim or splash about in the heated indoor pool or challenge the family to a game of pool or darts. Then enjoy a tasty meal in the Boathouse Bar & Restaurant before heading off to The Beach Club Bar for a line up of sparkling evening entertainment. There's plenty for young children, teenagers and adults alike to enjoy at Sandy Bay Holiday Park on the North East coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Ashington
Sandy Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Ashington, Northumberland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing