We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History”

Woodhorn Northumberland Museum
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover 800 years of history and experience fantastic events and exhibitions at the award winning Woodhorn Museum and Northumberland Archives. Woodhorn is the permanent home of the Ashington Group paintings, made famous through Lee Hall's successful Pitmen Painters play.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Take the guided tour and go down the mine to see the real world and dangers that faced our miners.
See the close cramp conditions, along with the damp and dark areas they dug the coal.

Thank Chris19541108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your good review.
We can't quite take you underground at Woodhorn but our Dark Side Tour takes you behind the scenes and into some of the buildings which are off limits to the general visitor including the Walker Fan House. This building involves a trip down a flight of stairs until you are below ground level, where you can see the huge fan which sucked the air though the pit. This tour certainly gives visitors a different appreciation the colliery.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Woodhorn Northumberland Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 585 of 654 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband, grand-daughter and myself spent a very pleasant Sunday afternoon there a few weeks ago - until we came to go home. We decided to take the little train back to the QE2 country park and went on the platform. I said to sit on the seat on the platform to our grand-daughter so she raced ahead and sat on a newly glossed green seat. She was horrified and really upset. the fleece she was wearing was binned at the scene. The only warning on the seat was chalked on the ground. No bollards or tape to make it noticeable. Having written a letter when I returned home I thought a reply would be forthcoming as regards apologies or saying in future things would be done differently. But alas - no reply at all - VISITORS TAKE NOTE!! Take spare clothes!

Thank hannahmaetodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We really are very sorry for the the paint incident and the delay in responding to your letter. I can assure you a written response should be with you in the next couple of days but we had to investigate the situation, talk to the volunteers and consider an appropriate solution.
The railway at Woodhorn is run by volunteers and they carry out maintenance on the train and the surrounding platform area as and when they are able. We have asked that in future any painting and other tasks of a similar nature take place on quieter days and that they take steps to ensure proper barriers and notices are in place to prevent a re-occurrence.
Again apologies for the delay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even before the Play, a visit to see the Ashington Group paintings has been at the top of my list. Eventually as a special treat for my 60th birthday we visited Northumberland and went to Woodhorn Park for the day. This is a brave and special place. There are two wings reserved for the paintings, but upon arrival one wing had been transformed into a photographic exhibition, and to make room for it the paintings by Oliver Kilbourn have been consigned to the strongroom, out of sight. This is a sad turn of events, and although we were allowed a special concession of a visit to see them, it is surely a crime to the memory and intent of this talented painter not to have his works on display. By all means show the photos, but somewhere else - maybe in the cafe? The staff were all helpful and obliging, and the "tour" of the mine and mining community was first rate. I would urge any visitor to the area to see it.

Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

How lovely that you decided to visit Woodhorn for your birthday treat and thank you for your very positive comments. I'm happy to hear your were well looked after. I must explain about the Ashington Group paintings though.
Only one gallery at Woodhorn is dedicated to the main Ashington Group Collection with about 80 paintings on display. Our other exhibition spaces are used for a varied programme of shows - anything from mining art (and Oliver Kilbourn's collection My Life as a Pitman was on show May until August this year) to the Tudors. I understand your disappointment but we have many paintings in our archives by Kilbourn, members of the Ashington Group and others, and we try to incorporate them into our programme where possible. This offers our visitors, many of whom are regulars to the museum, an interesting and stimulating range of things to look at.
We can arrange behind-the-scenes tours incorporating some of the Kilbourn paintings for groups, but in the meantime the images can also be seen on the BBC Your Paintings website. It's always worth keeping an eye on our website too for our temporary exhibition programme.
We do appreciate your feedback and we'll certainly keep it in mind for future developments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been a few times and always enjoy it. The exhibitions are really good giving you a real glimpse into the mining era. The old pit buildings are well preserved. Good visitors centre and the nearby QE2 lake is an added bonus.

Thank IEG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Great to hear you are a regular visitor. Thank you for continued support. Yes the country park is an added bonus with its great variety of bird life all year round. Keep your eyes peeled next time for the odd weasel or red squirrel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a fantastic day out at Woodhorn. £3 to park and the rest is free. Packed with interesting facts about the colliery, museum exhibition excellent would appeal to all ages. The gallery was the reason for our visit after seeing the tv programme regarding the 'pitmen painters', we were not disappointed and spent ages enjoying the paintings. When it is time for lunch you will find a lovely cafe with homemade produce. EXCELLENT

1  Thank anniehever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are delighted to hear of your visit to Woodhorn. The paintings by the Ashington Group now known better as the Pitmen Painters are rather special and have been attracting visitors from all over the country. Did you know you can buy a print of your favourite painting too. Just have a look at our website.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodhorn Northumberland Museum also viewed

 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to Woodhorn Northumberland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing