We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel let down by restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel let down by restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.
Excellent and friendly staff
Good location for exploring the North East of England
Train just across the car park to local Mining museum
The Brewers Fayre restaurant was very good at breakfast but a nightmare on the Thursday night.Table booked for 7.30 which we were shown to and then had to wait as it was cleared and wiped.
Very long wait for each course.Told when ordering there was a 30 minute wait but eventually got pudding at 9,50 Felt sorry for the staff
Chose the buffet on Friday to try and speed things up which worked however restaurant wasn't as busy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOTTICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to improve standards. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    228
    66
    16
    15
See reviews for
236
302
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We used this particular Premier Inn as a base for our holiday/visit relatives. Having stayed in more expensive hotels on a number of occasions and also a number of other Premier Inns too, we can honestly say this compares favourable to more expensive establishments and is by far the best Travel Inn we have stayed at. Would have no hesitation in recommending to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This Premier lnn is in an ideal situation for visiting Northumbria, particularly the areas around Hadrians Wall. Very pleasant surroundings and easy parking. The room standards are superb, lovely crisp bed linen and a comfortable bed. We made a drink and watched the swans and other birds on the lake outside. To avoid televisions blaring out and disturbing other guests the sound level is kept to a moderate level. I am sure this is fine for the majority of guests but it would be a real bonus and a boost for Premier Inn Management if sub titles could be accessed. We know that a fair number of guests are in the older age group and more likely to have some hearing loss therefore , subtitles would help . Most guests once checked in towards the end of the day, do not usually go out and about.. Apart from this, our stay was top quality. Must mention, as out name suggests , Tightwads put their own breakfast together as they previously decided that the cost of breakfast for two adults was not worth the money. Have to state that Tightwads managed to secure a cheaper rate for their stay. Apparently you have to watch out for these deals. Without a doubt we will be keeping our eye on Premier Lodge deals because they are brilliant value.

Room Tip: choose a room looking out onto the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tightwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good place to stay to visit lovely Northumberland. Due to it being late Spring, the lake adjoing the hotel had ducklings and cygnets and there were lots of wild flowers. Hotel was very adequate, reception staff welcoming. Dinner staff seemed overwhelmed at times so we didn't always eat in. Colliery museum just down the road is really interesting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Premier Inn was of the usual standard but the Brewers Fayre is the worst one that I have had the misfortune of visiting. The restaurant was filthy, the ladies toilets were filthy, and the carpet so badly stained that when you walked on it your shoes stuck to it. We arrived at 3:30pm and there was food, napkins and tissues over the floor. We had to wait to order a drink from the bar as everyone we approached was not old enough to serve behind the bar and when we did order ( a bottle of Presecco) they gave it to us off the shelf. Surely they could keep one bottle in the refrigerator. When we queried as to why they did not have a chilled bottle of Prosecco we were informed that it was a family restaurant and that most of their clientele only ordered "house wine"

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rumic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed one night here with my husband and the location was lovely, right beside a Lake. We had booked our stay early when a £29 deal was on but I think these can be hard to get.
We were checked in by a lovely, friendly receptionist and found our room to be large, comfortable and clean. We ate next door at the Brewers Fayre and had a carvery which was fine.
In the morning we walked round the lake which was lovely and had so many swans and ducks to look at. The museum was closed on Monday so we didn't manage to see it. We visited Newbiggin by the Sea which was lovely and well worth a visit. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback regarding our clean and comfortable rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed one night at Ashington Premier Inn and it was very enjoyable . The surroundings are lovely with a lake and countryside . There is a very interesting Mining Museum nearby which you can walk to or get a little train if it is running . The Staff at the Inn are lovely and we would certainly go again .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iristerry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing