We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Staff were so friendly, going above and beyond. Rooms were being modernised while we were there but there was no disruption. Fantastic breakfast with extra polite and helpful waiting staff. Kids loved the PlayGym and playground which also gave us parents a little down time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndIanStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. My team will be very happy to hear your kind compliments on their customer service and that you enjoyed your stay with us.. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 758 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fantastic location....we had a ground floor family room, not lake facing, and it was a very quiet and peaceful stay. The setting was fantastic, great for stretching your legs after a long drive. Brilliant free kids play area in the restaurant attached. Superb breakfast.....staff at breakfast and dinner were polite friendly and super helpful. lovely clean tidy and spacious room. fab pillows, perfect nights sleep! kids absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpaulevieisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you and all your family enjoyed your visit to Premier Inn Ashington. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I really like Premier Inns. Spacious room, spacious en-suite, great night's sleep on comfortable bed (guaranteed or your money back!), teas and coffees provided, firm pillows, soft pillows, shower and hand wash soaps provided, black-out curtains, extra toiletries and teas etc. if you ask for them. What could you possibly quibble about? Makes you wonder why everybody else can't do likewise. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Food in the restaurant for dinner was great. Fast. Down to earth British grub. Reasonable prices and good portion sizes. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Well placed for seeing a bit of Northumberland and quite a country feel being set in a park and overlooking the water. Very happy with our stay. Would definitely use again. Even at full price!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are closest to the road. Odd numbers on the other side may be quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments regarding our spacious rooms and comfortable beds. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We wanted a base for a few days exploring Northumberland so I searched Northumberland's Tourist Information site for Hotels, cottages and bed and breakfasts and decided on Ashington Premier for a number of reasons; a great location and good reviews, a restaurant attached and the added comfort of a hotel or b and b but at a more affordable price and the sense that you can come and go as like without having to check in each time or take your own bedding! We were not disappointed; from the moment we checked in we were reminded of the good night's sleep guarantee, asked if we wanted to book an evening meal at the restaurant or breakfast and even some advice on good places to visit! I don't know what star rating Premier Inns are but the room and service was as good as any 3 star hotel rooms we have stayed in. An enormous bed, a television, beverage tray, toiletries from a dispenser rather than those silly little bottles, air conditioning, and clean and comfortable, what more could you want? We stayed in the new part and asked for a lake view room when we booked. We ate in the attached Brewers Fayre each evening because they had various themed nights where you could eat all you liked from the buffet for only £6.49! The staff were all very friendly and one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had! On the walk round the lake we saw our first Water Vole and were told by walkers that they regularly see red squirrels! Also adjacent to the site is Woodhorn, an old colliery site that is open to the public and is FREE! It really is worth a visit but don't expect to see it all in a couple of hours, you could almost spend the day there; a great place to take the children.

Room Tip: We had room 107 in the new block which overlooked the lake
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst in the area exploring Northumberland. Your comments are very much appreciated and my team will be very happy to hear the great feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at the premier inn Ashington on many occasions and we have always been met by great staff and a lovely clean room, value for money is 10/10.
My only criticism is that this time the breakfast was perfect but the evening meal could have been better in both quality and quantity, hopefully this was just a one off. After saying that I would recommend this great premier inn

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhill1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our clean rooms and our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback. Thank you for reviewing your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Premier Inn to its usual high standard in a great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately Hotel is linked to a Brewers Fayre. The standard of the food served is appalling but we had already paid for breakfast in advance. Breakfast....served burnt bacon and even managed to burn a fresh tomato. Also breakfast very greasy. Watched staff wipe nose and then handling bread items without gloves and not washing their hands!! Only tried the restaurant at night once and then travelled down the dual carriage way to the next Premier Inn and Beefeater.

Room Tip: book early views of the lake go quickly.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eds31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our restaurant fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards and be assured that the issues raised will be passed on to the Brewers Fayre. Thank you once again for your review. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Premier Inn fantastic as usual. pub next door improved some, we had no complantes about the food or sevice this time but many were complaining about the pie that was on offer that night.I saw at least 5 people having a go about how bad the pie was.Personaly i had the steak and it was cooked to perfection as well were the trimmings, AS i said NO PROBLEMS WITH THE ROOM OR SERVICE WITH PREMIER INN just the pub next door still lets every thing down and there is nowhere else to eat neer to hand

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N Smifffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the Brewers Fayre. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
22.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,265 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range: $60 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing