We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting terrible restaurfant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting terrible restaurfant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Lovely views across the lake, car park very uneven with large pools of standing water.
The restaurant is a nightmare, kids running all over the place, you have to go to the bar to order your drinks and food, the curry bar was unmanned most of the time and the curries where tasteless.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewmart444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after.
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    228
    66
    16
    15
See reviews for
236
302
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed over the Easter weekend. Lovely view of the lake and swans. The room was all we expect of a Premier Inn (although we couldn't get the heating to work) and the shower was wonderful. There was some sort of buzzing noise at night but I wouldn't say it was the wind turbines - perhaps the bathroom ducting next door. Restaurant very child-friendly with indoor and outdoor play areas and some parts consequently a bit noisy. However, we waited 45 mins the first night and an hour the second night for the food to arrive - after a lengthy wait to order at the bar and a lengthy wait for a table (it is very popular!). Can thoroughly recommend The Castle Inn, Bamburgh instead, though not exactly handy! We love a Premier Inn breakfast but this restaurant let us down - various items were missing from the buffet each day, food ran out and not replenished quickly and the bowls and mugs, when available, all dirty as if the dishwasher had broken down. It definitely won't stop us staying at Premier Inns around the country but this restaurant has some serious problems sadly.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

we stayed here 2nd April in the worst weather of the winter,what a welcome release from the outside.We had a great welcome and plenty of info from both receptionists,the room was spotless very comfortable bed and great hot shower.We had a 3 course meal which we had booked previously and the waitress was exceptional I,m sorry I didn,t get her name.Lovely meal good nights sleep and everything you would expect for breakfast.the weather had improved next day letting us see the lake and all the swans.Would reccomend a stay here and when next in the area we will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Arrived at hotel with signage stating Wood Grange (not Ashington). Parked on rough, uneven car park. Beautiful view over nearby lake. Very warm, friendly greeting at reception. At night constant buzzing coming through floor/walls possibly due to noisy air con in neighbouring room or sound of VERY large wind turbines sited near to the hotel. Restaurant had only one person behind the bar all night serving both food and drinks so was overwhelmed. Kitchen floor visible when staff went in or out ofm kitchen door giving view of food strewn across a very dirty looking kitchen floor. Restaurant carpet had knife on floor as well as extensive assortment of food. Some obvious large pieces of food cleaned up by staff but not the knife or remainder of food. Decided to pay for "Curry bar" where there were a selection of curries and associated foods. Food bar not manned so ANYONE was free to help themselves (including anyone who had not paid for this selection). Asked whether there were any popadoms as they had all gone and informed that staff would bring some to table which they did, placing popadoms from a plate, using tongs, directly onto the sticky table surface. Ugh! Hygeine and cleanliness appear to be foreign words with the restaurant/kitchen staff. After main meal decided there was enough room for a dessert and ordered 4 desserts. 30 minutes later, most guests had left and still no sign of desserts. Staff had forgotten about us. Desserts came 10 or more minutes later. Morning breakfast another story, very clean and food good. Bedrooms were clean and well maintained. Beds a bit firm but otherwise comfortable. Reception staff upon checking out also very bright, cheerful and helpful. To summarise, if you're partially deaf and choose to eat your evening meal elsewhere, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Our room with low pitch humming was Room 3 on the ground floor near to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stopped for two nights over the Easter Break and found this Premier Inn very welcome. Our tired child was even given an unexpected Easter egg on arrival - much to his delight!

The room was comfortable and the shower on full was invigorating enough to act as a skin exfoliater. We found the turbines were hypnotic rather than annoying. If you find the time you can always walk around the Country Lake & visit the free mining museum at the far end (costs £3 to park your car) - it's a bit basic but the activity centre was well worth the effort.

Would recommend to others.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Having very recently stayed at the Premier Inn Ashington, i have received excellent service from staff at this Premier Inn, after working long hours and needing a bite to eat, the Receptionist named Linda went out of her way to order a food delivery for me. In all i have had an excellent stay here and would definately return with the family, Many thanks to Linda

Mick J

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Have recently stayed at this premier for three nights in march this year.the place was very clean and the staff were very helpfull even after invoking the good nights sleep policy.this was due to s faulty air con system.the staff dealt with it very efficiently and there was no problem getting a refund.the staff at the adjacent Brewers Fayre were also very good and the food was good,varied and reasonably priced.I would not hesitate to recommend this PI to anyone.

Room Tip: try and book a room that overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing