We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”
Review of Alnwick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alnwick Lodge
Ranked #21 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a warm, friendly welcome at Alnwick Lodge. Comfy, clean, quirky rooms full of antiques etc. Lovely breakfast in this unique setting of old farm buildings, converted into unusual accommodation. If you like minimal, modern & smart, this is not for you, but if you appreciate old things then this is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportyoldspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    86
    23
    24
    16
See reviews for
66
140
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This unusual and quite quirky place had me fascinated. The building is very old and full of antiques, which one can buy. The proprietors are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was very good, and there was a welcoming cup of tea when we arrived.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely visit to the venue over Easter wkend and although we didn't get much time there the room was everything we needed and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was lovely and well stocked with all we needed. A taxi to alnwick gardens cost us £7. It did cost us an extra £10 to access our room before check in time.
We found it difficult to find as the sat nav room us elsewhere. Lady at the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly and they accept dogs so may consider a future visit given that the room opens on the the courtyard which could be beneficial when bringing the dog. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMcGreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

As a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday celebration, for one night, I reserved 6 double rooms and 2 single rooms for some of his closest friends. We also asked Peter and Evelyn if they could provide us with dinner in the evening. We had a surprise champagne reception followed by a 3 course meal. The table was beautifully arranged and styled with blue vintage glassware and crockery. It was so tastefully done and all of our guests were very impressed.

The meal - soup to start, then roast beef and all the trimmings, choice of sweets; banoffee pie and eaton mess was truly delicious and beautifully cooked. After the meal, we moved into the drawing room where we were presented with the most amazing cheese board, it definitely had the wow factor. The port, cheese and biscuits went down a treat and we finished off with tea/coffee and birthday cake.

People who appreciate quality and traditional furnishings without the glitz will love staying at this lovely cosy B&B. Peter and Evelyn are also very warm and friendly people - nothing is ever too much trouble and being welcomed with tea/coffee and biscuits by the open fire, is in my mind one of life's greatest pleasures. We had the most wonderful stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in February. The weather was very cold and so it was lovely to be welcomed with tea, coffee and biscuits in front of a roaring fire. Unfortunately, the heating in the bedroom didn't quite cope, but it was warm enough under the duvets. Breakfast was plentiful and all freshly prepared. Pity we didn't realize that we just had to ask for anything we wanted (within reason) and it would be served!
It's a delightful place, with various antiques scattered around, and it's run by a delightful family. It's true that the outside space (round the back, by the car park) is haphazardly stocked with old pieces of wood,etc, but there is no reason why this should upset any guests. We would go back - but when the weather is warmer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here and this was one of the cheapest and closest places to Alnwick as we were going to a wedding, but we couldnt afford much. We were a bit sceptical when we pulled up outside as the grounds were quite messy and there were a fee large signs saying park at your own risk!

But inside this place was a lovely little farmhouse that was very homely and we had a very warm welcome, and we were invited down for complimentary coffee and biscuits by the fire. The room was quite quirky, small but with nice old fashioned decoration, but the bathroom was very modern and spotless. We got back from the wedding afer midnight and had no problems getting in that late.

The breakfast was a bit of a posh twist on a full english was ol but I prefer mine traditional! And it
was a bit small, but otherwise we had a great time and would stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the Alnwick Lodge for 2 nights with my partner, we were both very impressed with the surroundings, we decided not to go out on either evening as we loved sitting beside the fire, whilst enjoying a glass of wine. Peter and Evelyn made us feel very comfortable and welcome, the room was clean and tastefully furnished with antiques, bathroom was clean and comfortable, the bath was an absolute gem. We fully intend to stay again, can't wait x

Room Tip: Just explain what you'd like x
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
2.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,037 reviews
8.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,246 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#36 of 68 in Alnwick
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alnwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alnwick Lodge

Property: Alnwick Lodge
Address: | West Cawledge Park, Alnwick NE66 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alnwick Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alnwick Lodge offers comfortable en-suite accommodation. 15 bedrooms individually designed, decorated and furnished. Rooms ranging from single, twin, double, family and four poster. Locally sourced produce feature in the full English breakfast when possible including free range eggs, seasonal fresh fruit from our orchard, homemade breads and preserves. A unique location to host wonderful house parties, tailored to your own requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alnwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Alnwick Lodge Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing