We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of Alnwick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alnwick Lodge
Ranked #27 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A friend and I booked to stay at Alnwick Lodge at the beginning of September for two nights after decided we really wanted to visit Alnwick Castle. We saw Alnwick Lodge listed online and instantly had our hearts set on it. We were not disappointed when we arrived. I've never stayed somewhere with such friendly people and a building with such character. The salvage yard, although some may find it odd, was fascinating to us! We were greeted with a tray of tea and biscuits after being shown to our loft room. The room, following suit from the rest of the B & B was lovely. Very cute, and a very nice size. Our room had a big comfortable double bed, a couch, and a large vintage chair. The room also had an antique writing desk, and a decent TV. There is also free Wi-Fi available with surprisingly good signal. The shower was good enough, and the bathroom was immaculate. We lovely the place so much and we will definitely be visiting again. The only minor downside, although it didn't affect us, was that the lodge is directly off the A1 so walking in to the town isn't really option, but there is a taxi service available and the staff will be happy to point you in the direction of the best places to visit in the town. The lady who owns the lodge recommended that we visit Barter Books in Alnwick town, and that suggestion just topped off that had already been a lovely weekend as it is a must see! Genuinely had a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Aim to book a loft room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in Calf Pen room on ground floor and loved it. As soon as we arrived we were offered a tea tray with biscuits. My memories are a quirky, comfortable, relaxing, welcoming, clean, offering an excellent breakfast by candlelight in an old stable. The smell of wood burning, reclaimed wooden décor and furniture with friendly staff. Only drawback was we had to travel into Alnwick town for our evening meal (approx. 1 1/2 miles) where there is plenty of choice. We will definitely recommend Alnwick Lodge (in fact we already have) to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Alnwick Lodge was difficult to find even though it is directly off the A1. Direction signs were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our family of five had a wonderful stay at this relaxed and very friendly Lodge/B&B. We were made to feel very welcome on the cold May afternoon of our arrival. We had an awesome upstairs room that we were all able to stay in together. We were given great advice on where was good to eat in Alnwick with the children. We loved the communal breakfast as it was a wonderful time to meet up with others and here what was good to do in the area. The breakfast was excellent. And the facilities in our room seemed quite new.
The owners even helped us with our accommodation in Edinburgh as well. Nothing was too much trouble here and I would recommend it to all of my friends. The children loved the cat in the courtyard making it all the more homely for them. Coming all the way from a Australia it was a wonderful warm welcome that we really appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrisfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I'd read a few very scathing reviews and was a little worried a romantic get away was going to be spoiled. Some of the criticisms are, I feel, overly negative. The grounds around the hotel are a reclaimers, so there's lots of old furniture and odd things, which may put some people off. Once you get into the hotel itself there's a beautiful courtyard with fantastic flower beds. The rooms are all leading off this in various towers and such like. Inside the room first impressions were that it was really cool and interesting. The shower room was very small, fine for us, but if you have any mobility issues it'd be best to call ahead. I'd imagine the staff would do what they can as they're very helpful. The bed was large and comfy and the room was decorated in quirky antiques, many of which you can buy. When we came down from the room there was a nice pot of tea and biscuits waiting in the courtyard for us, along with a friendly cat, who had her eyes on the rich teas. Getting in and out is a little hairy, the entrance is very tight and on the A1, so it's a tricky maneuver, but never an issue at the time of day we were about.

Breakfast was a nice full English, with fruit and cereal on offer too. All in all a very nice stay. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask if you're especially tall or would struggle in a very small shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keasby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August and loved it. Being into recycling we were very taken by the reclaimed materials in the yard outside, presumably some of which had been used to furnish the lodge. We were in the West Granary which was a large room upstairs.
If you like a shower you would be disappointed as there was only a hand held one at the side of the bath, and as the room underneath had a wood fire there was a slight smell of woodsmoke which I quite like.
As mentioned by others the breakfasts are communal. They are limited but cooked to order.
We had no difficulty whatsoever finding it and turning off the A1 but obviously you have to be careful, especially when turning across the road. Some people seem to be spooked by the signs saying parking is at your own risk but it is only stating the obvious. Actually the car park is well hidden from the main road so probably safer than the average hotel car park.
To the people who arrived to find nowhere to check in I would point out that they must have done eventually and that it is not a hotel with a reception desk.
In short we loved it and so did the other guests that we spoke to. My only suggestion would be a fridge in the room as there is nowhere in walking distance to eat or drink so it would be helpful to be able to keep some food and drink in the room.

Room Tip: As noise insulation is poor it depends on who the other guests are. You can always ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank existentialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed with our collie dog for 2 nights, we went up and down the A1 trying to find the lodge as it wasn't well signposted. For future visitors I'd advise looking for the chair on the roof. Once we turned off the A1 it was weird to see a timber yard and we parked up and got out to the smell of burning wood, quite alarming given all the wooden antiques and furniture around. We hung around in reception and i noticed around 30 fire extinguishers lined up along the wall.. (thought they must be used to the fire risk) we waited for someone to come and was greeted by a young lad who gave us a key and showed us to our room, the bull pen, just off the courtyard on the ground floor. Loved it, really quirky although a bit stuffy without any windows. Breakfast was lovely, a bit daunting having to sit at tables with other guests but nice to have a chat with others about there plans for their break. The best thing about it was the location, and it was great for the dog, a minute walk through a gate and open fields for a good run. We were only there for 2 days but being on A1 it gave access to numerous different places to visit and there were some real gems, bamburgh castle is a must!... For us it was a halfway house on our journey to the highlands. I would definitely stay there again: note to owners, when we checked out there was no member of staff to be found so we couldn't pay for the dog and had to just leave our key on the peg, this worried me but by the time I got home my partner had received an invoice for the dog (£8 a night and well worth it)! Would definitely recommend it but make sure you take a few drinks and snacks if you don't fancy a jaunt out for something once you've settled in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimmietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's the first extreme parking hotel I've ever stayed at; located on the country's primary A road and requiring a 180 degree turn to get into the driveway which can be achieved by slowing down to 20mph as cars hurtle towards the rear of your car at the national speed limit.

Upon arrival there was no bell/ no way of contacting any staff. I had to walk around shouting "hello?" until a man emerged from the antiques yard outside.

The man didnt introduce himself or say who he was. Upon seeing our baby actually laughed and said "ha ha its the smallest room!".
Our room was tiny. It was squashed in the eves of the attic. It had a slanted ceiling which at it's minimum was about 3 feet above the floor and 90% of the room was in head-banging territory for my 6ft + husband. The bathroom was so small you would struggle to get a cat in there let alone swing it. The aforementioned ceiling featured spotlights some of which were on a multi-coloured disco setting. DISCO, that you couldnt isolate and turn off. There was about 2 sq. feet of window at GROUND level - meaning during the day there was minimal light. You could not open the window. But the worst thing above all was how dirty it was.
The beds had 2 matresses on each bed, and the mattress was bowed in the middle it was so old. They appeared very very old and worn. The bathroom was unclean - it had a wooden toilet seat that was sanded - actually pourous wood, just disgusting.
But the worst bit of all was the baby cot was dirty. If we could have afforded to walk out we would have but sadly we paid upfront. I actually wrapped my bedsheet around it in the hope that was cleaner for baby.
The bathroom had 2 tiny, tiny threadbare towels which smelled. Everything was worn and washed out.
There was NO lock on the inside of the bedroom door!! there was a lock to open it and get in but from the inside there was just no lock.
The walls were so thin we actually could hear our neighbour unzipping his pants before he had his wee. It was so loud it was like he was weeing on my head. I honestly wanted to cry at this place but we could not drive home safely with the baby.
There appeared to be only one member of staff responsible for everything (and she did her best) but she never introduced herself or said who she was. She appeared to do all the cleaning and all the cooking.
and onto breakfast........
There was a bowl of what appeared to be home made bread, pre sliced in half slices next to a toaster. It was horrible bread but the toasters took ages so i couldnt eat any. There was no fruit juice - the ONE jug had ran out. It was refilled once. There was a mix of stagnant cereals in bowls and 3 tiny pre portioned bowl of fruit sat in the air for 20 odd people.
The fry up - SERVED ON A SIDE PLATE. One tiny sausage, One egg, One slice of bacon. And a raw, uncooked freezing tomatoe sliced in half. Two mushrooms and about 5 beans. I did not eat a thing.

They actually tried to put my friend in a "gyspy caravan" in the yard. There are multiple signs stating possessions are left at owners risks right next to the caravan and somehow they found this appropriate for her to stay in. So they moved her into a room in the main house. Which appeared to be someones bedroom. Full of personal possessions and even posters and study notes on the wall.
AND YES there was no lock on the door of her room either. The bed and breakfast think its appropriate to have no locks on doors.

I could go on.

I appreciate you swap commodities and convenience sometimes when you choose a B&B over a hotel but that compromise hopefully means you get a bit of tradition and personal service both of which were emphatically missing here and substituted for an experience that was frustrating and tiring.
At £65 per night for our twin i feel completely ripped off.
This place is a disgrace, I would never ever stay again or recomed. I would have complained to the owners but i dont know who they were, and at check out the lone female who ran the place was so ran off her feet i just gave her the key and left. She did not even ask what our stay was like.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank icantspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,299 reviews
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
358 reviews
2 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alnwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alnwick Lodge

Address: | West Cawledge Park, Alnwick NE66 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $80 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alnwick Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alnwick Lodge offers comfortable en-suite accommodation. 15 bedrooms individually designed, decorated and furnished. Rooms ranging from single, twin, double, family and four poster. Locally sourced produce feature in the full English breakfast when possible including free range eggs, seasonal fresh fruit from our orchard, homemade breads and preserves. A unique location to host wonderful house parties, tailored to your own requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Alnwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Alnwick Lodge Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing