We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with a host to match”
Review of Alnwick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alnwick Lodge
Ranked #24 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for one night on way up to Scotland with my three children. The host was absolutely lovely and very patiently listened to my 7 year old's questions even though she was rushed off her feet when 4 or 5 groups of people turned up within half an hour of each other.

We had the Cart Shed which had plenty of room for the four of us - a super kingsize bed and 2 singles, one of which was a camp bed (a little small for me but fine for a child). Everything was in keeping with the history of the place yet it had all the modcons you need. Colour tv in room and the shower was fantastic! There is free wifi in communal areas.

Breakfast was good and had all you would expect.

We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday4jodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed two nights here in the Dovecote room with our dog. It directly off the A1 but we weren't disturbed at all by the road. We had a great view out of our window! Its a lovely looking place, very clean and well looked after. Its got a very quirky charm, full of antiques that are available to buy.

The room was a good size, bathroom abit on the small side but how much room do you need? My only gripe is there wasn't enough hanging space for clothes as the room had a sloping ceiling so couldn't hang tall clothes up but other than that we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was really nice and there was homemade bread to toast aswell!

Because of where it is situated we did need to drive everywhere but not a big deal. Ideally situated to visit the surrounding areas! Will definately stay here again when we are in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the first phone call booking the room to the goodbyes there was a friendly family running this beautiful hotel! Will recommended this as the best dog friendly hotel I have visited! Thank you :)

Mr Martin

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavalar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Ideally situated just off the A1, but we have not been disturbed by traffic noise.We have stayed here several times on our way up to or back from visiting family in Scotland. We always get a very friendly welcome, tea and biscuits made for us when we arrive. The rooms are all different but all beautifully decorated and clean. The owners are so helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the morning is always good, with home made bread and fresh eggs collected from the yard! Will be returning when we next visit family in Scotland.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three rooms and they have all been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DollyD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Service and breakfast at Alnwick Lodge were very good. The place is quirky with lots of 'antiques' around, many of which were for sale (even our bed!). We were given a very warm welcome and cup of tea, there was a good wood fire burning which was great as it was so miserable. The biggest draw back for us was that when shown our room we had no window at all, we can't sleep without a window open. We asked to be changed and the owner couldn't have been more helpful even though we had to move every night but we did have sky lights. The other draw back was that Alnwick Lodge drive was right off the A1 (which was quiet at night) and you couldn't get any where without a car. Having said all that it was an experience not to be missed, maybe just for 1 or 2 nights not 3.
Keren and Colin

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just stayed for one night,warm friendly greeting when we arrived,bedroom clean and comfortable.breakfast was good.It"s not the run of the mill B B. so much character can"t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Certainly not your run-of-the mill B&B but a warm welcome, lovely large (family) room and a very good breakfast. The sitting room - where we had a much needed cup of tea on arrival - and the dining room were full of antiques and really quite fascinating. Our bedroom was clean and spacious although the shower cubicle was a little 'compact'..
Overall, a slightly unusual but very pleasant two night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
8.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
5.0 mi away
Chestnut Tree House
Chestnut Tree House
#2 of 2 in Longhoughton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alnwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alnwick Lodge

Address: | West Cawledge Park, Alnwick NE66 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $79 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alnwick Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alnwick Lodge offers comfortable en-suite accommodation. 15 bedrooms individually designed, decorated and furnished. Rooms ranging from single, twin, double, family and four poster. Locally sourced produce feature in the full English breakfast when possible including free range eggs, seasonal fresh fruit from our orchard, homemade breads and preserves. A unique location to host wonderful house parties, tailored to your own requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Alnwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Alnwick Lodge Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing