We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently stayed there with my husband whilst taking time out to visit Alnwick Castle and Gardens. Ideally situated, our room overlooked the castle and it was a minute walk right in to the centre. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, en suite shower room was spacious and warm, quite unusual for a bed and breakfast. The owners were very helpful, giving advice on local places to eat at night; and in the morning the breakfast was more than generous enough to set us up for a full day.

Room Tip: Ask for the blue room. I cannot remember the name on the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelrus56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 139 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here at castle view for two week running whilst working for a few days. The B and B was extremely clean, the owners were warm and friendly towards us and couldn't have been more inviting. The rooms were spacious and combftorble and what was best of all was the freshly cooked breakfast in the morning. Would recommend to anyone!!! Will come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayguruLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very well situated within Alnwick, with pleasant and helpful hosts. Breakfasts were super - veggie sausages were available and we looked forward to the freshly-prepared fruit salad each morning - delicious!
Visitor tips:-
Try the heritage bus tours around the town and surrounding area - a really interesting, informative and enjoyable experience even if you have visited Alnwick previously (as we had).
The tours start at the rear of the Playhouse, which is also worth considering for evening entertainment. 'Barter Books' - a fascinating place and also good for a quick snack or light meal.
Finally the Bailiffgate Museum, two minutes around the corner. Full of a wide variety of North Northumberland stuff, and includes an art gallery for local artists - we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here for five nights and was greeted with a warm welcome. The hosts are friendly and accommodating. The room was lovely with four poster bed and antique furniture. A lovely modern en-suite and kept extremely clean. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, horlicks and biscuits were available in the room, tv and wi-fi also available in room. The breakfasts were really lovely, a good choice available and cooked to perfection. Nice quiet location, yet in the centre of everything. Just one thing to remember ... they only take cash! Thank you for a fantastic stay, I will definitely be recommending Castleview to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoskyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawnspinner, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are delighted to hear you will recommend us to your friends! I would just like to clarify about payment by cheques:
We accept cheques as either a deposit or full payment IN ADVANCE of the stay with us at Castleview.
However we did accept your cheque for the full payment DURING YOUR STAY as a gesture of goodwill.
We do look forward to seeing you again.
Linda Gutcher
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were so lucky to find Castle View B&B. The site I found it on did not do it justice. So many great points to note:
1. Close to the castle entrance - you probably couldn't get closer. Brilliant for us as we were in Alnwick for a wedding at the castle so didn't need to worry about walking more than 50m in high heels
2. Very clean.
3. Breakfast is amazing.
4. Linda and Steve are lovely. Loads of great tips for restaurants and site seeing. Genuinely nice people.
5. You can walk straight from the entrance up the stairs to your room without feeling like you're walking through someones house
If you're going to Alnwick this B&B is fantastic value

Room Tip: The Duchess Room was excellent. Large with a double bed, dressing area and seating area plus modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed lots of times here over the years. Always a lovely warm welcome, have got to know Steve and Linda and they feel more like good friends than hosts. They make you feel like part of the family, always look forward to returning! Beautiful rooms full of character, both rooms have excellent views over the castle walls. Great location, short walk to shops, bars, restaurants and the castle and gardens. Lots of reading material with menus and suggestions on where to eat and information about the area. Great attention to detail - beautiful antique furniture and decor and a book on the bedside table with folklore of North Umberland. Steve and Linda passionate about the area and have lots of suggestions of places to visit off the beaten track. Breakfast is amazing! Lots of choice and fab full English breakfast.
After staying here no where else will ever come close!
Look forward to staying again soon, Vicky xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We've stayed at Castle View Alnwick guesthouse twice now and love it. There's not much to look at from the outside but once inside you're greeted with a cosy, very clean and extremely welcoming guest house. We've stayed in the Duke Hugh's room on both occasions. It's relatively small but a very clever use of space. Decorated with very nice pictures with a small but perfectly useable shower/washroom. Your hosts Linda and Steven are great, very helpful and make a delicious breakfast. The guesthouse is ideally situated right near the Alnwick Castle entrance and within a very short walk from the centre of Alnwick. No doubt we'll be going back to Alnwick again and again and won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#11 of 69 in Alnwick
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#22 of 69 in Alnwick
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1B Bailiffgate, Alnwick NE66 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing