We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

For those visiting Alnwick Castle, there's no better location since it's practically opposite the main entrance to the castle, and the town centre is only a 5 minute walk away. As the name implies, the windows look out towards the castle. It may be a little hard to spot at first, as the entrance is one of several doors opening directly onto the street. Also, one of the doors (the right-hand one as you face both doors) is a false one, so enter from the left door. Parking is available around the corner from the B&B; you will need a parking permit which is readily available from Linda and Stephen. The room we stayed in was nice and spacious, with thoughtful additions of little books of local tales and legends by the bedside. There is wifi and some decent channels on the TV. While the bed was pretty and the linen soft and comfortable, the mattress was a tad too soft. Standard, but good, full English breakfast is served, and the addition of a fruit salad makes for a satisfying start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1m0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
86
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Castle view is a quaint house full of character. The bedroom had a large brass framed bed and a pull out bed for our son it was full of traditional furniture and antique pottery along with a modern tv,and the decor was in keeping with the period of the house. The en suit was modern but with the traditional feeling. Steve and Linda were perfect hosts that made all 3 of us feel really welcome in their home the breakfast room was cosy and the traditional full english was worth getting up for. Castle view made our weekend away special with its location its owners steve and linda and with its character. We will be sure to stay again next year. Ali,Danny and Tom from Leeds

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alithecardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent two nights here (had gone to see Status Quo in the castle grounds) and could not have asked for better, just wish it had been longer. Linda & Steve are such a lovely couple and make you feel part of the family. The room was wonderful with lovely little touches to make it homely. It was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was yummy and beautifully cooked. The B & B is well sited for a visit to the Castle & Gardens without having to drive and a comfortable stroll into the Town Centre where there are plenty of eating places. Look forward to going back and staying here again. Once you have been to Castleview B & B you will not want to go elsewhere.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladyfazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night in mid-July with our two children (aged 8 and 12) - we absolutely loved it! The rooms were lovely and had all the amenities you would ever need. The innkeepers were warm and friendly and the breakfast was delicious! As far as location goes, you can truly see across the road and into the Alnwick Castle grounds from both of the rooms. We walked into the castle from the B&B....true convenience. A definite must-stay if you are in Alnwick or the surrounding area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great room and fab breakfast ! Stayed for a local wedding, great central location. Good facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay. I am glad I mentioned, in advance, that one of us didn't eat kiwi fruit as the best part of breakfast for me was the fresh fruit salad! There was delicious plain yoghort too! A guest should be aware that there are a lot of stairs but then one has a view over the castle wall into a courtyard! Everything is within walking distance. There was no problem parking the car nearby over night. We had a good dinner at The Tree House. Altogether, one of the best B&Bs we have been to in England

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandajgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Castleview B&B for two nights, and I only wish it was two weeks.

The attention we received from the owners, Linda and Steve, was genuinely warm, considerate and attentive.
Linda even introduced me to the typical English breakfast - kippers! Our room was unbelievably comfortable, spotlessly clean, excellent location (both nights I had perfect views of Alnwick castle) and breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Linda and Steve were less like B&B managers and more like good friends. We enjoyed getting to know them and share in the beauty that is Alnwick.

We've stayed in a few B&Bs on our drive across England, but Castleview was one of the best.

Thank you Linda and Steve for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryNerd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,020 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 67 in Alnwick
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
2.1 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 67 in Alnwick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1B Bailiffgate, Alnwick NE66 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing