We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Puddleduck Cottage

Puddleduck Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Puddleduck Cottage
1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Puddleduck Cottage
1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jntheboys
blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First class cottage”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely first class accommodation. The cottage is exceptionally well furnished and equipped to a very high standard - even down to a sewing kit, hubby lost a trouser button overindulging in one of the many eateries nearby!
We would recommend dining at the Treehouse Restaurant at the castle but for better value and equally great food the Plough is just around the corner - fantastic seafood platter!
Definitely one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in and cannot wait to pay a return visit. Many thanks to the hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2018
Thank you so much - what a wonderful review.We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes, Neil and janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francophi...
England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A fully modernised two bedroom townhouse. Ideally located, backing onto the old town wall about 20 yards from the gate to the centre of town. Also about 100 yards from the entrance to Alnwick castile and a 6-7 minute walk from the Treehouse restaurant and Barter Books.
The house is extremely comprehensively equipped. In a five day stay we did not find anything we needed that wasn't there. Although the house opened straight onto the pavement and a road, we were never aware of any traffic noise.
Although there was no parking with the property there was plenty of free parking a few yard away, about 60 yards away at the top of the road ad by the castle entrance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind and honest review. We are so pleased you had a great stay and would love to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards
Janet and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 26, 2018
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Puddleduck and hope you may return in the future. Best Wishes Janet and Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Puddleduck cottage is well positioned in Alnwick. Easy access for unloading our car and we used the free car park by the castle just a few minutes away. The cottage is delightful, it had everything we needed. Janet had left a bottle of wine, orange juice and some chocolate biscuits, all this and the daffodils on the fireplace made us feel very welcome. It was very well equipped, clean and very cosy. We were only a few minutes walk from the castle, gardens, barter books, nice pubs and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay, if only we could have planned the weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Puddleduck cottage and would love to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes, Janet and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Puddleduck Cottage”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An absolutely beautiful cottage. Was immaculate. Lovely log burner which was very cosy when visiting in November. There was a much appreciated welcome basket with wine, orange juice and biscuits on arrival which was a great touch. Brilliant location and easy to access the town and all it's attractions on foot. Would definitely stay here again. So a big thanks to owner Janet for making our stay so comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back in the future. So sorry for the delay in responding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and appreciate you taking the time to send a review. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Kindest Regards Neil and Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janwa
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Puddleduck Perfection!”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This cottage was perfect in every way. It is right in the centre of Alnwick, walking distance to everywhere - The Castle, The Alnwick Garden, Barter Books, shops, restaurants, museums. There is no parking at the cottage but you can load/unload at the door and then a free long-stay car park is at the top of the street, 2 minutes walk away - very convenient. The cottage is beautiful; spotlessly clean, nicely furnished, cosy and comfortable, extremely well-equipped, warm and just the right size for two people. A lovely 'welcome' basket awaited us with wine, orange juice and biscuits and there was milk in the fridge and lovely fresh roses on the hearth. A real home-from-home. I very much hope we'll have the chance to stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed Puddleduck cottage and the attractions of Northumberland. Best Wishes Neil and Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing