We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab venue and amazing food”

The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden
Ranked #22 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Treehouse is one of the most magical and unique restaurants to be found anywhere in the world. It’s high up in the treetops, with a roaring log fire in the centre of the room and trees growing through the floor. Most importantly, the locally-inspired food is delicious. Always featuring local fish and seafood, meats from Northumberland’s farmlands and other regional specialities, the Treehouse Restaurant menus highlight local quality, taste and change throughout the seasons. There’s a great wine list, a good range of beers and regular live music. For a family dining experience that you’ll all enjoy, a great night out with friends or a romantic dinner for two, there’s nowhere quite like it. We always recommend booking ahead for lunch or dinner.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab venue and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Expensive but worth it as a treat for a couple. Wouldn't say it was for families - maybe at lunch. The menu and flavours was fab.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiosaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review on your experience with us at the Treehouse.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    397
    193
    115
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant , a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked a table for two and we had been wanting to visit this place for. While , and when we did , BOY, what a treat , the service was exceptional ,the food was delicious , the atmosphere superb , I love this place and can't wait to go back !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for your review on the Treehouse Restaurant. Your kind words have been passed onto the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant so very helpful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The restaurant is based in a large tree house complex of walk ways and fun bouncy wooden bridges that kids love running about.
Its worth going to have a look even if your not intending on staying for dinner (thats what we did initially) there is a coffee house outside so you can still enjoy the fun of the place without having to eat in. Its all very magical, I would say "very Ghibli" Fairy tale turrets, fairy lights and the whole place does make you feel like a kid. Maybe not for those with a fear of heights exactly although the main board walk is fine.
We booked dinner for two and a 2yr old toddler a couple of days before we went. I explained that we have a very difficult toddler who can't sit still for 2 mins. They offered great advice on what times are better to book (as you book a sitting) and which table was the best idea. We sat at table 11, its in a corner and really romantic. Luckily for us, our son fell asleep and slept through the entire meal. The meal was sublime, we ordered a side dish of sweet potato chips, which we couldnt finish and I packed for a snack later (our son ate every last one) We will go again when we get back up that way!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. Your very kind words have been passed onto the team.

It is wonderful to hear that my team looked after you so well and were able to offer you advice to make your meal more comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again the future.

Kind regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place! So quirky and romantic but more importantly food to die for.
My main course venison was cooked to perfection and every component in the dish made for an exquisite dining experience. My dessert of rhubarb and cream
Meringue was simply out of this world and I could quite happily have eaten another.
I eat out on average twice a week but this is absolutely the best meal I have ever had and value for money is phenomenal. £32 for 3 courses was an absolute bargain.
The duchess of Devonshire's cocktails are also a very quirky little twist and really delicious.
We will definitly be returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us.

Your kind words have been passed onto the team. It sounds like you had a wonderful evening!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a wonderful meal out on Saturday in this intriguing restaurant. The service was faultless and the food wonderful. We were told in advance that it was a 3 course set meal and were given the vegetarian/fish menu with plenty of choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinP253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review on your dining experience with us. Your kind words have been passed onto the team.

It pleases me greatly to hear you had a wonderful evening!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing