We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting fabulous, food underwhelming...poor value for money.”

The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden
Ranked #19 of 119 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Treehouse is one of the most magical and unique restaurants to be found anywhere in the world. It’s high up in the treetops, with a roaring log fire in the centre of the room and trees growing through the floor. Most importantly, the locally-inspired food is delicious. Always featuring local fish and seafood, meats from Northumberland’s farmlands and other regional specialities, the Treehouse Restaurant menus highlight local quality, taste and change throughout the seasons. There’s a great wine list, a good range of beers and regular live music. For a family dining experience that you’ll all enjoy, a great night out with friends or a romantic dinner for two, there’s nowhere quite like it. We always recommend booking ahead for lunch or dinner.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Setting fabulous, food underwhelming...poor value for money.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Treehouse as part of our day at the castle and gardens. The fixed price menu was fairly high for a lunchtime meal. The food was fine and the chowder was particularly delicious. However the bread was only served with the chowder and when I asked for another portion as the other started of pigeon breast was very small we were told 80p would be added to the bill. I find that quite shocking in a restaurant charging these prices ...and it wasn't even very good bread and had obviously been cut at the beginning of service and left in the basket for several hours. One tip ...cut the bread just before it is taken to the table. Another tip ...don't be so mean as to charge for bread!

Visited June 2013
1 Thank Supergrannieisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - we always monitor Tripadvisor to make sure our customers are going away happy. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't totally satisfied with your meal - please allow me to explain the reasons behind the prices that you claim are unacceptable.

With regards to the fixed price menu: we appreciate that our prices are slightly higher than the usual casual lunchtime restaurants, but this is purely and simply due the fact that we are a world class restaurant that offers extremely high quality, locally sourced (wherever possible) produce, and that is reflected in our pricing structure.

The bread that you mention is locally sourced from a fantastic bakery in neighbouring village Felton, called 'The Running Fox', and as such is not cheap to source. This is incorporated in the chowder dish as one would expect bread to be served with chowder as standard; however, when serving pigeon, bread is an extra which we unfortunately have to charge for, as it is an additional cost for a restaurant whose profits go to the Alnwick Garden Charitable Trust.

I can assure you that the bread is not cut at the beginning of service - it is cut fresh to order as we know that to cut bread from an artisan bakery and leave it out to go stale is an absolute crime, especially at a top destination restaurant such as ours. If there was a problem with your particular portion of bread at the time, had you have raised this issue with my staff we would have been more than happy to replace or refund it for you.

I do hope this alleviates your concern at our pricing, and that you will return in the future to experience some more of our quality food.

Kindest Regards,

David Scott,
Treehouse Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mother in laws 70th birthday”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food very good staff we had a small problem with one meal to spicy.
They made another straight away couldn't be more helpfull lovely place to eat I imagine it would be a nice place to eat in the evening defiantly go back.

Visited June 2013
Thank lancestryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Family and extended family ,nine adults and three children visited the restaurant on 28th may during half term week.The children and adults alike were excited by the sight of this magical looking tree house and crossing the bridge into the restaurant we were not disappointed.We were greeted by very friendly staff who took our coats and led us to our table.Our waitress was very cheerful and patient as we decided what drinks we were going to have ,recommend the cocktails.A good selection on the menu and not overpriced,childrens menu also very good and well presented.Very relaxed and unique atmosphere and I am sure it would be lovely to have dinner there.Recommend booking well ahead as very popular venue.A must when visiting the lovely gardens at alnwick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 928janeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most unique restaurant & dining experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Simply the most unique restaurant and dining experience I have ever had in over 30 years. The food was superb, the service was impeccable and the romantic setting with it's twinkling lights and roaring log fire was wonderful. No surprise that it is so popular and you must book well in advance. If I had a special occasion this is where I would celebrate. Must put in a special word of thanks for Laura M our waitress who had not worked there long and was simply fantastic, I think she was hoping for a permanent position so management take note! Do it.

Visited May 2013
Thank CrackingJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, unique setting”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited The Tree House in May and it was the perfect birthday treat. From the moment you walk along the wooden walk way you feel like you are some where enchanting, twinkling fairy lights and a warming fire. The presentation of the food was beautiful and tasted just as good, we both loved the lamb and black pudding coquet, amazing! Great service and friendly staff. We will be back, just a shame we don't live nearer!

Visited May 2013
Thank vixx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland

Been to The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing